Conquering Introvert Anxiety! Lpud Session Included

in Hive Learners16 days ago


1000227965.jpgImage belongs to me

Many times, I have asked myself if being an introvert is a disease because I have had to limit myself to certain things and would always use the excuse that after all, I am an introvert. Just like every other introvert who is calm, and gentle, loves staying indoors, enjoys their privacy, do not like too many outdoor parties or entertainments, all of these were my restrictions because of my personality.

All my life before things changed, I didn't go out except when someone decided to go with me. To get something alone across the next street would always be a problem unless I go with someone or perhaps send someone to get it for me. While growing up, I have always enjoyed sending my siblings on errands while I stayed behind doing other things. I exercised my seniority power over them and there was nothing they could do. Most times, I bribe them especially when they insist or are bent on not going. It was a tough battle and my fear at that time.


My fear all the time was going out alone and this is one reason I don't know lots of places. When my mom was still alive then and when we were going to shop, I would make sure to finish up chores at home so I could follow her instead of going to meet her later which would make me the only one walking through the streets full of people. I was just so shy and it made things hard for me.

When my mom died and was staying with my Dad, he would be the one to go to the market to get stuff to cook while I stayed at home waiting for him to return so I could prepare something for us. When days, when Dad would not have time to branch the market came and before he would have finished his stories and let me know why he wouldn't be able to get those things we needed on time, I would let him know that I was fine and that I could wait till he returned and before I know it, I would be feeling hungry. Still, it won't make me step out of the house by myself.


The day I had to face my fear was when I had no choice and Dad was not feeling fine too. He begged me to go to the market. It was as if the day should never come. It was so hard that one would think I was going to die if I stepped out. I couldn't refuse it. I was afraid and fidgeting that day and all I needed then was a power to carry me to the market and bring me back home. That day, I gathered the courage in me and stepped out.

I took my bath, got dressed and started the journey. Unluckily and unfortunately for me, there was no bike around to take me to the main road where I would just cross over the expressway and find myself in the market. I trekked for over thirty minutes, passing by different people, bowing my head down and my legs crossing each other at intervals, one would notice I was scared to the brim on this day, but since that time, the fear of stepping out varnished.



1000228106.jpgImage created on Bing

It was around that time I got a teaching job and would walk down to the school every day, this helped me fight off my fear completely that I don't need anyone to tag along whenever I am going out except if they want to. Even when I went back to school for my degree, the fear wanted to return, you know, finding oneself in a new environment, I fought through and did not need to be afraid of going out by myself.

Today, I don't feel shy whenever I want to go out. When I feel like taking myself out, I go and return home. I saw that the fear in me shouldn't have been there for an introvert because no one is looking at you, everyone is minding their businesses and no one has time to see who is passing by.

Though it was a big fear for me then, I was able to face it and fought myself through it. I realised I am the only one to navigate this life without relying on anyone to be around me, so do I need to always beckon on people especially passers-by when I need to get something for myself? No, I had to do it! I still feel like locking myself indoors sometimes and the fear trying to show but it isn't like before and I am glad things have changed for me.



1000185540.png

It's the 15th today and that time to power up some Leo tokens. So, I powered up 160 Leo tokens which pushed my Leo power from 6,400 to 6560 and helped me gain more power in the community while increasing my curation rewards when I curate posts.


1000228090.jpg


1000228091.jpg

Happy Lpud to those participating today.

This is also included as my entry to Day 15 Inleo Monthly Initiative. If you are looking to participate, you can jump on it now by clicking the link below for more instructions.

April Inleo Monthly Calendar
Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

I understand this fear. I was there too. Walking alone made me nervous. Stepping outside my house was an issue because I imagined that everyone had their eyes on me. And sometimes, I'd miss my step and hope that no one had noticed.
I changed all of those little by little. I was intentional about it. And reverse psychology helped. And now I realized that it wasn't so hard. I was just the one over-imagining things, which is one of the habits that we reserved people are used to.

 15 days ago  

You are so right about this. You truly understand what I was going through. I saw myself imagining lots of things which shouldn't have but thank God today is different. Yes, reverse psychology can work too in this aspect.

 16 days ago  

Like princess, I can't imagine myself being scared of stepping out.. like seriously? That was a big fear that caged u inside and refused to let go completely even now. If not, tell me why you haven't break out of your indoor nature😌
Well you are coming up now but not enough..babe, step out.. mingle with people, no one will harm you, just play safe this looter😜

 16 days ago  

Motivational speaker 😒

 16 days ago  

Avoid me Grandpa

 16 days ago  

Never 😊

 15 days ago  

🤣🤣

 15 days ago  

Hahaha. You are already an extrovert from the beginning and I can't imagine staying indoors and enjoying it. Lol
If someone tie you, you will cut the rope 😂😂
Yes, I am going out now even though I don't like mingling with people except those I know.

 15 days ago  

Haha 😂
I will cut the rope oo 😂
No doubt
Kilode

 14 days ago  

😆😆 I know na

 16 days ago  

Hummn. It’s really okay to get out of one’s comfort zone. But face that fears is what really matters. I am glad you were able to make it and face your fears.

 15 days ago  

Yes, I was able to. Thank you, catfish farmer 🤣

 16 days ago (edited) 

See my fellow introvert o...😂

Funnily enough, most of the things we fear are things that can be done without hassle. But once we decide not to try to do a thing, we will continue to fear it.

Taking action is probably the best way to conquer fear. The worst that can happen is to fail. Make person no come die before death o jare.

 15 days ago  

Hahaha. You are so right. Taking the step can be hard but when we do, we find out those things we were afraid of are things done without hassle. We just need that leap of action.

 16 days ago  

The outing you never liked was what some girls usually jump on and use it as a means to show their endowment in the street. Lol😅.

!BBH

@princessbusayo! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (3/20)

 15 days ago  

😂😂😂 abi na. Wetin concern me

 15 days ago  

!Lolz 🤣

What's the difference between a glutton and a hungry man?
One eats too long, the other longs to eat.

Credit: reddit
@princessbusayo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of kingsleyy

(1/2)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

 16 days ago  

Your own level of being an introvert is a different level entirely, I mean I'm an introvert in recovery but it has never been as worse as being too scared of leaving the house 😂. I can't even imagine how it felt to feel too shy to leave the house.

 15 days ago  

Hehehe. You can't compare me to you na. You are a guy and no matter how bad it is, you will still step out. Lol

Happy loud princess.

Like you, my introvert nature keeps me rooted to a specific space. I prefer sending people on errands than to go out and get that stuff... it's just how introverts are wired.

 15 days ago  

You are right. Introverts ehn....Well, inasmuch as enjoy that solitude, we still find ourselves wishing we could even go out to see what is happening but our nature won't.

Exactly 😂😂. We are well pleased being indoors

 16 days ago  

A whole fine girl is scared to go out 😂. You need spanking for stressing dad honestly. And I'm sure mom did well to train you when she was alive (may her soul rest in perfect peace 🕊️) but I know you won't listen.

It's so good you were able to face your fear and you conquer it. Weldon Mama.

 15 days ago  

Hahaha. I know I stressed Dad then 🙃 😪 😅

Congratulations @princessbusayo! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

 15 days ago  

Thank you 😊

Thank you for being a part of the LEO community and growing your stake @princessbusayo. Keep powering up and roaring! 🦁

Happy Leo Power day to you, and it's good you learned to face your fears conquering shyness.

 15 days ago  

Exactly. Thank you 😊

Your story of facing your fear of going out alone is inspiring! You've shown courage and determination to overcome your introverted nature's limits. Keep going!

#dreemerforlife

 15 days ago  

Thank you, Madilyn.

 15 days ago  

While growing up, I have always enjoyed sending my siblings on errands while I stayed behind doing other things. I exercised my seniority power over them and there was nothing they could do. Most times, I bribe them especially when they insist or are bent on not going.

Story of my life😂😂😂 my kid brother really used me to cash out back thenm😂😂😂 it was crazy how he didn’t charge the same fee for all errands, Omo thank God for growth ooo

Always a #dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Hahaha. Those siblings would find an opportunity around that to extort from us. Lol

 15 days ago  

Introversion is of many level but I can tell you that yours is if high grade. It is good that you faced the fear and conquered it.
#deemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Hahaha 😆
High grade indeed.

 14 days ago  

😂😂😂

Aunty Princess this your own introvert is now worse than my own 😂. But in all I'm glad you found a way around it and conquered. Congratulations 🌹 #dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Hahaha. It was worse oo but I am glad things have changed now 😌

Thank God for you dear 😘

It's beautiful seeing you able to conquer this fear. Being an introvert is good but could be negatively addicting. All the best to you, Princess. You're doing marvellously.✨

 14 days ago  

Thank you, Jhymi.