ENTITLEMENT, FAVOURs And GRATITUDEs

in Hive Learners2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Been a while I have made a vlog and I have missed the talking to camera aspect. Also, I had not been feeling too well and been having a hard time writing so I thought to try out vlog, and my video editing skills once again.

In this video, I talked about entitlements, favours and gratitude. How feeling entitled hinders one's growth and success, and how much gratitude can be of help in receiving favours.

I would appreciate your comments in the comments section below by curating them.


WHO IS STARSTRINGS01


image.png

Starstrings01 AKA Giftedhands is a Hive lover, a Nigeria musician (Guitarist) and also a student who studies Mechatronics Engineering in the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta.

His goal on Hive is to be more than a regular blogger but something more; someone with a purpose. That’s one of the reasons why he founded the newbies initiative @newbies-hive to help guide and support newbies. Kindly click here to follow @newbies-hive curation trail.

He battles and struggles with balancing education and being active on the chain but yet his love and passion for Hive keeps him on balance.


All images are mine except indicated otherwise


54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT BY YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😇💕

▶️ 3Speak


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

This word Entitlement is one of the thing that as lead so many relationship into there breakup.

Feeling entitled to anybody is not in any way advisable. Be it your parents,siblings, partner etc.
All that ends it is disappointment.
Just learnt from this now.

Thanks for sharing this boss.

Wow, thanks for taking time to watch this video...

Nobody is God that can assure anybody something and fulfill it, so we should not put all hope on a person and think if the person is close to all it is their responsibility.

Exactly boss. I was once in this shoes... But verily after i learnt my lessons and became wise about not been entitled to anyone, i saw improvement in my life, not been depending on anyone for anything.

Everyone needs to see this video boss. Alot to be learnt from it.

Thanks for referring this! I really do appreciate..

Truth is same for me, I used to be entitled as well most especially from friends thinking because they had money so they would do some certain things in my life but it wasn't so, I got disappointed and pained then I realized they didn't owe me anything and it's their decision.

The only thing I could do is try make myself worthy in their eyes and hopefully they favour me.

@starstrings01 I love to hear you Because I consider you my teacher. But my misfortune is that I have not been able to hear your voice clearly. Maybe this is a problem with my laptop speakers

Actually the issue might be because we have different tongues (forgotten the best word for it), so the way I pronounce my words might not familiar to yours.

I think you are right.

 2 years ago  

....accent...., boss 🙇 @starstrings01

Lol no mind me... I no sabi English

 2 years ago  

Na your footsteps we dey follow.

 2 years ago  

From my own view, we have no reason of feeling entitled to anyone irrespective of our relationship with the person.

Any favour or helping hand we receive from people should be considered as a privilege and not a responsibility and thus gratitude is expected from us.

Just last week, my husband had issue with his cousin because the young guy felt entitled by my husband, my husband gives him 10k every week just to support his transport to a place of his IT and after doing it for one month, the guy now saw it as my husband responsibility to give him money weekly to the extent of not aknowledging the 10k weekly credit alert! What do you expect? My husband stopped giving him to teach him a lesson in a hard way and I am sure he has learnt to be grateful and stop seeing it as a responsibility.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I like your husband big time. It is good as he did that because the cousin needs to learn and not do the same outside because that kinda behavior blocks opportunities.

My dad knows I can afford whatever allowance he gives me anyways but yet he gives me but you know what, I never behave as if I am bigger than it. I thank him as if it is the only money I have left.

 2 years ago  

That's how it should be. Gratitude is a must quality for every individual.

Nice post @starstrings01. Indeed having a feeling of entitlement to something of value from someone else makes a person dependent and raise much unreal expectations which could lead to lots of disappointment if the person doesn't actually feel one is entitled to something of value from him or her.

Yeah exactly, there is no way you would not feel disappointed because it's almost like we are laying trust with someone who may not see it the same way as we do.

 2 years ago (edited) 

@starstrings I hope you feel better soon.

Entitled people are just plain selfish and greedy. Sadly, it has become normal for certain people. This was really enlightening.

Yeah some might be the way they were trained or can be the kind of friends they move with or might be the social trend and wants to fit it. You get the point, then they begin to feel entitled.

Indeed it is a great post, and gratitude helps to open doors that might have been shut.
A person of gratitude is never found wanting.
When we are grateful for little things received, we are given even more because of our gratitude nature/personality.

Exactly. A person of gratitude is never found wanting.

we are given even more because of our gratitude nature/personality.

That’s because we show value for how small the favour is.

True. Great write-up, really motivating. Thank you for posting that

 2 years ago  

Exactly, you just said it all.
Some persons feel they deserve everything they get, that is they feel entitled to what ever comes their way and this makes them less appreciative of the help rendered to them.

Yeah true! Valuable favours begin to lose value in their eyes. That's one short way of saying it.

 2 years ago  

As in ehn😅😅, the thing dey tire me self. Even if you are entitled to it, that does not mean you should not show gratitude to the favour rendered to you.

Na so shocker go catch am when the thing no come last last

 2 years ago  

As in ehn, e nor go even know how come self😁😁.

Wow...this is a wonderful piece from you boss.

Thank you man!

Congratulations @starstrings01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
 2 years ago  

This entitlement of a thing that you mentioned ehn..

I'm sure if you really wanna deal with it, 5hrs video will still be running.

However, it's high time people realized that no one owes you anything.

I myself used to feel entitled before I realized no one owes me anything.

That's why I'm always up and doing. However, you'll even render favour or help for someone, they wont really value it. They'll be feeling entitled.

I wish this content can be published on all of your social media handle.

Bless up boss!

Lol can be published on all social media handle 😅😂😂. Let me employ you as my social media handler.

 2 years ago  

I don't mind!

I know you are too busy!
I volunteer with no pay boss!

😂 lol. You dey whine me 😅😂

 2 years ago  

I'm not joking boss!

 2 years ago  

this entitlement is a Deadly spirit, this has made many good relationships, not just romantic ones, to collapse. Concerning gratitude, I have learned that gratitude opens the door for more favours.. One favour done is worth more than a thousand "I can"s
Good piece, @starstrings01

Na from your hand I dey learn all these boss

 2 years ago  

Hive supposed dey allow stickers...comrade no be so o...

 2 years ago  

I really loved watching the video because I see so much truth in it. Most people nowadays feel do entitled to things which they do not even deserve at all thanks for sharing with us

Thanks brother for the time spent watching video

 2 years ago  

You are welcome bro

Helping should be donde just for the sole sake of helping, we can never help anybody expecting something in return, not even gratitude, for gratitude is a gift not everybody can give. Feeling entitled is no way advisable. Greetings from Spain!

 2 years ago  

Entitlement gives short term enjoyment and blinds the eyes from seeing other better possibilities.

understanding the fact that no one owes you a thing in life will prevent insults, improve growth, exposes the mind to become more open and brings peace of mind.

I really enjoyed watching this. Awesome vlog man. Much love😍

@starstrings01 Nice post
Please I need your help on something
Can I have ur number please
WhatsApp number prefably
Thanks

Seen you can clear the number now!

@starstrings01 Oh ohkay Thanks
I have
Waiting for your chat

 2 years ago  

Entitlement mentality has caused a lot of problems. In fact 90% of the problem we are facing is because we feel entitled. You see brothers, sisters, friends hating themselves because they feel that entitlement is their birth right. You must do for me because I am your blood or your friend. Why? Its High time people started realizing that no one is tied to their umbilical cord, so therefore, you should do stuff for yourself and stop crossing your legs hoping to get helped.

I have something I wrote about this entitlement mentality. I am yet to publish though.

 2 years ago  

Great points sir.
A grateful heart and a mind that does things without a "right" attached to it are priceless!

Sorry about your health. Wish you speedy recovery.

 2 years ago  

I agree with you.
The thing about entitlement is we are not entitled to anything from anyone once we get what we see from others it all because they want to give and the best approach is to be grateful.
I think once we have this mindset we learn to become independent and work for what we need rather than wait to be given.

Nobody owes you jack you only get what your are given from love or pity

Having this mindset will prone to working hard and grateful for whatever we get.

Nice one champ

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

We shouldn't feel entitled to someone because they show us favour, we should reciprocate the favour.

Exactly, we should not feel in any way because we received favour from someone... Reciprocating would encourage the person to do more.

Being entitled to make your parents proud is more like being entitled to yourself to doing better. Because our parents wants the best for us and what's the best way of being entitled; that's being entitled to yourself.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment