You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arsenic Lullaby on NFTShowroom and how it compares to Makersplace and SuperRare

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

I think you're getting more abstract than you need to here. If you have say, 100.00 to spend on art what's dthe difference if you aquire hive or hdb dollars with it to buy the art? at the time you are buying the art, it's 100usd any way you look at it. By your logic here, you shouldn't spend any money on anything that has less potential for growth than hive. and btw...how exactly do you envision that hive getting such growth, unless everyone starts using it ( you being included in everyone) These are questions I have.

Sort:  

If I buy a piece for 50 HIVE i've spent $10. If HIVE goes 10x i've got a piece of art worth 5 HIVE. I've lost 45 HIVE, which at the new higher price is a loss of $90. So if we expect HIVE to go up, why would we convert our HIVE now to USD equivalent? That's nuts.

uhm...okay first off, you started this by saying you'd buy the art if it was via HBD...by your logic there is no reason to have HBD, you should be converting them to Hive.

Second...hive is worth about 18 cents. it would need to go up FIVE HUNDRED PERCENT before it gets your first prediction of being worth 10.00. 500%. What is the scenario where that happens? I just want to know so I can spot the early signs. Hell, for that matter, I'd love to hear the scenario where it goes up 100%. the only ways I can think of it even getting to 2.00 is if one of these dapps or platforms get popular...which brings me back to the reason you would by the art, to help the platform grow.
You could spend the ten dollars and just buy another ten dollars of Hive. ...you know what? I just realized I'm talking to a guy who doesn't even want to spend ten dollars. ...Good day, sir.

Try reading for comprehension. I've already spent $10 on a piece of art.

I've just realised I'm talking to a tosser.

Perhaps you should try that, wanker. I said "doesn't even want" as in future tense, not past tense. Referring not to what you have done (past tense) but what you may or may not do (future tense). Iin this case the hypothetical future tense sale YOU had JUST previously brought up...see here in the pic I have HIGHLIGHTED where you said "IF" , thus declaring it a hypothetical FUTURE situation...
Wanker.JPG
Also since I has said "good day, sir", your statement "I'm talking to" would be incorrect, as "I'm" is actually "I am" as in present tense, the correct phrasing would have been " I had been talking to" or "I was talking to"
You were not presently talking to anyone because I had said "good day , sir"
...

image.png

Yep, definitely a tosser. 😂

well, that was an unpleasant exchange...I just don't have the patience I did 5 months ago. But I think even on a good day I would have broke bad on this guy. He shows up and declares that spending 10 dollars worth of Hive on artwork would be "nuts", ( he says this to an artist who's been earning a living seeling art for over a decade...who just wrote a blog in which it's pointed out why raising your price on artwork is important) because he envisions Hive jumping from being worth .18 to being worth 10.00, at some point in the near future.
lol, WTF are you supposed to do with that?
well, you can listen to him, or listen to me. shrug

Those numbers were just simple examples for you, as comprehension clearly isn't one of your strengths. Apply it to the prices of your art and the loss gets far worse. Perhaps you are an investor in Hive that, despite investing, strangely doesn't think the price will appreciate. Or perhaps you aren't an investor at all. At least that would explain your inability to grasp the concepts.

Listen, I can't keep explaining this to you. If you can't get your head around the argument, then it's out of my hands.