Making bread

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181915_LI.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Friday prompt sourdough hosted by @mariannewest

Years ago my husband took an interest in making sourdough bread. He kept a small amount of the dough in a bowl with a towel over it on top of the refrigerator, this was his starter. To make the starter he mixes flour and water when it bubbles and grows bigger it is ready to use. But to keep the starter he has to feed it with more flour and water. It is an interesting process.

He has now for the last 6 months renewed his interest in making it. He is also making his own beer, which I must say has come out tasting good. But I am not really a beer drinker. One day I saw him throwing away the yeast from his beer-making and asked if the yeast would be ok for making bread. He did not know but googled it and found a site that talked about a bread factory that opened next to a brewery because they could get the used yeast. He started making bread with it. I think it has a flavor similar to sourdough.
He made some damn fine hard seltzer, now that I like. He bought MOI for flavoring water and puts it in the seltzer to give it different flavors.