My Five Minutes of Free Writing #92 / pen knife

image.png

Source

The culture and history of small towns is fascinating. From the culture of small towns I really like those picturesque characters that are well known in each place for their charisma, their way of speaking, the economic activity they carry out for years or for the deep-rooted customs they show.

Whatever the case may be, this type of people are always very loved by most people, besides being well known by the people of their village, they usually transcend borders and people who visit the villages make their story known in other places, becoming these people icons of the region.

In my town lives a character named Knife, his name is Pedro but they call him Knife because of the song by Ruben Blades, Knife all his life has worked the land or at least since I know him, he distributes his crops himself to the community on a faithful bicycle carrying a basket in front of him.

In the village everyone knows him, because besides being a farmer faithful to his work he drinks a lot of liquor and honestly I do not know how he combines both activities because when he starts to drink he invests several days in this.

The truth is that Knife is a very well liked guy in the community, because of the way he treats people with much affection and even when he is drunk he never loses his sanity, he does not offend anyone, he treats people with much respect, something truly surprising since alcohol tends to disinhibit people and many in that condition offend or make mistakes unconsciously or consciously.

This character as I said is known throughout the town, besides being respected and appreciated,Knife is my friend, he recently moved very close to my house and every time he passes in front of my house we greet each other, but when he is drunk then is when he has many more signs of affection and respect towards me.

Just like this character from my town there are many throughout the length and breadth of our American continent, people very dear to everyone and even when they cease to exist they will always be remembered for all the history they lived, they are the kind of people that when you meet them end up marking you in some way.

Let me know what you think!