Wednesday Walk - San Diego to Chicago

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

I had to leave town for a week to do a projector install in a basketball arena. Here's a few highlights from San Diego for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay
20211110_132342_copy.jpg
My projection mapping project basically took all week with 12 hour days so I didn't get to explore much of San Diego except for one day for lunch. My coworkers and I wanted to look lunch near the beach and we found a small sandwich shop near Torrey Pines Gliderport.

20211110_132328_copy.jpg
Here various paragliders and instructors catch the winds off the ocean above the cliffs to glide around. It was quite fun scarfing down my lunch while watching these guys try to take off and land. It looks pretty complicated to my eyes.

20211110_132831_copy.jpg
They can zoom around quite fast and somehow they have to land on a tiny little grass area without getting tangled up with each other.

20211110_133057_copy.jpg
The guy in the yellow paraglider was doing various tricks like hanging upside down. Later he grabbed a landed paraglider guy with his legs from above, too bad I didn't catch that on camera.

20211110_135128_copy.jpg
Right next to the paraglider landing zone there was a raptor cage for falconers.

20211110_135146_copy.jpg
They had falcons, hawks and a gold eagle in the back. Once the paragliders go home the falconers bring them out to do tricks and training.

20211110_135159_copy.jpg
It was a bit cool (by California standards) by the beach so these guys were soaking up the sunrays with their wings.

20211111_145437_copy.jpg
I stayed in a hotel right near a strange looking two steepled church. I thought it was Scientologist at first but then I saw golden angels at the top of the steeples and realized this was a Mormon temple. It looked quite fancy on the outside. I doubt they let random tourists inside plus I had no time to explore because I was busy with the projection mapping.

20211113_074529_copy.jpg
Now its time to head back from warm California to cold Chicago. This was somewhere over Arizona. Time for a four hour nap.

20211113_113548_copy.jpg
When I woke up I saw the familiar flat lands of Chicagoland, still quite a bit of fall color in the trees.

20211113_113625_copy.jpg
Here's a forest preserve near O'hare that I sometimes go to look for mushrooms at. Mushroom season is pretty much over now but if it gets sunny around here again I might try and go here for the leaf colors. Next time I go to San Diego I'll have to actually go down to the beach for a real walk.

That's all for now thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

I can remember work trips with king days and no free time glad you got out for lunch at that cool spot
Watching paragliders not sure I would want to try it but love watching them

And then those big birds so cool

There is still so much fall color in Chicago it seems

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Yeah paragliding looks like a quick way to damage yourself, one wrong tug on the line and you go sailing off into the side of a cliff. I wish I could have seen the birds in action. Here's a view of the projectors that took forever to line up/edge blend.

Wow that’s an impressive setup must have been a heck of a job

It was tricky we had to integrate the projectors into a control system and get them to talk to that system with scripts and code so they could sync content across the stadium with the push of a button.

Being a telecommunications tech fir many years before moving not managing both telecommunications and IT I have an idea how complex that all was

The random bugs we ran across through all the different hardware was crazy. Then I had to re-export the video so the two computers that are attached to the projectors would play it in sync. Really had to read each of the hardware manuals really closely and even call their tech guys to ask about hidden firmware features.

👍🙂👍

Wow wha ta job! Looks like you've got what, 28-30 panels there?

Did you make a post on this job?

I would love to see how you did it!

The panels are just existing sound panels but it was unused real estate so we decided to project on them with 7 projectors in an array. It was a bit of a complex puzzle to get extenders up in the ceiling to go back to the control room and interface with an existing system.

Wow sounds like a challenging job and one that I would have loved to been involved in although not a full on techy, I'm great at solving tech puzzles...and love learning about stuff like that too!

It was quite a puzzle we had all our plans drawn up beforehand but of course random bugs throw a wrench in the works. Compared to some of my other crazy projects this one ran fairly smoothly with only a few nail biting moments before the deadline lol.

It's a trip seeing San Diego through other people's eyes. I grew up there and finally made my escape nine years ago. It's a cool place to visit, though. Lots of sunshine.
How did you like coming in to land at the airport? Scrape any rooftops?

I was mostly just working inside nonstop seemed pretty busy and congested with traffic when I was outside. The airport was pretty busy but less busy than ohare.

awwww, bummer. Coming in to land over downtown is the highlight of visiting SD. The planes get so close to the buildings you can almost touch them.

Yeah by the time I flew into San Diego it was dark already and I got the dreaded middle seat so I couldn't look out the window on the way in.

Lovely photos! Autumn colours are beautiful.

Soon they will be snow shots. Hopefully I'll get another warm weekend before it happens.

Lucky you! Always find some good spots for photo shoot!

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 14000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

What a treat watching the colourful entertaining gliders during lunch. It looked a lot of fun and while I have never tried it I can see the attraction to be a glider.

They were zooming by fast. They had tandem flight available for unexperienced tourists, but its weird having someone attached to your back the whole time lol.

Would this be the very first (almost) bi coastal Wednesday walk crossing multiple state lines in just one walk!🤣

So how did you feel having to leave San Diego to go back to Chicago?

It was warm in San Diego and quite cold coming back to Chicago. Though things are much more relaxed in Chicago than Cali. Less stressed out people over here and less congested.

So yes, totally different climate and 'look' to the environments, but I'm suprised that Chicago is more relaxed than San Diego, not suprised about the congestion though...

What about winter in Chicago though. Doesn't get you too down with all the cold, snow and dark days?

Wooooooow,, wooooooow,, and wooooooow,, what you share this time is really amazing my friend, the very spoil the eyes, perfect buddy ..

California weather in the winter is perfect, nice and sunny and still warm enough to do stuff outside. Here in Chicago it is starting to get too cold to do stuff outside already.

I am very happy to see your post this time, thank you my friend for sharing.

the pictures you show are amazing.

It was beautiful weather there. Maybe someday I can learn how to paraglide.

Always nice to have a little get away! Cool pics too, not sure if I would like hang gliding...

Yeah looks like a recipe for broken legs when landing. But somehow they all learned how to do it. There were a few awkward beginners who were having the most difficult time taking off getting the parachute all tangled up.

Wow, nice photography San Diego to Chicago.

🥰

Nice bright sunny days there, though the ocean water there is very cold.

Nice adventure ;))

It was mostly a business trip. I have to go back there sometime for just vacation.