Wednesday Walk - WALKING WITH SNAILS

in Wednesday Walk4 years ago

This was a slow walk ...

IMG_6383 malo.jpg

... under the pines ... along the small road paved with fallen needles and fresh, green grass.

IMG_6412 malo.jpg

It was raining the night before, the snails were surely active in the dark ... and now, I mean on that Wednesday, last week ...

IMG_6405 malo.jpg

... I saw a snail digging his way into the ground.

(Enlargeable)

I was there late in the morning, almost noon ...

IMG_6397 malo.jpg

Butterflies were flying around ... Red admirals ...

IMG_6385 malo.jpg

... Small cabbage whites ...

IMG_6425 malo.jpg

... and a dozen or so steps further, down on the road ...

IMG_6424 malo.jpg

... I noticed another snail. This one was almost completely buried. Only a fragment of the shell was peeking like a disappearing eye.

IMG_6399 malo.jpg

I was surrounded by rustling sounds made by small lizards running around the needles and various dried vegetation along the road.

IMG_6403 malo.jpg

I heard many of these reptiles, but most of them were practically invisible. I was able to catch only few of them with my eyes, and all that I have to show you here regarding the lizards, are these two messy shots.

IMG_6406 malo.jpg

While walking further along the road ... I passed by more buried and half - buried snails ...

IMG_6408 malo.jpg

... and I learned along the way that not all snails were ready for the burial.

IMG_6416 malo.jpg

Some of them still stood firmly above the ground ...

IMG_6417 malo.jpg

... this one was even coming out of the shell.

IMG_6379 malo.jpg

When taking these photographs I noticed this rectangular hole near the road ...

IMG_6380 malo.jpg

... it looked that it had something to do with canalization ... dirty water was running through loudly ... and the smell was far from delightful.

IMG_6382 malo.jpg

I passed by the hole ...

IMG_6387 malo.jpg

... observing the grass ...

IMG_6388 malo.jpg

... and the butterflies ... observing and photographing ...

IMG_6393 malo.jpg

Red admirals mostly.

IMG_6419 malo.jpg

This black beetle was passing across the road, rolling some moldy piece of something ... and then ...

IMG_6422 malo.jpg

... I saw this interesting trio.

IMG_6421 malo.jpg

It looked like some mysterious snail's ritual ...

(Enlargeable)

... or a snail's conspiracy.

IMG_6430 malo.jpg

Not far from there I saw this active snail. He was pretty fast compared to the others.

IMG_6455 malo.jpg

At one point he stopped for a second ... and looked up, at the sky ... the distant branches of the pines ... or something else above his head.

IMG_6475 malo.jpg

A small moth flew by my head and landed on the green grass near the snail.

IMG_6482 malo.jpg

Then he flew away ... but landed again not far from there, on the died out ear of grass this time. It was a very interesting moth.

IMG_6498 malo.jpg

Some steps further I saw a dead snail in the grass on the edge of the road.

IMG_6488 malo.jpg

Someone must have steeped on him recently.

IMG_6496 malo.jpg

This was a great feeding opportunity for the ants.

IMG_6520 malo.jpg

And for me this was a great opportunity to observe and photograph the ants in action.

(Enlargeable)

These are the Crematogaster scutellaris ants ...

IMG_6535 malo.jpg

... a pretty colorful species ...

IMG_6529 malo.jpg

... very common and widespread in this area.

IMG_6501 malo.jpg

They usually build their colonies in stumps and fallen logs or dead branches.

IMG_6513 malo.jpg

Although small in size, these ants are pretty aggressive and very dominant on their territory, always ready to attack other intruding ants in defense of the food sources and living space.

IMG_6503 malo.jpg

They often feed on carcasses ... but they are not only scavengers.

IMG_6534 malo.jpg

They are also active hunters ... and I see them sometimes shepherding the aphids that live on the trees.

IMG_6528 malo.jpg

This big Burgundy snail will provide a lot of food to the colony.

IMG_6521 malo.jpg

But it will take a lot of mandible work, plenty of time and effort ...

IMG_6504 malo.jpg

... to cut the slimy meat - mountain in small pieces ...

IMG_6532 malo.jpg

... suitable to be transported ...

IMG_6522 malo.jpg

... by a multitude of ants.

IMG_6518 malo.jpg

I spent almost an hour ...

IMG_6536 malo.jpg

... sitting there ... photographing the ants ...

IMG_6492 malo.jpg

... and then ...

IMG_6434 malo.jpg

... I continued my slow, snail - paced Wednesday walk ...

IMG_6459 malo.jpg

... under the pines ...

IMG_6464 malo.jpg

... in the good company of mollusks.

IMG_6486 malo.jpg

As always in these walks on HIVE, all the photographs are my work - THE END.

Sort:  

I was trying to identify that ant and came up with this: The Croatian Acrobat ant: https://www2.palomar.edu/users/warmstrong/ZachAnts1.htm
Does that look like the same ant?

Another fascinating post with amazing pictures.

Yes, the scientific name is also the same :) although I never heard that common name defining it as Croatian, interesting. I mean, these ants are an important part of the natural processes here :D so It's ok that they get the citizenship.

:)))

Very cool story of your walk! Love the photos of the snails and ants.

Thank you :)

the snail digging its way into the ground. I've never seen that before . Pretty cool

Wow, you certainly did get some outstanding photos of some amazing little creatures!

I love snails and I fell so sorry for them cause humans do nothing but deliberately stand on them or poison them...And I have never, ever seen them do anything like that- burying themselves!

And you're big black beetle is a Dung Beetle- we have them all over Australia
https://www.britannica.com/animal/dung-beetle

And I love the photos of the ants, extraordinary creatures aren't they.

We have Green ants over here and they are full of vitamin C and their bums taste like spicy lemon lime flavour- last time I ate one about 20yrs ago when I had a bad cold that would not go away...and then it went away immediately after eating a couple of them. That sounds crazy when I say it out loud, but yes... I once or twice ate some Green ants bums...

https://www.broadsheet.com.au/adelaide/food-and-drink/article/green-ants-and-gin

I'll definitely pass on the Gin- and now the ants too! 🤣

My favourite ants photo is the very last one and my favourite snails photo is the menage a toi...😁

TIP! to you and thank you! 😊

Very nice day for a walk! Never seen so many snails having a party like this!
It’s so nice to have a nature walk with all these creatures!!

Have a nice day!

Thanks :)

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment