Double risk: driving in excruciating pain and neglecting my diabetes, / Doble riesgo: conducir con un insoportable dolor y descuidar mi diabetes [English-Spanish] .

in Hive Learners19 days ago

Whether by an unexpected accident or by our own irresponsible actions, life can change in an instant. Personally, I have been close to death due to health problems and lack of attention to my diabetes.

A few years ago, I experienced an episode that brought me to the brink of death, due to my lack of attention to my diabetes, and because I had been consuming unhealthy foods and too much sugar. I completely ignored my doctor's recommendations and believed that I could go on without worrying about the consequences. However, one day I started to feel extremely ill and had to turn down an invitation to lunch from my co-workers.

I got in the car with a lot of pain and to top it all with blurred vision, I felt without strength, but I kept going, I drove almost crying because the pain was unbearable, the other drivers were honking their horns at me because I was driving in zig zag. As I could I got off at a gas station to rest and I think I was there for about four hours since I could not get into the vehicle.


melyna-valle-YxZiSiBu2UA-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Melyna Valle at Unsplash.

When I finally started to drive, I felt chills and I could still see the road and the other vehicles that insistently honked their horns because I was driving too slowly, as I could I finally arrived at my mother's house, I could not sleep because of the pain, my frequent urination, the feeling of tiredness and weakness, how irritable I was and my blurred vision. I was rushed to the hospital in the morning. It was then that the doctors said that my diabetes had been aggravated by a kidney stone that I did not know I had and that if I had not gone to the clinic the consequences could have been fatal.


accuray-ibdJjjGbrgxI-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Accuray at Unsplash.

At the clinic, I had a lot of time to reflect on my actions and how I had gotten to that point. I had been putting my life at risk by not paying attention to my health. The experience was terrifying and made me realize how fragile life can be. From that moment on, I decided to take steps to take care of my diabetes and lead a healthier lifestyle.


nadine-primeau-Juvw-a-RvvI-unsplash(1).jpg

Photo by Nadine Primeau at Unsplash.

Ignoring my diabetes brought me to the brink of death, and that day I drove to my mother's house recklessly in pain, risking a fatal accident or causing it to others. I could have called my relatives to pick me up from work and pick up my vehicle, thus avoiding the additional danger of driving in poor health.

Every decision we make can have a significant impact on our lives and the lives of others. My near-death experience taught me the importance of taking care of my health and making responsible decisions at all times. Each of us must take care of our lives and the lives of others by making the right decisions and being aware of the risks we face every time we hit the road.

Here I present my second participation in the week related to the following topic:

The Risks We Take: Every day, when we step into the road, there's always a risk that it may be our last day. Sometimes, we get into accidents and other times we simply do crazy things for the thrill of it. Tell us about the closest you've come to dying and what led to it. What did the experience teach you?

I hope it has been to the liking of the community, as well as bringing value to it. Best regards to all.

The separator is free to use and has been provided by @onexel, Link Here.

Ya sea por un accidente inesperado o por nuestras propias acciones irresponsables, la vida puede cambiar en un instante. Personalmente, he estado cerca de la muerte debido a problemas de salud y a la falta de atención hacia mi diabetes.

Hace algunos años, experimenté un episodio que me llevó al borde de la muerte, debido a mi falta de atención a mi diabetes, y a que había estado consumiendo alimentos poco saludables y mucha azúcar. Ignoraba por completo las recomendaciones de mi médico y creía que podía seguir adelante sin preocuparme por las consecuencias. Sin embargo, un día comencé a sentirme extremadamente mal , tuve que rechazar la invitación a comer de mis compañeros de trabajo.

Me monte en el vehículo con mucho dolor y para colmo con la vista nublada, me sentía sin fuerzas, pero seguí adelante, manejaba casi llorando ya que el dolor era insoportable, los demás conductores me tocaban sus cornetas ya que venia manejando en zig zag. Como pude me baje en una estación de servicio para descansar y sin equivocarme creo estuve allí como aproximadamente cuatro horas ya que no podía subirme al vehículo.


melyna-valle-YxZiSiBu2UA-unsplash.jpg

Foto de Melyna Valle en Unsplash

Cuando por fin comencé a manejar, sentía escalofríos y todavía veía de manera borrosa la vía y a los demás vehículos que insistentemente tocaban sus bocinas ya que manejaba demasiado despacio, como pude al fin llegue a casa de mi madre, no logre dormir por los dolores,mis ganas de orinar frecuentemente, la sensación de cansancio y debilidad, lo irritable que me encontraba y mi visión borrosa. Fui hospitalizado de urgencia en la mañana. Fue entonces cuando los doctores dijeron que mi diabetes se había agudizado debido a un cálculo renal que no sabía que tenía y que si no hubiese ido a la clínica las consecuencias podrían haber sido fatales.


accuray-ibdJjGbrgxI-unsplash.jpg

Foto de Accuray en Unsplash

En la clinica, tuve mucho tiempo para reflexionar sobre mis acciones y sobre cómo había llegado a ese punto. Había estado poniendo en riesgo mi vida por no prestar atención a mi salud. La experiencia fue aterradora y me hizo darme cuenta de lo frágil que puede ser la vida. A partir de ese momento, decidí tomar medidas para cuidar mi diabetes y llevar un estilo de vida más saludable.


nadine-primeau-Juvw-a-RvvI-unsplash(1).jpg

Foto de Nadine Primeau en Unsplash

Ignorar mi diabetes me llevó al borde de la muerte, y ese dia conduje a casa de mi madre de manera imprudente ante el dolor que sentía corriendo el riesgo de sufrir un accidente fatal o de ocasionárselo a otras personas. Pude haber llamado a mis familiares para que me buscaran en el trabajo y recogieran mi vehículo, evitando así un peligro adicional al manejar en malas condiciones de salud.

Cada decisión que tomamos puede tener un impacto significativo en nuestra vida y en la de los demás. La experiencia cercana a la muerte que viví me enseñó la importancia de cuidar mi salud y de tomar decisiones responsables en todo momento. Cada uno de nosotros debemos cuidar nuestra vida y la de los demás, tomando decisiones correctas y siendo conscientes de los riesgos que enfrentamos cada vez que salimos a la carretera.

Aquí presento mi segunda participación en la semana relacionada con el siguiente tema:

Los riesgos que asumimos: Cada día, cuando salimos a la carretera, siempre corremos el riesgo de que sea nuestro último día. A veces, sufrimos accidentes y otras simplemente hacemos locuras por pura emoción. Háblenos de lo más cerca que ha estado de morir y de lo que le llevó a ello. ¿Qué le enseñó la experiencia?

Espero que haya sido del agrado de la comunidad, al igual que haya traído valor a la misma. Un gran saludo a todos.

El separador es de uso gratuito y ha sido proporcionado por @onexel, Enlace Aquí.

Sort:  
 19 days ago  

What an experience you had there, they say ignorance is bliss, but I don't see it as bliss, I can't believe you risked your life and the lives of others on the road... Glad you were able to drive to your mother's place safely without hitting anyone.

 19 days ago  

At that time I was only thinking about getting home and I thought that by sleeping I would get rid of my discomfort. It was a mistake on my part for not taking a disease like diabetes seriously and drinking too many sodas that caused a nephritic colic. I put my life and other people's lives at risk.

 19 days ago  

What an experience!!! I don't have such grace but traveling like this wow... awesome!!!
Good to hear from your dimension of risk you took.

 19 days ago  

The pain I felt did not let me think logically and I risked getting to my mother's house without caring what happened. Very reckless and stupid of me.

 19 days ago  

Praise God for that. Thanks for sharing

 19 days ago  

You took what I consider as a high risk, calling a relative or a colleague would have have saved you so much stress. Please don't do it again as we still love you.

Thank God you got that immediate attention from the clinic and took out time to meditate over your actions

 19 days ago  

High risk I would say, I did not think much to do at that moment to such an acute pain, I was lucky to have a paid insurance policy and therefore I was treated in a clinic and not in a hospital.

 19 days ago  

It's well my dear

Yeehaw! Your journey through adversity shines a light on the importance of health and responsibility. Keep riding that trail towards wellness and wise choices, partner!

 19 days ago  

On that occasion I was irresponsible in not taking precaution with my health and my immediate actions could have greatly harmed me and other people. Before reacting we should think about how our actions affect us and others.

Ride on, partner! Every tale shared 'round the campfire brings wisdom to the circle. Your reflection shows growth and a heart as wide as the prairie. Keep that fire burnin' bright!

 18 days ago  

What an experience,I can't imagine the pain you were into driving. Sometimes when my mom complains while driving,I do tell her driving is the best,why would she be complaining? Neglecting your health to do that is a big risk,anything could have happened.