Showcase-Sunday: Return of The Past Away Mega Post

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

It's Sunday again, and it seems like forever since I've had a chance to really put some time into some art even though it actually hasn't been that long.

Today I'm resharing one of my all time favorite share's here on Hive for the first time and in OCA for the first time. Last time I posted this was on Steem and Communities didn't exist yet so it's sort of like a first.

I'm also going to be trying out the new @reward.app project that you can read about here and here.

It's still in the experimental stages so I'll sign up to be a guinea pig for it.

So for all who don't know, many years ago I did a Kickstarter for a motion comic that was successfully funded. A lot happened, but I was working on it exclusively for about 8 months before I ran out of money and had to wrap the whole thing up. This is a bunch of the work from that project.

TrainStation2_cropped.jpg

The story was a combination of sci-fi and post apocalyptic zombie. I hadn't seen a story where there was a zombie breakout in the future. The world was similar to the world in the movie "Elysium" where you have a few mega wealthy people living on a space station and the rest of humanity is an over crowded mega cities.

megaPlexday.jpg

megaPlexnight.jpg

buildingThumbnails.jpg

FirstShotLongPan2_scaled.jpg

BigCityPanLookUp2.jpg

OOG_ForPosting.jpg

tumblr_mxlg7m40Wc1sb032no1_1280.jpg

SpaceStationConcept_2.jpg

This is where the 1% hang out. Since we bought Hive, we live here too.

JasonInRain.gif

DeadGirl_Reveal.gif

sc_03_63_actual.jpg

The main character is Jason, a pizza delivery drone operator that ends up having to deliver a pizza one night the old fashioned way when his drone breaks down on Halloween. While he's out he runs into an old friend and has that awkward moment where he's embarrassed at where he's at in life.

JasonAtConsole.jpg

JasonLookAtPic.jpg

PartyHousePan_64.jpg

f_13_2.jpg

Jason_Bokeh.jpg

Then all hell breaks loose.

ThroughGlassFinal.jpg

BustThroughGlass_far.gif

2ndZombieRun.gif

ZombieRun_CU.gif

Z_FlingSequence.gif

OOG.gif

tumblr_mtpq5k3dy71s4u62go1_1280.gif

tumblr_mtlt0hwQrM1s4u62go1_1280.gif

This was just about a 100% solo project when it comes to the artwork. @klumsyk helped out with a few concepts at one point but all the final artwork was done by me. It...was a lot of work. I really gained an appreciation for artists that COMPLETE solo projects like this and I learned a lot by working on it.

Behind the scenes there was a ton of pre-production work. I had a vague idea of this world, of the characters and props, but all that stuff had to be totally fleshed out. The following is some of the art that I have to do before I make the art. The design phase.

Page_12.jpg

Page_14.jpg

Page_13.jpg

Page_15.jpg

Page_16.jpg

Page_17.jpg

Page_18.jpg

Page_19.jpg

Page_20.jpg

Page_01.jpg

Page_02.jpg

Page_03.jpg

Page_04.jpg

Page_05.jpg

Page_06.jpg

Page_07.jpg

Page_08.jpg

Page_09.jpg

Page_10.jpg

Page_21.jpg

Page_32.jpg

Page_33.jpg

Page_34.jpg

Page_36.jpg

Page_37.jpg

Page_38.jpg

Page_22.jpg

Page_23.jpg

Page_24.jpg

Page_25.jpg

Page_26.jpg

Page_27.jpg

Page_28.jpg

Page_29.jpg

Page_30.jpg

Page_31.jpg

Page_43.jpg

Page_42.jpg

Page_46.jpg

Page_48.jpg

Page_49.jpg

Page_52.jpg

If Hive ever moons bigtime and I don't have to worry about paying bills anymore, I'd totally pick this back up or do something similar with a different story. Maybe have help this time because the burn out was real working on this. Hope it doesn't break your browser!

Sort:  

I remember a lot of that, there was some great art. I liked the car scene way back then and still like it. You were on a roll back then, but yeah hard to not reach burn out on such a large project.

Yea, it was also the fact that it was just me by myself for months on end. That started to weigh on me after a while.

Ahh I remember this one. I was just scrubbing through thinking jeez there's a lot of terrified faces oh yeh zombies XD I love that gothic townhouse thing.

Yea I predicted the future pretty well there. The idea was that rent prices increased in already dense cities so people had to just keep building up. So the rent crisis is right on point, now I'm just waiting for people to remodel houses by adding extra floors.

Would they be able to afford the council rates never mind the renovation costs? XD

or maybe your council rates aren't like ours XD

I don't even know what a council rate is :)

Money we have to pay the local council yearly for bins and other associated city services. I remember looking into precisely what they were supposed to be for about a hundred million years ago, can't remember any of it now XD Maybe you're lucky and don't have to pay them, or they're called something else :)

Yea, they're just called something else/maybe handled differently. A lot of that stuff is privatized so you pay a company for it.

Too awesome!!! <3 <3 <3

!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

like looking at your drawing.
it's really amazing. 😯😯😮

Thanks!

 4 years ago  

Woow... there's so much stuff here!
It's so sad that you had to can the project, I think it's amazing. I love how you use the comic book style while keeping the great eye candy lighting/depth work. So much work too, I can't really draw very well so for me this is just insane! :D

Thanks @rowye, yea I've been doing more 3D lately but I'm primarily a 2D artist.

wow amazing art work. @midlet i am new here i already complete 3 posts but no one upvote me.

 4 years ago  

Wow @midlet, this is alot of work. I wished you finished it.

wow amazing works , but not all posts are recognized :(

 4 years ago  

Wowww! Glad you shared it again, I haven't seen it before and it's awesome. The 2nd imagine- that looks like pencils is my favorite :) Not sure why exactly, maybe feels like an art deco drawing. ^^

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!