You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Belong: a poem.

I shut down my FB in 2016 and never ever had Instagram, TikTok. Twitter is there just to share Hive content. And Youtube, well, that's my nemesis -- at the same time I know too much time goes into seeing useless videos, the platform still is an amazing source of knowledge. The first weeks without FB were cruel: nobody contacting me, no party invitations, no checking likes on that cool photo. Many contacts disappeared from my life, those who were not close friends but friends of friends whom I saw occasionally. Some of my real friends also disappeared; a handful stayed close by.

I'm grateful for my friends, and at the same time, I get the distinct feeling that nothing would change if I disappeared. That no one would really care.

I'm still waiting for some of my friends to call.. they won't, so I swallow my pride and call them. It is the way it is. It's more important for me that I care for ppl than having those yearly fake happy birthday messages from ppl I don't even know.

Btw, have you ever seen The Social Dilemma?

btw2, don't feel lonely, I still have a crush on you

Sort:  

Ha! You're so sweet. I admire your commitment to getting rid of FB.

Yes, I've seen the Social Dilemma. Great movie. I use FB for community contacts where I live, and am pretty good about not spending a lot of time there. I also need it professionally as an author, otherwise I'd torch my account. At least I'm aware of how it works, and can make decisions with that in mind.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment! I hope you have a wonderful rest of your week.

That's my dilemma =/
I know social medias would help me a ton as an author/cyclist/traveler, though I don't feel like using them. What should I do? Damn.

How are your book sales? Bombing it or nah? I threw mine on Amazon hoping for the best and failed \o\

Book sales are modest, to say the least. Marketing is hard.

Yis, marketing kills me =/
I guess I won't become the next Jack Kerouac 🤣