The Grassland is left uncut to feed the Bees and the Butterflies

in SublimeSunday10 months ago (edited)

Someone mentioned the wild flowers and grasses down at my local country park were looking really good, so I popped down for #beautifulsunday initiated by @ace108 and #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a. I was slightly disappointed though. It's definitely getting there, but we need a week of sun to bring more flowers out.

There were lots of
great burnet or 'red thunder' about which looked good next to the green foliage. They are like little pom-poms, and the bees seem to really like them. If you rub the leaves between your fingers they smell a little bit like cucumber. I might get a few seeds for my communal garden.

The knapweed, looks like a thistle and very common here at this time of year. It does attract butterflies, but sadly, I didn't see many today.

I was taking a photo of a bee on the knapweed, and the hover fly shooed it off.

The bee came back, though! It doesn't matter how common the wild flowers and plants are it's good that they attract bees and butterflies. It's much better now the council don't mow the grass and just let nature take its course for a while. It will be left uncut till late on in the summer (if we have one).

The giant hogweed can obviously grow quite tall. It is best to avoid it as it can cause harmful burns on your skin.

Hopefully, if and when the sun comes out, the place will look a lot better with more wildflowers, butterflies like the lovely peacock above and of course, more bees.

Sort:  

Ahhh...it's so nice.

Just waiting for summer to start, and then we will be moaning it's too hot.

I posted some shots of the beach I grew up near. Just thinking about it makes me feel sick. Damn, I'm just so humourless now. Worse than ever. I spend half the year praying summer will end and never come back. I should delete this I guess

Don't it's your truth. I couldn't cope with too much heat. It would definitely get me down as well.

It's just everything here. I can't go anywhere. It's non stop city in every direction for at least a 2 hour drive and that's if you leave in the middle of the night when there's less traffic. It's really about 4 hours and then I could get past the endless city. Hotels are super expensive and I can't afford it. All I have of nature is a few tiny little parks. I'm going crazy in this little circle with no one to talk to but strangers. My posts here don't earn shit and I can only hope hive goes up. It would be a miracle for me if it did. I never got to enjoy it when it was 4 or 5 dollars a long time ago. It seems unreal that people were making a living here then. Paying rent and traveling... Thank you for tolerating my negativity... maybe you shouldn't. God I don't know.

It's not a problem, you vent as much as you want. In fact, I belong to a group on here called Rant, Complain, Talk (I think). I've never posted in it but maybe we should!

Thanks 😀

I feel bad after I complain... I think I will feel better but I never do.

I thought there should be more flowers for you by now.
I guess you will have to go again in a couple of weeks.

Fingers crossed there's more sun.