The phase of life determines the responsibility of a parent & a child.

in Hive Learners15 days ago

Parenthood is a phase of life that is extremely demanding, parents being responsible for catering for their children's needs have to go extra miles to ensure there children are well fed. The capabilities of parents differs from each other which means while some might find it easy to provide for the needs of their children, others might have to suffer a lot in order to provide something sustainable for their children to survive. The struggles most parents had to go through to ensure the basic needs of their children is provided for is unimaginable.

There is no specific manual that entails step by step process of being a parent, No book can fully capture what parenthood fully entails because the experience differs for different individuals. My dad deals with construction site since he is into estate management and he also supplies building materials, the first time I followed my dad to work that was when I realised the need for every child to appreciate whatever their parents gives to them no matter how little it might be. As a child I was aware of the fact that making money was not easy but never knew what parents went through to put food on the table.



As a building contractor, my dad was assisting one of his client to build a flat around ebute, ikorodu. It was during my holiday period and my mom was not around. Instead of leaving me at home with my mom apprentice, for some reasons best known to him he decides to take me along. The truth is I have always wanted to go out with my dad more often but on this specific day I didn't ask but my request was granted. Since my dad is in charge of the building it means he has to employ labourers that will assist in carrying out different kind of task to ensure the building is successfully built. I was not allowed into the construction site to ensure that I don't become a victim of construction site accidents. I stood across the street while I watch every activity unfold.

I witnessed a lot of events but I will only pin points few that relates with the topic of discussion. While standing across the street I watched how grown up men and women carry bags of cements, water, sand and other materials into the building. Some of these men and women are older than my dad based on their appearances. Seeing how they were dressed and the manner at which they were working I felt so much pity for them because why would people be subjected to this kind of hard labour. Is it that they don't have anything else to do? Nothing about what I witnessed was enjoyable.

After the day job was done, they were paid and we left the site. On our way home I remember how I kept bugging my dad about the fact that such labour is meant for Young people not those old men and women. I remember my dad saying, "That is the only way they know how to make a living". Meaning they have been doing such job for a long period of time to provide food and shelter for their family. For a parent who is subjected to that kind of labour it means it will get to a time when he or she will no longer have the capabilities to do it anymore, You might wonder what happens next?



I'm not trying to be religious or anything but the truth is, for every child that has come of age, it is our primary responsibility to take care of our parents the same way they took care of us. Our parents can't remain the way they were forever at some point they will become weaker as they grow older. One of the disadvantages of being old is that it limit your ability to perform the tasks you could do while you were still young. It is a sad reality that will befall every human, with this new found reality parents will need to rely on their children for survival.

It is just inappropriate for a child to believe the affairs of their parents is none of their business knowing fully well that they spent their youthful days making sure you were catered for. This has nothing to do with entitlement mentality, I consider it to be giving back what you have been given. What else could you possibly expect from a parent who can't possibly walk on their own. My people would say a child that abandoned his/her parents at a time of need will surely face the same fate. Though most parents of this present age have found a way to invest in businesses that will cater for their needs when they get old without having to depend on their children for survival but that doesn't mean they won't still need their children to get somethings done for them.



My preparation for my old age.


It is nothing spectacular, I consider it to be a gradual process of planning and executing. By now most of you are already aware of my love for animal husbandry and farming though I'm quite aware of the fact that it will become more difficult to engage in farming activities during old age. Which is why I have planned to structure my businesses in a way that will provide for my needs even when I'm not physically available. I have a lot of plans in mind right now which I'm yet to execute but I believe with time I will be able to achieve my goals and ensure I have sustainable means of surviving that will provide for my needs during my old age.



This write-up was inspired by weekly featured content titled "A child's responsibility" in hive learners community.



Cover image - 𝖣𝖾𝗌𝗂𝗀𝗇𝖾𝖽 𝗎𝗌𝗂𝗇𝗀 𝖼𝖺𝗇𝗏𝖺



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

I have seen many children who take whatever their parents do for them as for granted. They don't try to think how hard their parents work to meet their needs. You are a good son, Emrys, who valued what your parents did.

Curated by Hive Pakistan. Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

 14 days ago  

Thanks Amber, I'm glad you could relate with the post, I appreciate the support 🤗.

Thanks for stopping by 🤗

 13 days ago  

!LUV

emrysjobber, amberkashif sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 15 days ago  

I found it personally irritating when people see it as entitlement mentality for old parents to demand for care from their children. They are not even supposed to demand for it. These are people that sacrificed a lot for the child to live right from conception, through the pregnancy period and infancy. What about what they spent to educate the child? The list is endless. May God bless every child trying his best to make his parents comfortable.

 14 days ago  

Amen, This whole civilisation is starting bleach some people's brain. The most annoying part is that people involved in this misconception about their responsibility to their parents are said to be educated.

 15 days ago  

True. Parents have made a lot of sacrifices for their children and it's only right for children to care for them in their old age.

 14 days ago  

Exactly, giving back what was given.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

So true, our parents has gone through alot just to make sure we grow well and right. Now it is our time, our responsibility to reciprocate back.

 14 days ago  

Exactly, it only appropriate for us to give back what was given to us.

Thanks for stopping by 🤗

Kudos for thinking through these thoughts. It is very important. In particular,

it is our primary responsibility to take care of our parents the same way they took care of us

Absolutely TRUE. This is something my missus and I deeply believe in. And now finally when we are able to take care of them in their old age it feels that we are finally doing our duty. As for us, as you said we need to plan for someway to ensure that we are have the means to take care of ourselves. Hive is one of the possible avenues for me in the long run. let's see.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

You really sound like you have a lot of plans , I pray you get to execute all of them and become successful in all that you’re planning to do

#dreemerforlife

 10 days ago  

Yes I do, There are times I plan when I'm asleep 😅. Amen I pray so too, thanks for the good wishes.

 11 days ago  

Bro, i was once involved in this building works and it's not easy at all. Carrying bag of cement on the head to climb a two storey building... it's hell
And this is what people, especially parents do almost every day to cater for the family.
!BBH

@emrysjobber! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (9/20)

 10 days ago  

Exactly, the funny part is this parents come back home and act as if their day wasn't stressful. The sacrifice made by parents can never overemphasized.

I didn't understand what my dad struggled for in order to put food on the table or take care of our basic needs. But when I became an adult, it became clear to me.

Dropped by from #dreemport. Always a #dreemerforlife

 10 days ago  

Hmmm, truthfully we only began to fully understand the struggles of our parents when we start going through the same thing.

Thanks for stopping by 🤗

You're welcome.

Talking about the people that worked with your dad on that particular site, i have someone who is currently doing such a work and i told him about airdrops but he told me he would choose doing such a work than to waste his time on mining airdrop.

some of them, it was as a result of what they dont know but am glad you are preparing for the old age not minding your children.

the world has really changed and every man for himself. i hope it changes soon and we start looking after ourselves. not just because of entitlement mentality but because of genuine love.

 10 days ago  

The thing about people doing such jobs is they don't no any better and it takes a lot of effort to convince them to get involved in something they are not familiar with, you and I both know that a lot of people still consider making money online as a scam.

Yes, you are right.

i just hope he gets to know on time.