Wednesday Walk - A short tour around Ortigas

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

I was dreaming of something when I suddenly heard my alarm. As much as I wanted to stay on my bed and hug my pillows as it was cold, I chose to get up. I am not rich, so I need to grind. Ahh, I missed those days when I was a kid. My parents always indulged me in sleeping more, yet like other naughty kids; I always opted to play. If only I had known adulting would be this hard, I didn't take for granted those days.

While I was buried with some paper works, I suddenly remembered I needed to buy some girly stuff as I wasn't able to do grocery shopping last weekend. I decided to punch a break as it was hard to commute during rush hours.

My office location was known as for home of skyscrapers, nightlife bars, restaurants, and business centers.

Green Travel Blog Banner (2).jpg

Though I could say that was before, as now it seems the title was snatched when BGC (Bonifacio Global City) was developed.

The moment I stepped out of, all I could see were tall buildings, but this caught my attention.

20220817_170742.jpg

What I mean is the office building of " SHOPEE."
I am not sure if this is available in your country but it is a leading e-commerce platform in Southwest Asia and Taiwan and was launched last 2015. It's goal is to provide customers with an easy, secure, and fast online shopping experience through substantial payment and fulfillment support. SOURCE]
Some companies struggled even went into bankruptcy when the pandemic happened yet there are also who were lucky, and sales spiked up. I think Shoppe is one of them.

I only had a few walks when I felt water droplets from the sky. How unlucky I am as I don't have an umbrella. I didn't expect it would rain. I don't have a choice but to stop for a while and look for a shade. Gladly as I passed near this building under construction, they added a temporary shade along the pavement for passers—also, this one as safety precautions from falling debris in case.

20220815_112032.jpg

As I looked around, I thought that the time would come, and no vacant space would be left. Currently, this is the only lot without a building for construction—a paid parking space.

20220815_104214.jpg

See those trees? Will they still live, if ever?

After a few minutes, the rain stopped, so I continued walking to Podium Mall. I chose to take the overpass just in case rain started to pour again.

20220815_104829.jpg

Not only because of rain but for safety precautions too. After hearing news about reckless drivers, some of them just paid their victims? I'd would rather choose to climb those stairs even am already catching my breath than be sorry.

I almost reached my destination, and while waiting for the stoplight, I took a photo of these buildings.

20220815_105317.jpg

Seeing this made me remember when there was an earthquake, yet I and my officemate, chose not to go down the building. Maybe we felt safer because we knew our office's structure was strong enough. Besides, I don't want to experience the fear of being on the ground again. I don't know if it was only me, but I was so scared and almost ran when we were sent home during the earthquake. I thought I might still die due to fallen debris from the buildings around.
Do you have that feeling too? Or was I overacting?

Finally, I reached the mall! It's been months the last time I visited here since the pandemic. By the look, the management had some adjustments as there was already Alfresco dining.

20220815_111333.jpg

They say it is much safer to stay and dine in an open area, so the restaurant along the side extended their tables outside. Since it was in one management, it was the same theme, and all the chairs and tables were uniform. It looks like a party venue for a reception to me.

20220815_111252.jpg

Do you agree?

I go straight into the corners of items I badly need without checking other merchandise for economic reasons. Perhaps ladies here can relate to me.

When I walked back to the office, I decided to took the other route, passing by one of the multinational companies here in the Philippines, the San Miguel Corporation.

20220815_111544.jpg

When I was still applying for a job, this one was on my list, preferably this site. The office building looks so cool, with wide parking spaces shaded by trees. It looks so green because of the plants there was even planted in the building.

20220815_111649.jpg

Even if you take a look outside, this is what you will be going to see.

20220815_111852.jpg

No doubt the owner cares about the environment. In fact, it has some environmental programs covering land, water, and air protection. SOURCE

Hello Hivers! It's Wednesday again and usual this is my entry in Wednesday Walk of Sir @tattoodjay.

Pinmapple code: [//]:# (!pinmapple 14.585319 lat 121.059201 long The Podium Mall d3scr)

Author: Lhes
Date published: 08/17/2022
Place: Manila Philippines

Lead image edited thru Canva
All photos captured by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for the tour

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks too for creating this community🙂

My pleasure to host the Wednesday Walk

City na city life Ms Lhes hehe. Woah, I think shoppee had revenue of million per day, so I am not shocked to see the high rise of it hehe.

Haha Oo, wala na lagi makita buildings laang
Yep plus they are not paying taxes accurateley I think, I mean the sellers😂.
Hindi sila na issue O.R. eh😂

Nakakamiss Naman to lhes. Ilang taon nako Hindi nakakaluwas. Dati nakapunta nako sa Ortigas nung nag apply ako sa intra Philippines. Puro sa Makati kasi work ko pero kapag nasa mega and galleria Ayan nakikita ko

Hindi pa ako nagagawi ng makati. Mas maganda yata BGC eh, napanis na ortigas😂

Oo haha. Magada BGC. Panis din Ayala don 🤣

Gala nga ako doon minsan

Nice to see Ortigas is a bit clean. Imagine if all the places in the country would be like this too.
That place has really a lot of buildings. I don't know if I have been there, I think not. 😅

Hehe yeah it ia clean in our area and though it was a business centers, still there are a lot of trees.
Sa likod lng kmo banda ng SM megamall

Ohh okay, so parang d pa nga talaga ako napapadpad dyan 😂

Ang haba cguro phone mo.. Yung ibang photos mo kc hehe..

Haha hindi ah, panorama gamit ko pag picture para wide range

Nung napunta ako Makati, nagsisitaasan din mga buildings eh. Grabe halos wala ka nang makitang mababang establishments diyan. May Farms din ata ang San Miguel eh, not sure lang.

Ay oo, skycrappers din.
Not sure din ako pero may mga tree planting programs sila.
Ganda nga ng office nila dito...

Congratulations @lhes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you hive buzz,.will.work hard to reach the next goal

You're welcome @lhes. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

BTW, we need your help! May we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be very helpful.
Thank you!

The walkathon in Ortigas. Back then when CCF was in St. Francis Square and I am working in Manila I am always there and the walking time is not that good my feet usually feel the hurt though it is just a few walks.

How'd I miss the place.

Also the SHOPEE building hahah that is the first thing that I saw too in the images you uploaded. Is it a sign already to get one from the App?

Ccf church? When I was new here sa work ko sakit din lagi paa ko😂, kasi required heels plus better maglakad kaysa mag fx tapos ang traffic😂.

I think St francis now is office lease na lng, converted na lahat😂.

Magshoppee na😁

Lagi ko tong tinatanaw ang Ortigas pag naka MRT ako hehe. Tas yung mga tao naglalakad na parang mga langgam.😆

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jijisaurart(1/5) tipped @lhes (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Or was I overacting?

Not overreacting inday.

Am glad you got out and about inday, I will do mine tomorrow!

Oh it was scaring kuya!

oo I can imagine inday :) You be safe if it ever happens again please

Kuya! It's your birthday?
Prepare the beers, lol😆

hehe it was yesterday inday og salamat ;)

Ang ganda ng San Miguel Corporation. Lagi ko din sya tinitingnan mula sa sa labas. Parang ang relaxing nya na place in the heart of the city

ay same, kapag nakadaan ako, parang gusto ko na magpaalam sa guard if pwede pasilip