5 minute freewrite Monday prompt skater

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Monday prompt skater hosted by @mariannewest

Today was a long hard day for nothing. I picked up the pigfish traps that I set yesterday, out of the offshore line and inshore line, I never caught a pigfish. In the middle line, I caught 18.

I put all of the traps in the boat and ran to the south side of Barefoot Bay island, I baited 10 and put them in the river. Then I went north of Barefoot Bay island and baited and set the other ten.

I decided to fish with the 18 bait while the traps were set, so I went to the west end of Bird-Shit island and fished the tip of the sandbar. I caught 5 jacks. I wanted the traps to sit longer so I went exploring on Bird-Shit.
I picked the traps up and never caught a fish of any kind in them.

I went back to where I caught the 18 and made a long line there, then took the rest south of Cat island and left them for 1 and 1/2 hours, I caught 1.

I put all the traps in the boat and was going to take them home but I saw a grassy area so I threw them all in the grass. I will run them in the morning.

image.png
I do not know if this is a baby bird that fell out of the nest or a full-grown one, it has not been dead for long. It was so sad to see it laying there.

image.png
These are a type of conch eggs. Many years ago I brought a string of them up on my fishing line. I put them in a bucket with an aerator and they hatched. They are born with their little shells attached.

image.png
Aren't these barnacles beautiful?
image.png
These are mangrove roots. When I was a child I played on these but they were much taller than these are. I did not get to go to the skating rink like my older sibling got to do so I had to create things to play with. My oldest sister was a skater but one day she fell and broke her arm. For Dad, that was it. None of us were allowed to go skating. Dad was like that, if one of us got hurt, he did away with the thing that hurt us.

We had a swingset and the older kids were jumping off the back of the slide. The sister that is 2 years younger than me jumped and split her forehead open. Dad had by oldest brother put the swingset in his boat and haul it out to the middle of what we called the muddy water. For years, there it sat with all 4 legs sticking up from the water.

Sort:  

This was another fascinating story ... from the islands to your father's approach to safety ... the realism and strangeness and yet a deep, challenging logic...

I messed up and put my story to my story instead of the freewrite page. I could not figure out how to delete it. Anyway, thank you for your comment and for liking my island adventures and my Dad's strange way of protecting us.

Pigfish! It exists!
Years ago a toddler at our house looked askance at our dinner. What was this stuff? (It was pork.) He likes fish but not much else. "It's pigfish," my husband said. The kid ate it. He liked it. He liked it so much, he asked his dad to buy some, and his dad was desperately asking the butcher about pigfish... the mother finally phoned us for details... (no they had no religious ban on pork! That was a different neighbor boy who couldn't eat marshmallows as they contain pork. Who knew.)

Your dad....!

Dad was like that, if one of us got hurt, he did away with the thing that hurt us.

I cannot imagine hauling a swingset in a boat and dumping it - "For years, there it sat with all 4 legs sticking up from the water." What an image!!! What a protective father. He would make a great character in a fairy tale. I'm thinking of how all spinning wheels with needles were confiscated to protect Cinderella, and we know how effective that was.

Childhood is dangerous. Life is dangerous. How safe has your dad kept his children.... you don't have to tell me, but he certainly captivates me. :)

LOL to the pigfish, most kids do not like fish, I am a fisherman and one daughter refuses to this day to eat it.... We were raised at one of the most dangerous places for children, on an inlet with fierce tides. We swam in it every day. Plus within walking distance of the ocean. I can not count the number of rip-tides I have been caught in. And he thought skating and a swingset were dangerous.

And he thought skating and a swingset were dangerous. - Is the laugh emoji inappopriate here?
Rip-tides. My husband's co-worker, during a family vacation, got swept away in one. What a terrible time to die. What a terrible end to a vacation.
What a great childhood - on the beach, fishing, swimming. I love your photos and posts. You work harder than any woman I know, in harder conditions!

How terrible for your husband's co-worker to have it happen while on vacation, my heart hurts for his family.... I did have a great childhood and yes, I work damn hard and wonder if it will ever get any easier. But it keeps me strong.

!BEER

@eii thank you


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.