Burn the Shelf - 5 Minute Freewrite

“Thérèse” is a song by Maya Hawke. This song does not have anything to do with my poem, but her melodic voice and soft rhythm helped me to write it.

Source

Standing in front of it, thinking…
Looking at them, observing…
There was a time when we were happy.

I watch you smile
in agonizing silence,
knowing that they're only
memories in this shelf…

You look happy in them,
more than me now.
I can see the dust accumulating.

The apartment feels cold,
and I just want to burn it to the ground.
It's tactless from myself,
but to erase it is erasing you.

Thank you.


This was my entry to @mariannewest 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday Prompt: Shelf.
You can join too…
See the details here.

Sort:  

Hi @itsjunevelasquez, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thanks for your support.