The Wolverine

in ArtBees3 years ago (edited)

Hello ArtBees,

It's been far too long and life has been crazy busy. Although, I am sure a lot of people can relate.

Below I would like to share one of the pieces that I had been working on and its progression through various stages of inking and watercolors. At the time of drafting this initial drawing, I was still settling on the style that I want for this particular set of postcards. I am really happy with how this one turned out. I will most likely carry on using this combination for the rest of the cards in this series.

This is the Gulo Gulo or at least the skull of one. In life, he was the gluttonous glutton or more commonly referred to as the wolverine.

An animal that I admire greatly making them an easy subject to focus my art on. I could go into detail about all the various traits that make wolverines special. This post would end up being a small research paper by the end of it and not at all about what we are all here for. I don't think any of us wants that. So instead, I will carry on and share my art.

Step1.png

Initial sketch set. Here we go! Watercolors initiated!

Previously, I did a different variant of this piece with a bear skull and amethyst. I had experimented with hard lines and stippling. This ended up giving the piece a comic book vibe. While it was nice having some solid black lines in the design in the end, it wasn't the aesthetic I was going for.

I also forgot to take a progression photo after I finished the black watercolor for the background. Truth be told I was listening to music, got in a groove. I didn't notice till I was almost done with the crystals before I snapped the next shot.

Step2.png

For a while, I have been wanting to use this peacock blue for a crystal color. I had used it as the background wash in a few other pieces but never really spent the time with it that I wanted. Combined with the fact that this is a beast of the north, I felt that it was deserving of a blue homage. Looking back an icy blue might have been a better choice but the time I was set on this color.

Step3.png

Once the crystals were complete, I was able to turn my focus on the skull. This is one of the most rewarding parts of the whole process. At least in my opinion. Seeing the dots slowly bring shadows and depth to the skull is very satisfying.

Step4.png

Step5.png

Step6.png

Step7.png

Here I had decided to make some adjustments to the bone around the eye socket. It felt much too thick so I thinned it up which meant having to fix parts of the crystal.

final.png

Doodler Tools:
-Micron 02pt
-ShinHan Water Color
-Staedtler 2H Led

If you're into learning about wilderness or the perspective of an individual who has hands-on experience with these incredible creatures there is a great book I stumbled on years ago, ' The Wolverine Way' by Douglas Chadwick. This author not only recounts his time spent with the Glacier Wolverine Project but also shares some of his hands-on encounters with wild wolverines and some of the incredible data they were able to collect off the specimens they were working to protect.

Also: If you are an artist on hive searching for a place to share your art with other artists, consider joining and getting to know the art bees community! I have not spent nearly as much time as I should in the discord but there are lovely people in there that are very friendly and welcoming. If you wanna talk about art or are looking to make friends you should join their community.

Sort:  

Good job remembering to take pictures to begin with XD I can barely remember to take screenies working digitally.

Love the blue crystals! And watching depth emerge however you end up doing it is pretty satisfying XD Haven't done that inky dotting method since high school, I do remember that being particularly satisfying :)

Haha, thank you 😃. That can definitely be one of the hardest parts. I can only imagine what you deal with when you're using intricate programs like blender and get into "the zone".

Thank you! The pigment really does all the work itself. Such a lovely color. I love me some "inky dotting"- helps me zen after a busy day. I wish I would have learned about it in high school. Although I probably still wouldn't have appreciated it at the time.

I remember to do screenies if I know I'm blogging (so basically on specific days). Otherwise Blender stuff just gets done and Krita stuff I tend to just show the layer buildup XD

It's a really nice pigment O_O I know buggerall about watercolours except for they seem to be notoriously hard to mix/blend and somer brands/pigments are more vibrant than others ^_^;

stuff just gets done and Krita stuff I tend to just show the layer buildup

Had no clue what Krita was had to look it up! It kinda looks like a friendlier photoshop for drawing?

It's a really nice pigment O_O I know buggerall about watercolours except for they seem to be notoriously hard to mix/blend and somer brands/pigments are more vibrant than others ^_^;

That sounds accurate to meee, lol. I am still learning about the colors. I have certainly "painted myself into a corner"😅 before by mixing color, running out of said color, then being unable to replicate it.

Sure that description of Krita works XD I started using it because its brush engine felt a hell of a lot nicer than Gimp. It's not at Artrage level for emulating analogue media but if you like free and good at what it does it basically costs you a bit of time to try out and see if you like it.

LoL oh no! When I was playing with paints I remember I used to mix an excessive amount of colour specifically to avoid that problem and then would have a lot of wasted paint x_x

Ohh I am a huge fan of things that are both "free and good"! Definitely a tool I will look into adding to my arsenal for when I have more time to mess with it. Thank you for the insight!

Lol one day we will hit that sweet spot when mixing paint and it will be awesome! Like finding a unicorn or something. Till then the solution to my problem it seems shall be - wasting paint. 😋

So good! But you knew that already :D
#pointilize

Thank you! So kind! 😃

Looks great, the water color media is something I am aversive with but awe at people who can get used to it so well. It's that elementary art kit that gives me Vietnam. Flash backs whenever I try to recall painting.

Probably a first to see pointilism is used with water color and it gives an odd feel to the overall work in a good way.

Thank you that is very kind. 😊

I stare at beautiful watercolor works with huge ole googly eyes. Admiring artists, their skill, and how freaking easy they made it look. I am not on their level, but with practice and werk, werk, werk I will paint, pretty, pretty, things.

Tangential: Tattoo artists that do watercolor style tattoos. Much wow.

Did your little art kits have the WORST paintbrush ever? The little plastic one with bristles of equally terrible plastic quality? They were terrible.

I am glad that it's in a "good way". Haha.

Did your little art kits have the WORST paintbrush ever? The little plastic one with bristles of equally terrible plastic quality? They were terrible.

This is so accurate I want to redo my childhood for just this moment.

Tangential: Tattoo artists that do watercolor style tattoos. Much wow.

I'm amazed at this too. Totally a different field and years of training. You know they did it for a long time when the strokes to render an image can be done in minutes.

🤣 Thinking back, I guess youths aren't exactly the nicest with things that aren't theirs and they probably saved the schools some money on replacement brushes. (Putting your childhood painting memories in a little glass half full)

untitled.gif

I'm amazed at this too. Totally a different field and years of training. You know they did it for a long time when the strokes to render an image can be done in minutes.

That is so true! Reminds me of that "How to Draw an Owl" Tutorial sometimes. You blink and they have a full image. To take something that looks so free-flowing and manage to utilize something as controlled as tattooing to be able to display it. I want one - someday!

Congratulations @huzzah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!