3D Learning Curve

Screenshot 2022-01-13 205247.png

My First 3D NFT

So here I was, super excited to mint my first 3D NFT, exported my .glb file in Blender and...

This is definitely not what I had made in Blender. lol
You can check out the 3D model here

Screenshot 2022-01-13 211810.png

.GLB vs Blender Shader

As you can see, this treasure chest has a gloss to it. I asked in two blender discord groups, but unfortunately no one helped. Luckily someone finally guided me in the direction I must take. Apparently the problem is that Blender has it's own shader, and those properties aren't fully saved in a .glb file. The file will be rendered differently by different game engines - in this case, the Windows 3D Object Viewer, which I guess it's also a different one to the one in Holaplex (3D model - same as above)

Anyways, I went ahead and minted it to the Solana Blockchain to see how it would look in my Desolates planet. You can go in and look for yourself. I'll probably burn this token later.

unknown5.png

DARK CHEST

As you can see something's not right here lol. I finally figured out that I had left on some of the METALLIC property on the metal, and that's why the metal is still shiny on that NFT. However, there's more tweaks to be made to this model to work.

What I found out, thanks to someone that gave me a little guidance in VFX Discord Channel, as I understood, is that there's a process called "baking", where you essentially "bake" or imprint the light into the texture that wraps around the object. So that way, when it's read back in by the engines, there's no need for other light sources, and the object has a definite look, like the one I gave it in Blender's shader.

unknown.png

Steep Learning Curve

I still have to do more research and watch more tutorials to get the hang of Blender and mint some awesome stuff like I orginally intended to. The good thing is I have gotten stuck for a while and have been trying many options and watching other tutorials and I'm getting used to Blender's interface, which can be daunting. Good thing is I have a strong drive because I'm really into it and will not back down till I have mastered at least the basics to begin my minting journey.

It's funny though, how sometimes life just puts a big wall in front of you, and you just have to learn how to climb it... or go around it. Meanwhile, I'll just keep playing with this mushroom I made to learn texture painting.

Watch Blender Mushroom Texture-Painting Tutorial in Youtube
Screenshot 2022-01-14 143619.png

Maybe that will be my second 3D NFT, or third if I mint some of those magic SOL coins I modelled for the chest. I might also have to make some HIVE coins to mint in @nftshowroom. Not sure if I can mint .glb objects there, but I could figure out a way to include it as an unlockable on an NFT.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments down below.


If you like my art, please support my Art-Life Dream

All my links: Linktree

I'm mostly active on Twitter
Please follow me there to stay up to date to my content.


Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Crafting dreams through shapes, doodles, colors, good vibes, infinite creative energy, NFTs and fun.

Sort:  

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!