You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A walk in one of the oldest cities in the world - Izmir... #TheLongestTrip

Hi Olga

Have moved from Kemer to Izmir? It is likely that you come across Greek style buildings in Izmir because there was also Greek population until the exchange, which took place in 1922, leaving many tragedic stories, dramas behind.

Sort:  

Hi @videoaddiction !
Yes, I have read about these sad events in the history of this city... Its name is İzmir Massacre!
I came to visit friends. But at the beginning of February, I will return to Kemer again.

Massacre by who?

There is a link to the source of this information at the end of my post.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C4%B0zmir

There says no massacre in this link during 1920s.

In 1922. I found it there in the "history" section.

IMG_20230117_173915.jpg

I think that calling it massacre would not be right.

I don't know, I just read it on Wikipedia... Why do you think so?