Muscadines and scuppernongs

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)


grapes-690230_640.jpg

These are two varieties of wild grapes that grow in the south. I can never remember which is which.

One is such a deep purple that they are black. The other is golden but closer to brown.

They have way more flavor than any store-bought grape I've ever had.

Some people have them on trellises in their yards, but they grow everywhere - fence lines, trees, power lines...

I wouldn't suggest trying to pick them off the power lines. You might get more than you bargained for.

I tried to make wine once with the purple ones. It didn't go well. My bottle exploded in the middle of the night because I accidentally tightened the lid instead of leaving it on loosely.

I spent the whole next day with a stream cleaner trying to remove the evidence.


3b1d81e5-6230-4ddb-8bdc-27668dc4cfd3.jpg

5 minute freewrite prompt purple
Image by Free-Photos

Sort:  

Interesting, I learned something new about grapes today! 😃😃 i hope you were able to successfully make wine 😉👍🏼


Made in Canva

@thisisawesome Moderator


This post is AWESOME!

It will therefore get a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome (will be done today), for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Freewrite, we give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today’s Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Posted using Dapplr

I have. They are incredibly sweet, so the wine is never dry. The alcohol kills the yeast before it can all be converted.