Wednesday Walk - Edinburgh Morning School Run (walk !)

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

I'm lucky enough to live close enough to my Daughter's school that we can walk her there and back, which is pretty handy considering we live in a city (Edinburgh in Scotland). Inspired by the Wednesday Walk posts, I took some pics on my phone on the way there and back this morning.
gYlHL-2wTqOXlsa8BYs-KQ.jpg
It was just getting light when we left the house - there was a nice sunrise with some associated atmospherics - although because we were on the hoof this pic didnt quite turn out too well !
jpeUjSVYQOSl51LnxzeO3w.jpg
On the way too school we kept passing a lot of discarded Christmas trees. Edinburgh City Council was uplifting trees from the kerbside today, as it is quite hard to get rid of them in the city - and so lots of people left them out for them to be taken away. By the time I went to pick my daughter up from school in the afternoon they were all gone.

lVoVL7XlRUCljQJBJuIdgA.jpg
I've taken many pics of the tree in the picture above. Its on the way to the school, and I guess at some point it was hit by a car or something, and is now titled at quite an angle across the path - however it is still healthy and growing.

BH9BHu6GQey6H6U46j7LcA.jpg
The sunrise was causing a nice golden glow in the sky as can be seen here, which was taken from the top of the road her school is on.
_mPx2kPgRhWWT4UG4qnCow.jpg
Also along the same road is this nice post box - what I like about it is that its quite old. The squiggly insignia on it just below the white notice is VR - which stands for Victoria Regina. So this box was put here during the reign of Queen Victoria - so its been here for atleast 121 years, and still being used daily - its probably had quite a few coats of paint in its time though !

SVuhEs5PSNmNPacm-ga5qA.jpg
Here you can see the sunrise further along the same road along, with some Christmas Tree lights still up in someone's front garden !

uwou3MkDR22mFwRRaINUMA.jpg
I caught the picture above as I was making my way home back after dropping off my daughter - some nice atmospherics was causing these clouds to take an orange hint in the morning light.

ro9xBHb0TNSVoqCVx1MLyQ.jpg
By the time I was nearly home, it was getting lighter, and the morning colours were beginning to fade.

35D14CjuRsCb6a_s4RHZnQ.jpg
And this is the last pic I took just outside our house before getting home - a nice clear morning indeed, with the trees providing some nice black outlines to contrast against the sky.

Sort:  

Hi @hoosie,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Beautiful colors and light in the sky

And it’s cool you can walk to school with her
I love that post box
And isn’t nature amazing that tree so healthy after being hit and bent

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Hi - well done on starting this idea up - its great. I've really enjoyed a lot of the pics and stories that have come through on the thread today - well done, and thanks !

Thanks it has grown more than I could ever have imagined

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @hoosie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10