Boring

in Freewriters3 years ago

O#### Ever since I entered motherhood, I forgot about how boring felt like despite the extra busyness at home. Days were so packed, sometimes, you didn't even have time to poop, and you would not have a chance to sit there to ponder on boringness. And I wish I can feel bored again. When house is always filled with noise, and you have unending housechores, it is quite a 'meaningful' life. However, no way do I mean boring life equals to not meaningful life. Don't get me wrong.

img_0.49215982886088483.jpg

Self-drawn boring art, haha.

Honestly, I think children can relate more with being boring. Or being bored. Arggh! I can't believe it, that as an adult, I still confused with the usage of boring and bores. I studied it before and now I kind of forget about it. Like for some people, the usage of lend and borrow. Oh well, life is full of activities after activities in the thoughts of children. Once they have 5 minutes of no activity, "Mummy, so boring."

"You can help me fold clothes if you have nothing to do."

Turns out to them, feeling bored doesn't mean nothing to do. They just need a fun-packed activities. Instead of helping to fold clothes, they find ways to play with the pile of clothes. Putting briefs on face, imagining a new kind of superheroes. Putting my bras on their head saying they are mutated Minnie Noise.

I totally envy children. Well, I had been there before. Life is so interesting back then. When we were bored, we went outside without any fear of danger. We went to the drain to catch tadpoles. We walked to the nearby isle 'jungle' to find dragonflies and butterflies and ladybugs. We found different types of flowers and tried to eat them if they had any nectar. Never a boring life for us. Some of our friends climb trees. Poke the coconuts. So many fun activities in the nature. But children nowadays, if not all, boring equals the desire to watch videos or play video games. Impostor who?

Last year and this year's pandemic caused life filled with boringness in some ways. We couldn't go out. We couldn't travel. We stay at home.

And continue to...

Stay at home.

And then I realised, I contradicted myself.. I did feel what a boring life. Yet, kept reminding self that we were surviving a pandemic. Good job on us. Well done. You know what boring life caused me? A lot of online shopping. Haha. I developed new hobby of browsing through alot of interesting items, added them into the cart, and then deleting them after deep pondering and realised I didn't need those items. What a waste of my time.

img_0.7501226406067247.jpg

Boring

Do you feel bored reading this?

20200721_002850.gif

iw3z5idqf5.png

image

This is another 5-minute freewrite using daily prompt by @mariannewest. You can check her out. I love freewrite because anything goes, no right or wrong, but having fun writing your thoughts or story. If you want to know more about 5-minute freewrite, click here.. Join us as at the @freewritehouse

❤️Love from me❤️
hg4oqe.gif

Sort:  

The different definitions to boredom always got to me. What you write is kind of funny, so busy yeah, too busy to be bored.


Yeah, you can be bored as in having nothing to do. One example might be if you're at a bus stop waiting for the bus. You can be bored waiting.


The other boredom is when you are folding clothes like you said, you can feel bored or you can be bored in the sense of being absent of activities.


I guess those are the two main types of boredom, that it is either to be or to feel bored. I was never bored as a kid, so I can't really relate or perhaps I used different words to describe my emotions, moods, my feelings.


I never liked it when people asked me I was bored. I think I am choosing to learn how to better respond to questions I don't like with a funny answer maybe. I always found the question, "Are you bored?" to be a boring question haha.


When people asked me if I was bored, I would think, how can anybody be bored ever? But that doesn't mean I am never disappointed, that doesn't mean I am never wishing I could be doing something else, it doesn't mean I always enjoy every second of my life.


Overall, talking about being bored is a funny thing to talk about now. If you asked me are you bored now, I might say something like, "Oh, yeah, I was pretty bored like so bored until I saw your post about boards, I mean bores, I mean boredom ahahaha."


Or, "Yes, I used to be bored but then I joined Hive Blog and all my boredness went down the drain to Boring Land with all the other Boring Things and Boring People."

It's difficult to get bored while one is raising children. Life may seem monotonous at times, but rarely truly boring.

Hi iamjadeline,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @iamjadeline! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 130000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 135000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP