A Walk to Run!

in Wednesday Walk4 months ago

I adore cycling, running, however; as unfortunate as it is for me, as a female, in our country, it is quite hard to do so.
Even though Dhaka (the capital city of Bangladesh) is supposed to be a very progressive area. except the highly expensive places, it is not any different.
By different I mean, overly conservative, misogynism, baldly patriarch, religiously reserved, women dominating culture, society, and country.

And of course, our roads are anything but friendly for running or cycling, not to mention if that is a female. When I had my bicycle with me years ago, I stubbornly went on the road, regardless of all those scary calculations of accidental bumps.
Oh, how about I drop a little introduction of the varieties of vehicle and transportations, which occupy the road
Our public transport systems are quite messy as well.

  • There are box-of-tin like public buses
  • CNG (mostly like a low cost taxi version),
  • Rickshaws (for short distances and mostly preferable if you are not in a hurry to go anywhere)
  • Then there are private cars and huge pile of motorcycles (mostly for Uber rides)

So, be it small alley or highway roads, all are always packed with all those types of vehicles, causing constant traffic, sometimes even hard to walk for people on the dedicated side-walks, as most of the motorcycle riders tend to use those, unlawfully of course.
So amidst this bustling chaos, if a female tries to run there is concern for road safety, and even people-safety, as females are not really safe except in broad daylight. Under the preferable weather, running is only suitable either after evening or at dawn, which both can highly endanger a woman's safety.

Whenever I tried cycling on the roads, there were always public buses and other vehicles who deliberately tried to bump into me out of their mighty patriarchal habit of belittling women.
As to them, women are supposed to just stay at home, under the veil, while most of us growing up as an independent women thanks to our women ancestors, who fought for our rights to education, right to choose what we wear, which were supposed to be the very fundamental rights for a human being

If I chose to run, I have to deal with the piercing and extremely uncomfortable looks, which eat me alive with their eyes, and deliberately bumping on me, blocking the road, and so on.
The contentment and joy of running will be vanished with all these disgusting circumstances by the time I finish a lap.

When I used to work in a sea-side city, I used to run by the beach, which developed a keen inclination and desire for running. After I left the city, and settled in the capital, I was itching to run but due to the circumstances, it was not possible, and I gradually pushed that in the background while getting busy with the extra harsh life of the capital city.

Recently, during thanksgiving, our office arranged a trip to that sea-side city and one of my colleagues, who runs on a regular basis and does not miss any marathon. proposed that during team-building, we should go for a run by the beach. That notion reminded me of the tender memory of running by the beach when I was in that city previously. Though, due to not being able to neither walk nor run for a really long time made me rusty, and 10 km run all of a sudden seemed impossible, I decided to give it a try.

IMG_20231219_221555_786.jpg

To my pleasant surprise, I was able to complete it!!!
IMG_20231219_221645.jpg

And voila!!! That triggered the long suppressed itch for running again, and he kept inspiring me to participate with the marathon and all since then.

But the aforementioned circumstances were not changeable, so much so that I do not step out of home during the weekend and waste it lazing in my room, which I myself do not like.
I did not consider walking as an option before as I find it easy for me, but to ease the itch for running, on a Wednesday evening, I decided to go to the office by walking instead of taking any vehicle.
It was around a 4 km distance from my home.

Though it is indeed troublesome to walk on those roads, I decided to continue walking to the office on the days I am not using office cars. And, perhaps soon enough, I will be able to leave behind all those issues and start running!
Until then...

All the contents are mine until mentioned otherwise.

Sort:  

so sorry the society there puts so many restrictions on what you can do and gad you got this trip ad were able to have a good run

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

I hope it gets better for us women in the forthcoming day 🤗

Exercise for body health, a beautiful place in your city, Bangladesh. Thank you.

Indeed 🤗

Society here on Bangladesh has its flaws and the more I think about it, the lesser I find satisfaction to be a part of it. Because, there are endless things that I think I should change in the future when I get onto power.

But, being a citizen, you could still ride a bycle, its free. What is obstructing is the weather and dusts, poor road conditions, the traffic mismanagement and vehicle pressures everywhere.

Society these days in the city life doesn’t care if you are male or female, over the decades of time - it has changed progressively. Talk about women empowerment, surpassed ever then the history of Bengal.

But still, you cant compare it to European status, and as a Muslim country - some rules never going to change due to religious order.I have my support to that teachings also but not - fundamentalism.

Anyway, good to see you exercising and motivating others to do so. Thats inspiring.

Sorry to be elaborate. 🙂

I would say I disagree.
Perhaps, elements or let us say we women have acquired the very basic fundamental rights, which were supposed to be ours almost though WARS.
And then we fight everyday for SUSTAINABILITY, for ACCEPTANCE from the society, both MEN and WOMEN!
Then comes, be liberal with the characteristics, which comes with those rights.

Naked harsh truth?
If I encounter 100 strangers in a day, the percentage of MEN, giving a space I deserve as a human with respect and kindness, not because I am a fragile opposite gender but because I look like a liberal woman, is 0.0001% 😐

So no, just because we have access to education, career does not imply we are SAFE, Respected, admired in the road.
Why?
Because our MEN are yet to overcome the sheer criteria of poisonous patriarchy, toxic male ego, and our WOMEN are yet to learn to deal with devastating misogyny. 😐

Not WEST, but safety from the STATE is a basic fundamental right of ours?
You saying we female have that luxury here because we are now educated and outgoing? 🙂

I am not here to make disputes and what I said had reasons and practical points over the society I observed in the country of Bengal. It has changed,not in great extents - but radically as in shifting attitudes towards woman folks and tolerance.

As a muslim country, without conforming basic civility - no muslim woman is "beautiful" to just be feministic and uncared of their conducts, because Bangladeshi society hasnt been changed just as Europe or Latino.

Just like in Brazil, in their society women have gained the right to be nude, it is grained in THAT society, but can you think of doing the same conduct here on land of Bengal? Will the society accept it?

Women has been also marginalised for over thousands of years and beyond more, New Zealand women's first got adult franchise and their civic practice of decision making. But, you know I dont like those blind feminist and those anti -Islamic postures, they could still hate males, but at some point they must bear the reasons.

But still, end of the day what you keep saying (East or West) or state backed fundamental rights, you must understand the SOCIETY what that is. Place is important.

And what you pointed as question lastly, I would say - its not education that is letting you or them to have so called "luxury". But, trends and outlook of the society through civil practices, modernisation and what new age with new realization have let human to be tolerant towards each other.

Whether you are educated or outgoing - that doesnt matter a hair in this circumstances.

If you dont like patriarchs, I dont like matriarchs or blind feminists also. Taslima Nasreens had reasons to be deported, and they are still making hatred towards society.

Nudge on their heads.

ow oww bro, hold your horse their!
This is going into entirely another direction!
Society, culture is already a very common thing in every debate, however, this aspect of conceited ideology is not related to any gender based biases or preferences!

You are bringing a lot of example to compare "we have it good compared to worse", which implies" why not just be happy with what you have, some people even does not have that!"
If this is what your pushing for, then my friend, I urge you to enlighten your perspective more.
Because this ideology is just WRONG.

Also, patriarchy, matriarchy, feminism is a whole different part here, let alone the mention of Taslima.
//If you don’t like patriarchs, I don't like matriarchs or blind feminists also. Taslima Nasreens had reasons to be deported, and they are still making hatred towards society//

And no offence, this implies how very shallow your ideology is honestly, it’s like statement from a kid who doesn’t know any better of what he is saying 😂 (It’s okay, I am not laughing at you. I am certain, you are more than this. Perhaps, it was the heat of the moment that made you say so!)
I mean you can hate feminism, Taslima or matriarch however you please, or worship patriarchy as much as you want!

But trust me on thing, the way you comprehend, understand, and know these, implies that you are not well-read, which most people are!
Read my friend, read!
Then you will see, know, understand, there a world beyond to explore for those ideologies and philosophies.

And I do appreciate your effort of actually reading and trying to make sense of out my writing. I am certain I would very much love a discussion when you reach a certain level and acquire that exposure 😊

Your content has been manually curated by sagarkothari88
Upvote recommended by @bhattg as part of Encouragement Program
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️