Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles ~ Inktober

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago

~ Stories Behind The Art ~


Welcome back for another installment of Inktober and Nostalgia. Last time, we had inked Garfield which you can read about and see here. As there will be in this post, i shared a bunch of links to the cartoons and holiday specials as well as deeper dive source information if you are interested in checking those out.

PngItem_1235047.png
Watch All The Original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Cartoon Episodes HERE

If you click the link above you will be taken to that awesome cartoon website where you can see all the seasons and episodes of the Ninja Turtles if you like.

Last time, i had mentioned that i would be using Red ink and that i knew what i was going to do. Well, i did it... or i'm doing in the process of doing it!

DSCN3423 (3).JPG

I went back to one of my most iconic and memorable attachments as a child to something fictional. I absolutely loved the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and it probably helped that i just so happened to be taking Taekwondo at the time that they came out.

DSCN3417 (2).JPG

The opening sequence of introduction music mixed with some pretty intense action was awesome the first time i saw it. I was too young to have experienced much in the realm of anime or comic books yet but i would later come to see the influences within the art. See for yourself!

I remember one evening a cartoon coming on which was rare. Cartoons usually came on Saturday mornings, and before and after school. Back then not many cartoons aired in the evenings unless it was a special.

The main thing i recall is that it was all just so different. Some turtles and a rat in the sewer get mutagenic ooze on them and genetically mutate into our heroes that are part human and whatever animal they were already.

The rat ends up training the young teenage turtles in the ways of the Ninja and they all learn how to adapt to their new situation. Meanwhile, an evil rises in the city that can only be handled by our Ninja Turtles! That intro explains it much better than i do.

They talked cool, had different weapons, knew martial arts, and loved pizza! What's not to love about them when you are in first grade?! hahaha I couldn't wait until the actual series would begin once i saw that pilot.

DSCN3420 (2).JPG

That special pilot episode went on to lead the Ninja Turtles into the Legendary franchise it has become today. From comics, to cartoons, with merchandise and movies galore... the TMNT have been one of the biggest pop-culture phenomenons in my lifetime. I can't see Ninja Turtles without associating them with so many awesome memories and experiences.

DSCN3424 (2).JPG

So, for my Nostalgia project that i alluded to in my last art post, i thought after rendering Garfield i should shoot for drawing the Turtles. I actually had this in mind before starting Garfield... but it took a while to decide which direction i wanted to take it. In the end, i love having selected to draw this in Red Ink with my Blue Pumpkin!

DSCN3427 (2).JPG

This design is much more complex than Garfield's, yet a bit more loose so it had it's challenges for sure! I had to summon all the Turtle Power that i could muster!


You Can Do It


~ Origins: Eastman & Laird ~

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle characters, made popular by the cartoon i mentioned already, actually had their start on the pages of an independant comic book. Well, really, in a few rough sketches even before that. You can see the first sketch of all four turtles in the next image.

image.png
The First concept sketch of all four Ninja Turtles

The characters were created by Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird, two young artists in 1984. They created the concept for the characters just joking around one night and late decided to actually make a comic with the turtles. So, they punned and spoofed other popular comics at that time and created one of their own.

After self publishing the first edition and it's unexpected success, the two created an independant comic publishing company to keep up with the supply and demand.

image.png
'Ninja Turtles Once Caused a Massive Bubble in Comics:
The Black-and-White Boom (and Bust)'

At first, in order to save money, Eastman and Laird published the comics in the much more cost effective format of black and white as opposed to color printing. The original comic took off and many other independant comics started to save money by printing in black and white as well.

image.png
First print CGC 8.0(vf) graded copies were going for more than $16,000 in 2020

The colored version of the turtles didn't hit the press until much later and it's also interesting to note that after the black and white era, the first color that the Ninja turtles had for their costumes was red. Most people know the turtles by their particular colors. But, back then they all had red masks. You could only really distinguish them from one another by their weapons or dialogue in the text.


Red Rum


~ The Hunt For Red Inktober ~

One of the cool things about the early comic books was that they were much more gritty and adult oriented. There was much more violence and other non-child friendly content in there but we have to consider... TMNT wasn't created to be the kid friendly cash cow of a franchise that it ended up becoming. It was originally just an independant comic made by adults for adults as a joke. I thought it was cool that they all wore red masks and costumes because it seemed more natural and unifying in design as a team. Speaking of red masks....

dividers-04.png

Raphael

I started out my drawing with Raphael. For one, he happened to be in the front of the design and he was also my favorite one of the characters growing up. You don't mess with Raph!

After getting familiar with the comics once i got older... i think Raphael resembles the closest representation of the original character concepts from their inception in the cartoons.

DSCN3430 (2).JPG

Raphael just seemed tougher than the others. He did have an attitude problem as well as some anger management issues but i found him to be a more realistic character.

Getting this artwork started and generating some momentum was tough. If you saw all the pages that i started you would understand. I am the type that will start over if a make a mistake. That's not a great approach when you are working with ink... hahaha.

DSCN3434 (2).JPG

To honor the original comics and the cartoon that i loved so much... i tried to subltly merge the cartoony imagery with the looser and more gritty original illustrative style.

Drawing Raphael's crouching position took a few runs before i was somewhat happy with the contours before i was willing to start the next character. In the end, i settled with this rendition.

DSCN3436 (3).JPG

I also didn't notice until after doing the art that most of my photos are not great at all. Unfortunately, they will have to suffice for now until i get out my scanner and fire that bad boy up!

I ended up having a much more difficult time with this design than i anticipated. I can tell i'm rusty but i haven't drawn Ninja Turtles since i was in school long, long ago!

I'm not completely disappointed with my work... but, i am also not fully pleased either. I know i can do better... but since it's Inktober, i already decided to be more prolific rather than perfectionist.

dividers-04.png

Leonardo

Leonardo was most people's favorite if not Michelangelo. I think everyone liked him because he had swords ( or Katanas). He was known for wearing blue and being the leader of the group. Growing up, i could see a bit of myself in each of the turtles so i had a difficult time truly selecting a most favorite.

DSCN3441 (3).JPG

Leonardo was cool but i didn't like the fact he never really cut anyone with his weapons. Now, i know why you can't show that kind of violence in cartoons but as a youngster it just felt off. The most powerful weapon was kind of neutered and that affected my view on Leonardo even though i now know it wasn't his fault.

DSCN3443 (3).JPG

Getting the lines straight for the edges of the blades was incredibly difficult. This could have been better but i didn't want to start over once i got to this point. Leonardo, in his wisdom as a leader, would have advised me to not give up... so, i didn't.


~ TurtleMania ~

Once the cartoon premiered there was absolutely no looking back. It was such a popular success from the onset. The cartoon was edgy and had a whole lot of potential. They definitely began tapping into that potential extremely early on.

Merchandising was one of the accelrants to the wildfire of interest that was growing. Once the toyline was released i think there truly was no going back at that point. You can watch a cool Netflix documentary on the story behind the toys here at this link: The Toys That Made Us: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles S3 Ep1 I highly recommend checking that episode out if you havn't seen it already.

image.pngOriginal 4 Figures

I remember being home sick from school with Chicken-Pox when i was a kid. I had a pretty hardcore case and was laid out for a week or two over it. One of my fondest memories ever was during that time of misery and suffering.

My dad came home from work one day and came in to check on me. He told me he had gotten me something to make me feel better. I always loved it when my dad got me things. He always got the coolest stuff and it was always such a surprise. Well, this was the surprise to end all future surprises.... He had brought me home all 4 of the Ninja Turtles' action figures.

My dad always paid attention to my interests and he knew how excited and interested in the Ninja Turtles that i was. I would have been happy just to have gotten one turtle. They weren't cheap toys but they weren't expensive either. We had a big family and for my dad to splurge and get me all four at once was something that i never forgot. Of course, it did set off a sibling rivalry or two... but this was well worth it!

I don't remember being sick with Chicken-Pox... i remember the time my dad got me all the Ninja Turtles. I still have them in a box somewhere tucked away!

image.png
Chronological List of TMNT Movie and TV Adaptations

It was truly official... TurtleMania was in full effect! This was a term that i think they punned from Beatlemania which was the impact the Beatles had on their fanbase. My dad probably enjoyed that since the Beatles was his favorite band.

The success of the toys and cartoon led to a live action movie. I really loved that movie. I remember the hype leading up to the premiere. I bought the comic adaptation of the movie and remember loving to rewatch the movie in my comic until we could get it on VHS. They also came out with a part 2 not too long after.

They also just rebooted the movie franchise a few years ago. I wasn't thrilled or impressed... but tbh, it could have been MUCH MUCH WORSE. Either way, if you click the link in the image above you can see a list of all the movies and cartoons in the order they were released.

dividers-04.png

It's pretty amazing how far this has all come since those early days. I remember i had saved all my money from birthday cards, Christmas cards, and chores for a long time. We were at the toystore one day with all my money in hand and i had about 30 dollars to buy something. Back then that was a lot more purchasing power than it is today. I couldn't imagine having 30 dollars to buy whatever i want and here we were.

image.pngTurtle Blimp

I had it narrowed down to two options when i was being pressed that it was time to go. It was either going to be this sweet Ninja Turtle Blimp that inflates and was one of, if not, THE COOLEST vehicles the turtles had..... or a giant evil villian named Metlar from a cartoon called Inhumanoids.

I chose Metlar because it was such a large toy. I thought it would be cool to have a giant bad guy for all my action figures to fight. I always regretted not getting the Turtle Blimp. That thing is worth a whole lot of money now. I did have one friend that had it and it was awesome!


Undercover Raph (1994) / Current Price: ~ $3000

In the cartoon, when the turtles use a disguise, oftentimes they have a hat and trenchcoat on. They ended up making an action figure of that as an alternate option. They started getting creative with the toys. More toys equals more profit so they definitely started expanding the toyline.

If you look at the action figure above... i had that one. It was one of my least favorites. Apparently, now it's worth a ton of money. That figures... 'literaly'... pun fully intended.

dividers-04.png

TurtleMania was a crazy time to be alive. They even had a concert tour! I had a couple of friends named Jeff and John. They were twin brothers that were in Boyscouts with me. We had an art contest in scouts one time and we all drew a picture of Ninja Turtles. Not to brag... but i won! hahhaa

Anyways, we were all crazy about TMNT and John and Jeff's mom bought us all tickets to go see the concert tour. It was at a mall in downtown Dallas. Only two of the four turtles were there... and we could tell they weren't the real thing... but we didn't care!


Ninja Turtle Concert Tour on Oprah

My favorite part of the TurtleMania craze were these Ninja Turtle Pies. They were fried pies coated in a green outer layer with vanilla pudding inside. They were really good. I remember having a few fieldtrips in school where you bring your own sack lunch. My mom would put one in there and it was the highlight of my fieldtrip lunches!

Ninja Turtle Pies. Fresh From The Sewers... To You!

image.png
Ninja Turtle Pies


~ Inspired ~

I can remember listening to the radio and laying on my top bunk that was decked out with Ninja Turtle sheets... i probably had on Ninja Turtle underwear, and drawing epic Ninja Turtle battle scenes. I had my comics next to me for references. It was an awesome journey making art back then.

I rememeber how much inspiration i got from the creativity of the characters and stories from the TMNT franchise. Sometimes, now, when i'm not feeling inspired i try to take myself back to this exact memory and remind myself where i came from as an artist.

dividers-04.png

Michelangelo

Now, i have to say that Michelangelo was probably most people's favorite. He was easy going, funny, and definitely never serious. Plus he wore orange and that loud color matched his loud personality. But i liked him most because he had the Nunchaku weapons like Bruce Lee!

DSCN3445.JPG

I always thought it was interesting that they chose the names of the turtles after the classic Renaissance masters. I probably wouldn't have known who they were if it weren't for the turtles.

DSCN3447 (2).JPG

When editing the photos... tried to crisp things up a little since the photography quality was so poor. It helped a little but i think the last touch of black will make things pop more!

DSCN3448 (3).JPG

dividers-04.png

Donatello

Last but not least, Donatello, the brains of this outfit. He was known for making their tech and being smart... just not street smart.

DSCN3458.JPG

It was at this point in the art i finally learned how to properly dip my pen. Well, i don't know if it's proper or not... but it sure worked much better for me. If you look at that image above you can see the red ink filling that void in my Blue Pumpkin tip.

The ink lasted so much longer and was much more consistent once i began loading the pen like that. It figures i wouldn't discover that until close to the very end of the process. Better late than never is what i always say!

DSCN3461 (2).JPG

So, now with Donatello in the mix the group has been assembled. As i said, i don't think i did it justice... but it's a nice warm up for when i actually plan out a piece.

DSCN3463 (2).JPG

I decided to go ahead and finish it off with a layer of black. Hopefully, i don't mess things up here at the very end. I haven't actually done the black yet. I have made it this far into the post without a finish.

DSCN3466 (3).JPG

I did try and edit one version without the red. I know this is the point of no return. The black ink is much older and less user friendly. Now that i actually know how to load my pen i might have to splurge on some new inks.

DSCN3469 (2).JPG

DSCN3469 (3).JPG


~ The Finish ~

Well, i managed to finish without destroying the artwork completely. In fact, i think it added a little extra something. I consider using the green ink i have but figured i would save that for my next Ninja Turtle project.

DSCN3477 (2).JPG

This is the final image. I thought it would be cool to show the colorless edit first to compare to the other black and white edit above. There is a subtle difference in the details and shading.

DSCN3474 (2).JPG

I could definitely tell the difference between the old black ink clotting up compared to the newer smooth and viscuous red ink. I did my best but i think i could have still done much better in my opinion.

DSCN3476 (2).JPG

Overall, i was happy to relive some old great memories while creating this piece. It's been fun to reminisce a little and share with you all some of my experiences. I loved the Ninja Turtles and i still do! I look forward to working on some more TMNT inspired art! More on that later. For now....


My Work Here Is Finished....

dividers-04.png

Below is the front and back cover art that inspired my desire to make this work. I really wanted to have a pose with all four that would fit on this smaller paper. I saw one image that was from the cartoon and then i saw this from the comic. Obviously, i went with the comic art!

E&Ltmnt2 (2).jpg
My INSPIRATION:
EASTMAN AND LAIRD’S TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES:
ULTIMATE BLACK & WHITE COLLECTION/THE WORKS VOL. 3


If you've never checked out the comics i would suggest getting the trade paperbacks of the originals and starting at the beginning, if you are into comic books. There's also a website that has most comics archived online in pdfs on display but i don't remember what it is. When i find it again i will share!

I want to thank you all once again for taking the time to check out my art and read a little. I am looking forward to reading your comments. I would be curious to know who you think will be next for Inktober or if you have any suggestions. I got an awesome suggest in the last post i fully intend on doing ;)

Until next time, y'all take care... and it wouldn't be a true Ninja Turtle post if i didn't say...


dividers-04.png

alien hive.jpg

Sort:  

Good job with the ink! :)

getting through the whole post, astonished about the ninja turtles...and your interesting stories just...
made me reflect a lot about the 80's when this came up on our TV too..
which makes me wonder HOW do they allow it in communist times :) it was very rare and special to bring up some western movies or music back then...

however... we were fans too! my brother... many friends :)
(i was into karate by the time btw :))
after that playing the video and computer games too...
and now my nephew is into it!
they even sent me an old laptop from Greece, where they live...
and guess what:
in D:\Games there were all the TMNT versions & I played some the other day! :D

it was interesting to know more about the original comics and story too!
Thank you! :)

First, thanks for getting through the whole post! I appreciate your time and attention. I'm glad that even where you were they had the Ninja Turtles. It's funny i was going to mention while the Berlin wall came down the Turtles were rising! I guess good art and characters transcend politics.

That's super awesome about the games on the computer. I tried playing the original for Nintendo and it's still super difficult. I think the arcade games were my favorites! They are even fun to play on computer or console.

I learned a lot about the Ninja Turtles preparing this post. I learned more than i expected to and it was interesting all over again! hahaha

Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to leave such an awesome comment!
untitled.gif

hey, look what i've found today in my birth house :)
by chance....
the artist is most probably me... by that time :D
PA160051.JPG

Pretty good bro! hahaha Looks like our art contest i mentioned in Boy Scouts! hahaha Not bad at all.

thank you! :)

Very nice! I remember when TMNT first came out. I was just a young kid and my friend came to me and was like look at this new show that is coming out. I remember thinking that was the stupidest thing I had ever heard of. Who knew it would end up blowing up so big and still be relevant close to 40 years later.

It really is crazy! I was fortunate enough to have caught it just when it came out. I think you would dig the comic book probably more than all the cartoon stuff. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It's good to see you bro!

I used to watch the cartoon. I never had any of the toys. I didn't watch the live action move at all. I actually enjoyed the cartoon, I just remember thinking at first that it was a stupid concept :)

Yes, it's usually the things that shouldn't take off that do well. Like that Ninja Turtle pie... it's slogan was 'Fresh From The Sewer... Straight To You' or something like that. I don't know how as a kid, i thought that sounded good to eat! hahaha

Hahaha

Hi my friend I also liked this series which at the time was a whole new genre of drawing. Your pen and ink drawing is very beautiful the contrast between black and red gives volume to your engraving I liked this series because the Nija side with their katana amused me. There is a photo that I also liked, the one where you take your black pen with red ink in the hollow part.

YES! I'm glad you noticed that photo with the red ink in the hollow part. That and the jar of red ink close up were my favorite photos in this post.

The Ninja part of the turtles i think is what had most people interested. Thank you for noticing the contrast between the ink colors and how that had an affect in the artwork. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. =)

Besides, the nib has a nice cutout. I used a fountain pen a long time ago. Given the rendering it gives, I would be interested in buying one. A long time ago I was painting on glass with a feather and Indian ink, then I used glicereau paint to color the empty parts. The only downside was that it couldn't have a depth effect.

I put a link to the Blue Pumpkin nip and where to purchase it cheaply on my Garfiel post! I have a post from many years ago about carving my own dip pen from a feather. You will have to scroll a while but you should go check it out on my blog.

i will look thanks

That you mention red ink is funny - I just seen this now.
Yesterday I carved my finger quite bad - I should have saved the blood, lol.
Taking prescribed blood thinners it was flowing quite profusely.
Why do I mention this? There is an artist I know that draws with his own blood, his name is Vincent Castiglia, article about him in Reuters

Vincent Castiglia

This is Sanguine drawing in its most literal form, since the color comes from red iron oxide in blood.

Sorry about your finger! I would imagine the blood thinners definitely didn't help your finger at the time. That art from Mr. Castiglia is pretty amazing. I actually did a few artworks with pen dipped in my own blood. It doesn't go down like ink but it does have a very unique color as you mentioned. Trippy hahhaa
Thanks for stopping by my friend!

.... not to mention the mess on the floor, running between the kitchen and the bathroom medicine cabinet.
I once thought of using blood for drawing, but I am notoriously needle shy, so drawing blood is not my thing. When I get injured, I can handle it though.

Most people don't realize how messy blood is. I accidentally cut myself one Christmas opening presents. I got a new knife and was using it to open some zip-ties and it ended up stabbing my thumb on the inside under the knuckle and almost popped out the other side from under my nail. It was pretty deep and i didn't want to bleed all over everything so i ran to the kitchen without telling anyone.

I was in panic mode more because i didn't want to mess up my Grandmas house than because it was possibly serious injury. hahaha The good ol days. Thankfully my sister, who was in nursing school at the time, came and did a cool trick to help me from bleeding out!

She wet down a paper towel and had me apply it with a lot of pressure. The moisture in the paper towel (i guess you could use a rag or cloth too) made it to where the blood didn't have anywhere to flow. I don't know if it would work completely if you are on the blood thinners, if there's a next time, but it couldn't hurt.
Something about drawing in blood felt wrong. Even after it was finished. And some of the looks i got when i told them that it was in blood ink were priceless!

 2 years ago  

I used to watch this everyday at lunchtime, nostalgia!!! I saw the live action movies in the theater as well!

I remember how i excited i got over all of it. Hahaha
untitled.gif

 2 years ago  

Wow. This drawing really brought back memories of my childhood. I've lost count of how long it's been since I've seen them. A perfect childhood to have breakfast one Sunday while watching them on tv. Excellent work my friend. What a good handling of this ink.

It would be fun to have on in the background while you do art... if that's possible. The link i left for the cartoon has literally ALL the cartoons on there (and almost any other cartoon you can think of). Speaking of, i may have to make a complete post just about the Nostalgia of Cereal! hahaha Can't watch cartoons on the weekend when you're a kid if you don't have a bowl of cereal! Especially in the 80s! Thanks for stopping by and i'm glad you liked the inkwork!

 2 years ago  

Hey you're right, I didn't stop to think that cereal is also part of those nostalgic memories. A nice bowl of corn flakes. Definitely want to check that out buddy. I'll stop by and check out those links thanks for sharing.

These are absolutely amazing, I wish I had your talent. I love this old school, edgy style Ninja Turtles, it brings back so many memories.

I got really lucky and managed to get a Hive Punk that I like to pretend that it's a Ninja Turtle, so when ever I need a pick me up, I can swap my avatar and go larping in chat as bad ass Ninja Turtle.

2862.png

Thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to come to check out my art! I'm glad it brought back some good memories!
That dude does look Ninja Turtle-like. hahaha I think i bought two punks back when they came out before being sold out. They weren't the best and they weren't the worst. I joined your discord also. Too bad we didn't have a Bob Ross HivePunk! hahaha

Welcome to Punk Legends!

Bob Ross is so awesome, as a kid I got so inspired by that guy that I bought an aisle, a few brushes and some paint and I tried to follow along. Now I'm not sure if it was the Cerebral Palsy or the lack of specialized tools, but my happy trees looked like they were suffering from severe depression.

If you don't mind me asking, I am curious to know if you sell a lot of NFT's? I have been trying to figure out ways to monetize my writing or my art, because I would really like to find a way to try cover some of my health expenses.

Hmmm, well... i sold a couple of NFT's when they first started on Ethereum. I now only mint at NFT Showroom here on Hive. I don't mint often so i don't sell often.. but i have made some sales and it's been nice. If you go to the Alien Art Hive Community Curation post you can go to the section with the discord links and join the NFT Showroom or Alien Art Hive discord and get set up to get whitelisted to mint and sell your art. The options are pretty wide open there!

These were my childhood heroes and I couldn't get enough of their video games for Nintendo, your drawing was great brother, congratulations, you have an enormous talent.

Thanks! Glad to help remind you of some childhood memories. I loved the games on Nintendo too! Thanks for stopping by. =)

my favorite ninja turtle, born from a slow turtle to a fast ninja, brilliant story idea in my opinion

Very impressive work. Nice details

Thanks! I appreciate you taking the time to comment.
untitled.gif

muy buen trabajo, las tortugas ninjas eran de mis series favoritas de mi infancia, te quedaron genial felicitaciones :)

Thanks! The Ninja Turtles were one of my absolute favorites as well. I appreciate you stopping by to check out my art.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you! =)

Congratulations @castleberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP