The Good, the Bad and the Ugly - My games in the Hive Chess Tournament

in The Chess Community2 years ago (edited)

thum.png This image was edited by me using GIMP and this resource

Separador 4.png

Last week I was 5th in the Hive Chess Tournament, yesterday I was 5th again, I started losing the first 5 games, my user name is vjap "5" "5", coincidence? It seems that the number "5" is chasing me or something lol. Nah, just kidding but it's funny that this number appears so many times.

Whatever, we had round number 5 of season 10 of this tournament organized by @stayoutoftherz. In this oprtunity 36 played a great chess and the format was Arena 3+3.

As I mentioned at the beginning, I started losing the first 5 games which was quite disappointing because I had several winning games but I couldn't convert the advantage. My main strategy was to use bersek but as you can see this didn't work so well or at least not in the first 5 games.

I really don't know how I ended up in 5th place.

I think a chess player should be able to recover psychologically as soon as possible when playing a tournament.

Confidence will start to come back when the score increases a little bit. This is precisely what happened, after a rather depressing start I was able to recover little by little and things didn't end so badly.

And it was a good thing it was like that, because the result could have been even worse. When we play angry, depressed, or simply in a bad mood, it is more likely to produce losses.

That's right, chess is a highly objective game but it depends on many subjective things. At the end of the day the humans are the ones behind the pieces. Our psychology has a lot of influence on the game.


As for the results @sawko ratifies his authority in the league and is placed as the champion this Friday leaving a considerable gap with his runner-up @eniolw who also had a good performance. In 3rd place @franu. @tony1294 continues to stalk the top and is in a very interesting 4th place.

You can see the full results and games of this round here


Alright let's take a look at some of the games I played this Friday: " the good, the bad and the ugly".

performance.png

My performance in the tournament


The good


@kintokris vs @vjap55
jonvja.png

Choosing a game as "the good" was not an easy task. As the main criteriaI wanted to pick up one in which I made few mistakes but in a blitz this is almost impossible and if we add the bersek... well you know what I mean. I like this position because Black has got a well structure in the opening, in fact, his task of equalizing has already been completed and it seems that he will be in an advantageous position in a short time.

White has played an English opening but has neglected his center. Note that Black has an extraordinary control over this sector of the board. The bishop on "b2" is not at its best momment because it is colliding with Black's wall f6-e5. In a fast game finding a plan for White here is not an easy task, on the contrary, Black has a quite comfortable game: the break on a5, control of the white squares, easy mobilization of pieces to attack both on the kingside and the queenside.

In short, at this moment it is easier to play with the black pieces. It is difficult to suggest something for the first player because being so passive any unplanned move can leave him even with a worst position. The pawns "e3 and d3" are doomed to passivity because if for example is advanced: d3-d4 the black squared bishop on b2 would be even worse. If it is decided to move e3-e4 then the weakness of the d3-pawn would be worrying because Black could easily coordinate his heavy pieces on the "d" file and thus press white's weakness. White has no choice but to wait.

After a series of not so precise moves and some tactics in my favor I was able to win this position with the black pieces.

The bad


@stayoutoftherz vs @vjap55
satyoutvjap55.png

To talk about "The bad" I need to make many more posts lol. But I decided to choose this game because it reflects the ability of not being able to convert an advantageous game.

I didn't want to talk about variants in this post but it is impossible not to ignore combinations in this game. This was my third game and I thought it would be my first win as I was able to get an extra piece quite early in the game but, @stayoutoftherz didn't give up so easily and was able to hold on until my clock ran out of time and also his pawns on the queenside advanced too much due to my lack of time to think properly.

White has played "f3" to remove the center black knight as it was quite active in that place. However, he has weakened the g1-a7 diagonal a lot which will cost him too much in a couple of moves. At this moment it is White's to play and he has a unique move, that's right, only one move will keep the position balanced.

White played 18)Re1 which looks like a normal move but the truth is that he automatically loses because after the strong 18...)Qb6 the knight on d4 is lost, Nb3 is unstoppable. How ever, the insane move 18)Nc7 gives White a breath. I was like what?...

After 18)Nc6! Black have to take "the free knight" 18)...bxc6 19) Bxg7 Kxg7 and 20)Qd4+ white gets the piece back. I was super suprised of this variation, beautiful right?

Of course white didn't see this variation and I won the piece on d4 but ended up losing the game anyway lol

The ugly


@tony1294 vs @vjap55
tony12vja.png

I'm so sorry my friend @tony1294 but this was the ugliest game I played in the tournament lol

This was all a back and forth of blunders. I gave a piece to Tony and he gave me another. As soon as I finished the game I thought I had created a masterpiece of tactical combinations, but the engine ruined my illusions lol. The amount of errors in this match is incredible. But as a great sage used to say:

A chess game is won by the player who makes fewer mistakes

Well this was a brief compilation of my games played this Friday I hope you like it.

Today I will not be able to play the @schamangerbert tournament because I will be carrying out a chess brothers activity in my city with @sawko. I'll talk to you about that later.

Also remember that we have the 5th round of the Chess Brothers League this Sunday and the Checkmate coin tournament this Monday.

@schamangerbert this wednesday I'm available to play the banter cup I find it interesting and we can have a pretty nice time, count on me!

Ok chess lovers see you in a next opportunity.

Separador 4.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Great post, keep it up bro! :-)

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much 😃

Una partida de ajedrez la gana el jugador que comete menos errores

Exactamente, fue una partida plagada de errores pero siempre da un poco de risa este tipo de juego... Vemos los desastres que se forman jajajaja

WARNING - The message you received from @fatherfaith is a CONFIRMED SCAM!

DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

 2 years ago  

Thanks! I'll be careful

You're welcome @vjap55. Stay safe!

BTW, I noticed I miss your witness vote 😢
Would you mind casting one to me? It would be much appreciated!

 2 years ago  

Sure 👍

Thank you. Looking forward to getting your vote 🙂⏳

Congratulations @vjap55! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Deleted

Do not click this link! Its a scam!

 2 years ago  

I know for sure. Thank you for warning me though 👍

I've just changed my upvote to downvote. Yes, if you take a closer look at the link, you know it all. Thank You!

Good! You are welcome!

 2 years ago  

I use hiveblocks to check the message without the need of clicking the link. But I realized that was a scammer instantaneously. I'm not that lucky to get those prices just like that lol