Night walk. Observations and reflections

in Wednesday Walk9 months ago

Do you like to walk after dark?

I have always loved evening walks in my neighborhoods. I used to feel safe here. I mean in general, with very rare exceptions. If you walk through an unfamiliar neighborhood during the day, you can't imagine how it will look in the evening with all the lightning. You might be greatly surprised :)

But since the recent time, I have noticed that I am not very comfortable outside when it gets dark. Maybe because the last winter was the darkest night for all Ukrainians. It was a tough challenge for me. Maybe because the war is still here and a peaceful place can turn dangerous at any moment (except shelters, of course).

Either way, now all my late walks are fast and nervous.😬 But not this time.😉

So make yourself comfortable, because here is my entry for #WednesdayWalk weekly challenge hosted by @tattoodjay 👍


There is an area in my neighborhood that was which was designed according to the concept of a city within a city. Such quarters are now quite popular in Ukraine. A school or kindergarten, a gym, a supermarket, etc. are being built next to residential buildings. I don't know how justified it is, because what's nearby is not always the best for you, considering the quality or cost.

20230914_185242-01.jpeg

20230914_200909.jpg

20230914_195301.jpg

20230914_201531.jpg

20230914_201156.jpg

20230914_201756.jpg

20230914_200410.jpg


An amazing combination of colors, shadows, light and reflections...

Anyway, I got an invitation to a public event that was held there. The rain had just stopped, so I thought - why not? Still better than sitting alone at home.


Guests were served chilling wine and snacks. And the general ambiance was pleasant and relaxing.

Even though it rained again, I really liked this late walk. I have never been here after dark. It's really fascinating. I took these pictures with my smartphone, so I beg you pardon for the quality, but I really like to share them.

image.png

A couple of weeks ago, an international event YES took place here in Kyiv. I liked one phrase, and I will quote it because these words resonated with me:

"Ukraine, at least Kyiv, from a place where there is a war and you can die at any moment, has turned into an interesting location in the minds of many foreigners, where strange Ukrainians simultaneously desperately fight for survival, celebrate something non-stop in bars and restaurants and work as hard as ever."

image.png

Bridges and housing are being built, and roads are being repaired. Thousands of pilgrims from Israel came to Uman, and their police came as well. To help our police. Everything adapts to the new reality. It is a very unique experience.

A novelty has appeared in the real estate market - insurance against damage during shelling. Previously, it was excluded from insurance cases.

I also remembered... There is a park near me. At the beginning of the war, trenches and dugouts were dug there to protect Kyiv. Now sometimes I see kids there playing war with toy automatic rifles. Life takes over.

20230914_200048.jpg

20230914_195137.jpg

20230914_195712.jpg

20230914_201502.jpg

20230914_200404.jpg


20230914_185132-02.jpeg

All right.

My time is over :) I hope you enjoyed our late walk.

Thank you so much for your time, and see you around!


Cheers,
@zirochka

hearts.png

Sort:  

Such and interesting and complex contrast in the reality of your home and your daily lives over there and these amazing photos by the way, really make me shake my head in wonder at how pristine everything looks and how strong and resilient you all are as well as shaking my head in Sadness at what you've had to go through to get there and madness about how it all came to happen and that it's still going on...

I'm so happy that you were able to get out to an event like this to celebrate the life that you still have though and I hope that you are able to get out to many many more and take such incredible photos too!

With much love and hugs from everyone in Australia.
❤️💛💚💙💜

Thanks a lot for your kind words, dear @chocolatescorpi 🤗

I love walking at night, or even driving around in a car or on a bicycle, at night. If I'm in the countryside, I love looking at Mother Moon and the stars. If I am in a city or town, I love looking at the lights and the quaint shops (even if they're closed). Everything is so charming and peaceful, or maybe with some soft music coming from some venue nearby. It's wonderful!

And Ukraine does seem to be a fascinating country to visit. But not because of the war which has brought attention to the country, but because of my following your blog and reading so many posts over the years showcasing sights and history there. And, of course, because you are there and I would love to hug you some day and chat over a coffee. 🙂

Driving at night, and enjoying the nocturnal charm of the city is really special.

You would love Ukraine! And I look forward to the ending of the war, so you can come over and I can give you a hug 🤗🤗🤗🤗 War taught me to appreciate relations ❤️

Taking night walks are my favourites and definitely share some perspectives that you can't enjoy during the daylight. But I can understand... or try to understand, how unsafe it is to take this kind of walk anymore in Ukraine. I can't imagine how is it to wake up in the middle of a war and such emotions. But you all are so brave and strong!

But I can understand... or try to understand, how unsafe it is to take this kind of walk anymore in Ukraine.

Maybe it's just me. Ukraine has always been a safe country, before the war. 😒

Yes, I am one of those people who love to walk at night, I live in a city where the weather is warm and the best time to walk is at this time dear friend @zirochka
I am very sorry for the situation you live there because of the war, I lived in a city with war and I know what it feels like.
It's good that the rain has stopped and you had the opportunity to visit this beautiful place. I love night photographs, the images are very colorful and beautiful. Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful hike

Thank you for your meaningful comment, dear @jlufer!
I agree, September is a good time for walks, travels, and such, when it's neither cold nor hot. I pray for the war to end soon and that we all can return to peaceful living.

Do I love night walks? I have no questions about it. I'm a night owl! My problem is my camera... About your post, I see you have any of those problems I do. Perfection, friend. My favorite one is the black and white glass of water. Beautifully done, sweetie @zirochka

Thank you for your kind words, dear @chris-chris92.
Cheers and !BEER


Hey @chris-chris92, here is a little bit of BEER from @zirochka for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Oh it's friday, girl!! A beer would be nice! Thank so much, @zirochka

The wet surroundings, the lights and a beautiful place makes it perfect for a walk. Glad the rain stopped that you were able to visit that place. Indeed a walk in the evening with beautiful lights is amazing.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

It must be difficult to feel comfortable anywhere given what is going on, but you are right, life goes on amongst the war and I'm glad you found a spot to enjoy yourself with others.

Thank you

I prefer walks in brightness usually, I like to see stuff but in Estonia we have almost nonstop darkenss in winter so not much choice. Summer is a total opposite. It doesnt really get dark 😀.

you have another challenge then ))

Якщо вечірня прогулянка такими освітленими місцями, то це красиво, а ще, якщо вона закінчується бокалом вина або шампанського, як на останньому фото, то вечір точно вдався ;-)

😁 так і було 😉

Тоді робіть це частіше. Я про вечірні прогулянки ;-)

Насправді мій організм просить більше сонця. Тому... треба заставляти себе гуляти вдень. По темному ще нагуляюсь взимку...

What a pleasant walk outdoors something I have not done in so many years I don't care to remember when last I felt safe enough.

The city is looking clean, brilliant under the lighting, captured great photography and very glad to hear you had a night out on the town.

!LUV
!PIZZA

@zirochka, @joanstewart(2/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Night walks can be very nice but safety is above all else.

Completely different being able to walk at night, enjoy when you are able.

fully understandable not feeling comfortable walking inthe dark, I do early morning walks starting when itis dark and are careful where I go and always paying attention for anyone else around

but that said this looks like a fun evening walk, love the shine on the roads after the rain

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

After reading the comments, I really feel more normal and less of a coward 😃

Thank you!
!LUV

@tattoodjay, @zirochka(1/1) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

not a coward at all I like to think your are exercising common sense

How do you take such perfect nightscape photos?

@tipu curate

For those with reflection, I just put the phone on the table with the edge perpendicular and upside down, so the camera is as close to the surface as possible. Also, for night shots it takes a little bit longer so the phone should not move.

Thank you for the curation! ❤️

!BEER

I am even more impressed that you took these beautiful photos with your smartphone! @zirochka

Thank you for sharing your photo taking tips (and the beer token!)♥️


Hey @staywithukraine, here is a little bit of BEER from @zirochka for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 174 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

I like walking at night too and seeing glimmering and stunning lights ☺️

They looks amazing indeed :)

!LOL

What's the difference between a well-dressed man and a tired dog?
The man wears an entire suit, the dog just pants.

Credit: reddit
@zirochka, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(4/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@joanstewart(1/10) tipped @zirochka

The night walks are the best, nice pictures. 🙂

Nice to meet an appreciator of night walks. 😊
Thank you!

Люблю вечірнє місто. Вся ця ілюмінація, розслаблені люди вже після роботи)

🥰

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Very good. Greetings.