INGRATITUDE-A SELFISH AND SELF-CENTERED ATTITUDE

in Hive Learners8 months ago

F53B8CF3-B804-4C09-80E5-D181313E123A.jpeg
Design with canva

Ingratitude is a lack of appreciation or thankfulness, especially when someone has been given something or shown kindness. It can be a trait of someone who is selfish, self-centred, or unkind. Ingratitude can make others feel unvalued and disrespected and can lead to negative feelings such as anger, frustration, and resentment.There are many different forms of ingratitude, from not saying thank you to more extreme forms such as taking credit for someone else's work. Ultimately, ingratitude is not a desirable quality in anyone and can damage relationships and lead to negative outcomes.

There are a lot of people in the world who are ungrateful when people help them or do something that deserves their gratitude. I could relate to this topic very well, and that's why I decided to write about it.

There are times as humans that we will help people out, not because we have much or give them our time, but because we want to help, even when the time is not enough for us, and the best thing we desire back from that very person is that he or she should show gratitude, which means letting the helper know you appreciate everything they have done for you and you didn't take it for granted.


Doing this will light up the person's mood and make them want to do more for that very person or anyone else that may need that same help another time. But instead of showing gratitude, they went all the way to behaving and reacting like what you did for them was not a big deal. Some will even go to the extent of saying that if you do not help, another person will, and God just sent you to help. I don't know why it's so hard for people to show gratitude to their helpers. Even though it is my parents right to take care of me as their child, I always show them gratitude whenever they help me out with anything by saying "thank you”, because doing that definitely makes them happy to do more.


Some months back. I can't remember the exact time it happened. All I know is that it was when I was in the 300 level at the university. A girl I knew in school contacted me for help, and she was pleading and crying when asking.
4BE11E8C-D4ED-49BA-AD5B-A1FAA9B46762.jpeg
source

I was emotionally touched and couldn't do anything else but ask her what was wrong with her. Then she told me she needed some money to complete her school fees, and if she didn't get the money, she would have to repeat the level.

Seeing that I have some money that I want to use to get foodstuffs by the end of that month and I don't need them urgently, I decide to give it to her because my mind is not settled when she says she will repeat the level if she doesn't get to pay.

The funniest and most annoying part was that after this girl got this money, she didn't call me anymore. I have to recharge my phone and call her multiple times, asking when I will get my money back. There are days she doesn't even pick up my call, and when she does, she speaks rudely, telling me to calm down and that she does not have it and can't steal the money.


Her actions show she downplays the sacrifice I made for her because her attitude doesn't show she wants to pay the money back, and all it shows is that she doesn't want to pay back.

This experience makes me vow that I will never borrow anybody's money, except if it's money that I have no intention of collecting back. I left the money to her as she refused to pay, and I let her be. We are no longer close because her action annoys me even till now. Moreover, what will I be doing with a person who can't appreciate help? So the best thing I can do is just take my eyes off the money that she owe me.

Well, I can never experience something like that again.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 170 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
12

@mercysugar, @pixresteemer(5/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

 8 months ago  

not because we have much or give them our time, but because we want to help

Exactly.. most of people that help actually needs the help more than you think but it's just because of their kind heart and that is why it's always painful when you turn back to hurt the hand that fed you... That's disgusting honestly.

Hehehe, you're a very good but soft person though ... I'll chase you down to hell when you refuse to pay me my money... I'm not joking with you😅

 8 months ago  

It's just that sometimes it's better to let them be than fight with them. What will I do? Use police to arrest her? Ohhhh no😂😂.

 8 months ago  

True though

 8 months ago  

You are right, i have find myself in such situation. Some people are just wicked, how will someone help you and you pay them back with evil. That's wickedness.

 8 months ago  

My dear,may we never find ourselves in such situation again.

 8 months ago  

Sometimes people make us feel like they used us, she got what she wanted and just sidelined you without keeping her end of the deal.

 8 months ago  

Don’t mind her. In her mind she think she has made it in life by not paying.

 8 months ago  

Some people are not meant to exist at all, I mean how can you help her grately and yet she can't even be grateful or pay back.

Had she repeated the level maybe she for get sense.

Well don't let her issue change your personality.

 8 months ago  

Omo,i am not borrowing any body money again😂😂😂😂. I prefer to dash if it’s a little amouth that I can use to help than to borrow.

Bad people don spoil good people
Lesson learnt the hard way.

Congratulations @mercysugar! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
 8 months ago  

Eiiiiiiii! Mercy sugar is back!!!! Welcome back, my hive love. The truth is; we'll always come across these people - ungrateful people. But I don't think that should stop us from helping the needy. We just have to be careful and not let people take us for granted.

Thanks for sharing.

 8 months ago  

we can help the needy but we should not let it affect us or when we are not comfortable with it.

Thank you for reading.

 8 months ago  

You're welcome