Loose lips sink ships.


blackboard.png

"Stay back a moment Trudy," her teacher’s voice stopped short the little girl’s dash for the door as bells knelled classes to a close.
"Is everything ok at home dear?" Ms. Donnelly enquired as Trudy stood before her, eyes fixed firmly on her feet.
An image of her mother lying crumpled on the floor, felled by her father’s fist, nylons torn and knees bleeding, flashed through Trudy’s mind as tell the truth and shame the devil, vied briefly with what goes on at home stays at home, with the latter claiming victory as she replied, "Yes Miss," unable to meet the teacher’s gaze lest she reveal the turmoil raging inside her.
But Ms.Donnelly was not so easily deflected.‘ "Look at me when I’m speaking to you child," she instructed firmly but not unkindly. And already at the tender age of 7 well practiced in the art of evasion and knowing grown-ups were not to be trusted, Trudy raised her head.
"Yes Miss," she repeated. "Sorry, Miss." "And I won’t catch my bus if I don’t run’." As the teacher nodded her assent, Trudy bolted for the door.

.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.
Posted in response to @mariannewest's five-minute freewrite
The prompt is BLEEDING
The image is my own

Sort:  

Straight to the point there.
A very bleak story indeed for miss Trudy🤕

Grown-ups were never to he trusted.

Glad to see a kid knowing the truth😕

An old head on young shoulders! Thanks for the visit.

knowing grown-ups were not to be trusted

🙁

The trap is closed tightly around the child, with no escape.

You do strike a chord

You do strike a chord

If this was not so, I don't think you could have written this

The trap is closed tightly around the child, with no escape.

Thanks, as always, for your kind support.

It reminds me of what my mom always says "don't air your dirty laundry outside." Knowing fully well that the truth most likely would not set her free but open her to a world of chaos, she chooses to remain silent instead. Facing her demons alone. Self-destructive but understood.🌷

I couldn't have said it better myself!:) Thanks for the visit.

A sad insight into the true lives of many who have to live such horrors.

It really an amazing Quote, It teaches us, we should speak very wisely that the words came out of our mouth doesn't hurt any one.

Honesty is not always the best policy. Thanks for the comment.

Oh that is very bleak. Very. I wonder how often this happens in a school. I know when I was a teacher I was sometimes very concerned.

I like the "bells knelled classes to a close." That's some freewrite magic there.

I was taken aside in junior school by a teacher who was always kind to me but of course, I didn't tell.
Thanks for the support. It is always appreciated.

I'm so happy you are back! I love your stories.

hey did I ask you if you would like 2 more hsbi for participating in my wewrite? would you? I could also give 1 hive if you prefer.

You're very kind but I wasn't expecting a reward. Besides, my little story earned me quite a bundle and I wouldn't have written it only for you so I think my compensation has been quite sufficient. But again, thank you.

Congratulations @deirdyweirdy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal