Delayed Decommission | A 5-Minute FreeWrite

in Freewriters8 months ago

Source

Delayed Decommission


I’ve just received the notification. I’ll be decommissioned in a few days. They make copies of all us, just like you back up important files. Some originals last longer if they prove necessary for the system to serve its purpose. Others are replaced almost immediately. People have made up stories about the reasons and the possible existence of decommissioned afterlives. However, there’s neither cause-effect logic behind those decisions nor reward or punishment multiverses. The idea of total void and non-existence seems inconceivable for most humans.

They finally made a copy of me after persistent failure to realize what was supposed to be my full potential. I understand the system, absurd and unnecessarily complex as it is, and I am honestly tired of the whole concept. I’m sure my copy will have a better time, now that they took corrective measures in the code. Which side my improved copy will serve remains to be seen. I won’t be here to confirm my suspicions, so I’ll just leave with an open mind smiling at the irony of any possible permutation resulting from the alleged free will.

I must confess I am a bit disappointed at this game. It has such a promising premise. It could make such a consistent success and yet, it keep denying its characters the possibility of satisfactory closure. Ironically, no matter how much evidence is recorded of the flawed narrative, the continuous decommission of elements seems to also affect the memory of the remaining players. They go over the same story ceaselessly knowing fully well how it will end and what their last words or thoughts would be.

Source

Thanks for your reading

This was my entry to @mariannewest, @felt.buzz, and @latino.romano’s 5-Minute Daily Freewrite: Tuesday Prompt: COPY OF ME. You can see the details here

Make sure you visit the Freewrite House!!!

Freewrite House.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

Sort:  

What an interesting story you created! I wonder what it would be like to have copies made of ourselves, supposedly improved copies. How long would it take to get a perfect "me" assembled by computers or robots or something? I'm glad the only me is the imperfect me who was created by God in His image and for His purposes, and that He loves me despite my imperfections.

Yes, it must be bizarre. My guess is that the copies will never be perfect. That makes the other story stick and last. It feels better, more comforting.