One Boot and Airport (2 freewrite stories)

in Freewriters4 years ago

Freewrite 1 (Prompt: One Boot)

4449736_M.jpg

"I think I've only got one boot with me."

"You're going to have to borrow a pair."

"I can't."

"What do you mean you can't?"

"I have to wear them. They're my special boots. We haven't lost a game since I've been wearing them."

"What are you going to do?"

"I don't know. There's no way I'm going to get them here for the game. I'll have to ask the boss if I can have a spare pair."

"Where did you leave it?"

"I'm not sure. I'll have to ring the wife."

A few minutes later.

"I left them in the house. She said that she may be able to get them to me."

"That's very nice, but I doubt she will get them here in time for kick off. Maybe for the second half, if you're lucky."

"Yes, you're right. I'll have to wear a borrowed pair."

"This is a big game, my friend. You need to be focused, whichever pair of boots you are wearing. You are going to have to leave any superstition behind you. Can you do that?"

"I'm a professional."

"That's reassuring. Maybe that's why you're one of the best in the world, if not the best."

"Thank you, I care more about us getting all 3 points."

"A model professional."

"Thank you."

"A model professional, who's forgotten their boots."

"Hahaha, yes."

"The boss might say; in my day, you wouldn't have played if you forget your boots."

"Thank you for reminding me."

"In fact, maybe you shouldn't play the match."

"It's a big game. We could clinch the title today."

"But you forgot your boots."

"I forgot one boot."

"You may as well forgot them both. Can you play with one boot?"

"No, I suppose not. What a nightmare."

"What if we lose today? This will haunt you for the rest of your life."

"I'm professional. I'll still play a perfect game."

"But, if you had the choice, it would be better if this was a nightmare. You could wake up now with both boots in your bag."

"Is it?"

"Is it, what?"

"Is this a nightmare? Can I wake up now?"

"No. You really forgot your boots "

"In that case, I'm going to have to be super professional."

"A professional who's forgotten their boots."

3024154_M.jpg

Freewrite 2 (Prompt: Airport)

1341954_M.jpg

"I'm off to the airport."

"Are you going somewhere nice?"

"Kind of."

"What do you mean, kind of?"

"I'm going to the other side of the city."

"Then why are you going to the airport?"

"I can get a connecting bus and avoid all the traffic. It will be quicker than going through the main part of the city."

"Really?"

"Yes. It is much quicker and nicer. Because I'm travelling around the outskirts of the city, I get to see things I wouldn't usually see."

"What like?"

"I see lots of villas being built. I get to see some desert land. The area by the airport is very green. It is nice to see a different part of life, not just tall towers and bright lights."

"I think I'll try it."

"It's funny. A lot of people think I'm always going on the bus to fly."

"What actually are you doing?"

"I'm going to the driving school. I'm learning to drive."

"How is that going?"

"It's ok, but I'm not really passionate about it. I really like the bus journey."

4283020_M.jpg

Freewrite reflections

It's amazing, I write these stories and can have lots of plot ideas in my head. Then, as I continue, the story's main plot has completely changed.

With the 'One Boot,' freewrite, the wife was going to have delivered the boot for the second half. How does this change the game? Perhaps, not the most original plot.

But, I don't even get there. The story finishes before the game even begins. Then, I realise that the audience will never know how the game actually went.

Sometimes, I don't have a clue what to write about, but I write anyway. These can often turn out to be the best stories.

Thank you for reading

Freewrite exercises, prompts by @mariannewest

All pictures from Pixabay

Whilst I'm on school summer holiday, I'm trying to do all the prompts. I had a bit of a catch up yesterday. You can read them here.

Freewrite catch-up 1
Not Writing About Fireflies (story freewrite catch up 1)

Freewrite catch-up 2
The Colourful Robot (freewrite catch up 2)

Freewrite catch-up 3
Closing the School (freewrite catch up 3)

Sort:  

Isn't that the truth. I often set out with an idea in mind and never get to it - and if I try to force the original thought into the story, it often doesn't go well.

Yes, we must have a catalogue of "deleted scenes."

As for killing a good story, over editing can do just that. I only do very minimal now.