Last month recap: It has been a journey of self-reflection & self-preservation.

in Hive Learners22 days ago

The journey of life is full of crisis and uncertainties, In the mist of our chaotic existence we grow gradually and eventually become wary. We are just different individuals driven by passion and determination to achieve what we consider to be our purpose in life, dreams and wishes. We dedicate a significant amount of our lives to sort and find the purpose of our existence whatever it might be, then we spend the remaining part of the time we have left on earth chasing and trying to achieve our found purpose or probably fixing the mistakes we have made in the process. This makes me wonder if we are truly living or just surviving because if we as humans go around chasing these purpose and dreams, maybe eventually achieving it, does that mean we have lived? or is that the point of living?

I started this year with an unusual mindset, every year I come up with a new year resolution which is made up of things I want to achieve in a year. This is a common practice among most people but this year I chose not to, my reasons might seem unrealistic bit I know what I felt. Last year I made a lot of plans and set specific objectives I needed to achieve before the year runs out, I put in the work and to an extent I nearly got all I wanted. By the end of the year, I checked every plan have made and realise that I have made a significant progress. Knowing this I was supposed to feel happy but I didn't, all I felt was exhaustion. It was really an odd feeling that made me feel so empty and tired.

It turns out that, while I was busy achieving my goals and objectives I totally abandoned my emotional and mental wellbeing. They say success is personal but we never truly understand why it is so personal. It is because it depends on how you feel about it and nothing more, what you consider as success might be failure to another person. With this in mind I chose a new path for this year, I didn't set any new year resolution or plan to achieve any specific objectives but I still have a purpose and I know were it leads. I chose not to set any form of deadline for achieving any goal, I chose not to pressure myself in a way that will affect my mental wellbeing, I chose to live and just live, nothing more.

This new pattern is new to me because I'm a master planner when it comes to setting of goals but choosing to live this way for the past few months, I felt this peace that originate within me like ever before. It felt like a huge burden has been removed from my shoulder, I feel free once again. The most funny aspect of it is that it made me a free spirited person and I became more energetic. In so doing I have achieved things in this past few months that I never thought was possible in a year. It sounds weird right? achieving goals and objectives without setting a plan.



Most humans tends to mistake surviving for living which I did for awhile. Though it seems synonymous but it is not the same. Survival has always been a basic human instinct, ability to strive and be alive against many odds. Survival doesn't really have a time frame or phase like other developments in human lives such as puberty, survival is a continuous struggling of staying alive till eventually we are not. It means we as humans are programmed to spend our entire lives trying to survive which might seem normal but it isn't. Being alive just to survive all through is exhausting. Going by our to day to day activities trying to make ends meet, hustling and then what? few years later we look back and we wonder what exactly have we done with our lives?

It is so tragic how we ignore one of the most important questions we are meant to ask ourselves as humans what is the point of life? what is the point of living? Who am I? What if I tell you that your purpose in life is not the point of life, neither is it any kind of physical activities you engaged in. I have always been curious about why some people are living while others are just surviving. It has nothing to do with how much you have or your net worth in general. If that was the case then the poor are not meant to have the ability to smile.

Being overwhelmed by what needs to be achieved is the main reason why most people are busy surviving instead of living but for others who galavant and find contentment in the process are those that are privileged to be living. I'm not saying settling for less means you are living but that thing you are obsessed about achieving it, if eventually it is achieved will it make you feel better about yourself? will it define who you are or what you are meant to be? As humans there will always be something to achieve, the moment you achieve that there is always another you desire, it is what make us humans but the feeling you get from those activities you engage in matters a lot.

Does it make you feel fulfilled? greatness and success are all admirations of life but fulfillment is a personal conviction that puts your mind at ease, knowing you have fulfilled the sole reason of your existence. Instead of being too occupied with survival why not try living because at the long run when our youthful days are long gone and we look back at the years spent on earth all we have left is the experience and feeling of a life well spent, in the absence of those two it creates a hole in our heart with feelings of emptiness and regret of a life wasted.



It might not sound like much but I chose this path because I believe it is the right thing for me to do. Seeing how fruitful it has been for the past few months, I believe it is a beginning of a new chapter for me. Choosing to live and achieving my goals simultaneously without any pressure creates a balance between my work life and my personal life. Choosing to be content with my slow and steady growth instead of being so obsessive about progressive growth. I see myself having a more balanced life in the nearest future, if this isn't the greatest self-reflection achievement I have achieved so far, I don't know what else it could be.



This write-up was inspired by weekly featured content titled "The past month" in hive learners community.



Cover image - 𝖣𝖾𝗌𝗂𝗀𝗇𝖾𝖽 𝗎𝗌𝗂𝗇𝗀 𝖼𝖺𝗇𝗏𝖺
Image 1 - Source
Image 2 - Source



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG

Sort:  

Your new perspective in life is something I adore. Our emotions matter, and people, when in search of wealth, ditch this side like it never existed, and this is why, after making it, they become emotionless. They don't know what else to do because their main drive as been accomplished.

Living life is the beat therapy and right sauce for mankind and the more we realise the world we are in, the better it'll be for us.

Hello dearest fashionable dreemer. I hope you are well. Happy new day to you. Tuesday is here again with its musical beauty. I hope you are ready to fill us in with those songs that bless your heart. Have a beautiful day, and don't forget to keep that smile. It suits you. I waltzed in from #dreemport, for I am an amazing #dreemer. An awesomely made #dreemerforlife.

 11 days ago  

Exactly, most times we forget what truly matters in life just to accumulate wealth.

I appreciate your wonderful contribution, thanks for stopping by 🤗

You are welcome

Delegating our mental and emotional health to the background while pursuing to achieve our laid out goals and objectives is harmful to our general well-being.
Just like you said, sometimes it is good to ask ourselves these important questions as they will help us know our essence in life and where we are headed.
Some went on a fast lane and met a dead rock at the end. Slow but steady wins the race, most times.

#dreemerforlife

 11 days ago  

Exactly, no matter how obsessed we are in achieving goals and objectives we should never forget to pay more attention to our mental health.

I appreciate your wonderful Contribution, thanks for stopping by 🤗

 22 days ago  

all I felt was exhaustion. It was really an odd feeling that made me feel so empty and tired.

This is the reason why I rarely set long term targets for myself. One will be so focused on achieving the big targets that the little progress made in other places will be overlooked. In the end, it leads to feeling miserable.

 21 days ago  

Yeah that is true, though ability for us to manage pressure differs based on each person's personality.

Living is what I believe we should do. This life is the one we have at the moment and... if there is another one later we will see. But now is the important thing. And grow... we grow with every step we take from the heart, from kindness, from collaboration...

The meaning of life is within you. Don't look for it outside.

#dreemerforlife

 13 days ago  

I appreciate your thoughtful contribution. Thanks for stopping by 🤗

Life na journey wey full of wahala and surprises, but we dey grow and learn as we dey waka. Sometimes we dey too serious, dey chase our goals, forget say happiness and peace dey important too. E no be just survival, but living well and enjoying the ride. Make we focus on living well, abi wetin you think?

This post makes a lot of sense. Many times we get caught up with doing so much in trying to meet deadlines we set for ourselves that it all ends in exhaustion. In the process we forget to live and enjoy life as it comes.

It seems that the decision you took to do things differently is doing wonders for you. That is absolutely great.
#dreemerforlife

 11 days ago  

Yeah it is and I'm glad I choose to focus more on myself this year.

Thanks for stopping by 🤗

A lesson indeed.
No matter what, mental and physical health is one important objective we need to look out for.. That's why i always tell myself to eat always o because that's one of the things that keeps my health in check.

#dreemerforlife

 11 days ago  

The value and importance of food can never be overemphasized 😅