Demons to some, angels to others. || Hellraiser FanArt - Pinhead

in Alien Art Hivelast month (edited)

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

Untitled design.gif

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

It took me a long time to get around to this drawing. Hellraiser - despite its rather obvious shortcomings - still stirs emotions today and has its circle of devoted fans. Clive Barker - author of 'The Hellbound Heart' - decided to put himself in the role of director. The film 'Hellraiser' was released in cinemas just one year after the publication of the book. I won't pretend to be a fan of C. Barker's writing. He doesn't thrill me with his style or his artistic choices. The film, however, brought out a depth and mysticism in the story that I could not find in the book.

The book almost flattens the subject and focuses much more on sadomasochistic inclinations than on the search for their origins. The very working title of the film 'Sadomasochists from Beyond the Grave' - shows where the whole story could have gone...

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Fortunately for the author/director as well as cinephiles - the film has a lot more to offer than just scenes of torture and the macabre. The first film does not lay all the cards on the table. Clive Barker trusts the viewer, it does not explain all the nuances. It leaves the viewer a breath, a moment to think. Something that the new films definitely lack. It leaves the audiance freedom and space for imagination.

For a 'B-movie’, the film leaves the viewer with many excellent quotes. So good that they have become iconic:

Pain? How dare you use that word. What you think of as pain, is only a shadow. Pain has a face. Allow me to show it to you....Gentlemen.....I.....am......PAIN



It is not hands that call us. It is desire.

No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.

We have such sights to show you.

I am exquisitely empty

We'll tear your soul apart!



'Demons to some, angels to others.' - Pinhead

Yes, the Cenobites( interdimensional beings trapped in the mysterious puzzle box 'Lament Cofigiuration') create an unforgettable atmosphere in the film. The lead Cenobite - now known to fans as 'Pinhead', despite not being the main character in the film - is by far the most interesting character.

Definition of the term 'cenobite' represents the member of a religious order, who lives in a monastic community.[1]
Cenobite in the Hellraiser franchise represents a member of a masochistic religious community, priest of Leviathan.[2]

source Wikipedia

Little Trivia:
The nickname 'Pinhead' was originally given to lead actor Doug Bradley by the make-up artists. Neither the lead 'Hell Priest'(Lead Cenobite) nor the author of the books were thrilled with the nickname. And yet - it stuck.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

The Cenobites were not overly vocal monsters. The music with the loud ringing of the bell, and the gloomy light perfectly conveyed the anxiety they aroused. The lines spoken mainly by Pinhead are short, poetic yet dark and cynical.

In the first film we are only introduced to the four Interdimensional Beings from 'Lament Configuration': 'The Pinhead', 'Butterball','The Chatterer', and 'The Female.' In the following films, the creators do not hold back their imagination and create not only more bizarre Cenobites but also pseudo-Cenobites.

Pseudo-Cenobites are individuals who have not been taken to Hell and placed in the Cenobite Creation Chamber to become full-fledged Cenobites. The term 'pseudo', meaning false, is a title given to 'incomplete Cenobites' who have not completed the formation process by going to Hell.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Lore has grown to as many as 10 films. I have to openly admit that I finished my Hellraiser education with film 7(Hellworld, 2005). I am not sure if I will watch the new versions, because I have to admit - I only like and highly appreciate the first two and the fourth part of the saga.

Hellraiser franchise in order of initial release:

Hellraiser1987Clive Barker
Hellbound: Hellraiser II1988Tony Randel
Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth1992Anthony Hickox
Hellraiser: Bloodline1996Kevin Yagher
Hellraiser: Inferno2000Scott Derrickson
Hellraiser: Hellseeker2002Rick Bota
Hellraiser: Deader2005Neal Marshall Stevens & Tim Day
Hellraiser: Hellworld2005Carl V. Dupré
Hellraiser: Revelations2011Victor Garcia
Hellraiser: Judgment2018Gary J. Tunnicliffe
Hellraiser2022David Bruckner

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

1_1.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_2.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_3.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_4.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_5.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_6.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_7.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_8.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_13.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_14.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_15.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_17.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_18.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_19.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_19_red.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1_19_swiecace blue.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

trypt.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

I used open source program 'Krita'

and Kamvas 13 tablet Huion

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

Animation was made in Canva

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

Drawing & pictures are my authorship if not stated otherwise.

All rights reserved @strega.azure ©

hive gold.png

Stopka-druga-proba.jpg

Sort:  

This is a fantastic piece! I love the detail in the head and costume.

Thank you very much, I am very glad you like it @mypathtofire !
Funny enough it was very difficult to find good reference photo. I end up using a picture of life-like figurine. Not very many good resolution photos out there. But again! Pretty old movie:)

Thank you for popping by!

Great images! I have never watched any of these films. I know you told me about them a short while ago and mentioned pinhead too! What a great character to draw! The films just never appealed to me lollol. I do like the look of pinhead character. He seems sad, as if his life is a product of circumstance, and he has no real control over it. That's probably way off base from what he is... it's just what I feel I sensed from your images. When you say that the animations were created in Canva, did you put drawings into canva or make digital drawings or use their new magic media AI prompt tool or what? I think they turned out fab! !LUV !ALIVE !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @strega.azure and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

strega.azure, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (9/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@strega.azure! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Hi Sam!
I used graphic tablet to draw(Huion Kamvas 13) which I've got from my brother while ago. I am using open source program 'Krita' for drawing. It is really cool tool, I would recommend it to everybody as a starting point for digital painting. Still learning and testing brushes, but I think I am getting better at it. Drawing itself is more of a pleasure now than struggle:)

I used Canva just to put all pictures of a drawing together and make clip to show the progress. I am not a big fan of AI tbh. I follow the progression of technology because I don't want to be left behind, but playing with prompts gets boring for me. I definitely prefer my pencils:)))

As for Pinhead - he is quite a character. Cynical, strong, uncompromising. He is a lead Cenobites in all means. Wouldn't call him sad but rather haughty and distant. He is an ultimate karma that never miss. That would be the very reason I like him - those who deserve punishment - are punished. Here and now:)

Very glad you like my digital drawing:) It was a struggle to find good reference photo, because first movie is from 87, so all pictures are just stack of pixels. I would love to add even more details, but I don't have a bold, 'nailed' model handy ;)

🖤

That is so cool re Krita - turned out fabulously! And you like Pinhead because he has the ability to mete out instant Karma lolol why am I not surprised?! 😜Seriously my emoticon selections these days are never what I actually selected - this emoticon board has gone batshit crazy on me. Am I the only one? There is a conspiracy haha... and the black heart... when you gonna change that colour? huh? huh? mhmm... love you! !LUV

strega.azure, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It is kind of twisted - He is send from Hell to judge people for their mischievous behaviours and rotten souls:)

I never was emoji person, not really. Only recent started to play around and looking for ones, that resonate with my character 😬🙃 those are my favourites :)

As for the blackness of the heart - black is classy and timeless! 😘

black is classy and timeless!

It's also a lot of other stuff that you shouldn't believe, so... 💖

That's some fancy heart! I will save red, juicy one for private messages:)

😅ok! I like the shift ... love the direction.

https://inleo.io/threads/strega.azure/re-strega-azure-2tjdqnrgm
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( strega.azure ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hi @strega.azure,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @strega.azure! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Congratulations @strega.azure! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

This drawing is so unique

I am glad you like it, thank you for popping by!