THE NAME "TECH BRO" IS NOT AN EASY NAME TO BE CALLED

in STEMGeeks β€’ last year (edited)

E1D10247-DAAF-41B3-8DF7-CEFB58FECAEB.jpeg

π–£π–Ύπ—Œπ—‚π—€π—‡π–Ύπ–½ π—Žπ—Œπ—‚π—‡π—€ 𝖼𝖺𝗇𝗏𝖺


For the past week and a half, I've been frustrated, brain-drained, and preoccupied with figuring out how to solve an Exam-project from an Online Tech Training School. I am studying Cloud/DevOps Engineering at school, and we have covered topics such as Linux Management, Bascripting, IP address, Cron Tab, and Ansible (which is the last topic for this semester before moving to the next semester).

The project entailed deploying a Laravel site on any Cloud Provider of our choosing. I used Digital Ocean to complete the first project, but when I tried to complete the second project, I couldn't figure out why I was having problems SSHing into the droplet from my native machine. I had no choice but to try an AWS EC2 instance, which worked flawlessly for me.

I assumed that deploying the Laravel project with Ansible would be simple. I couldn't sleep because I was up for hours trying to figure things out. I spent a lot of time watching YouTube tutorials and even tried asking some of my friends for help, but it turns out that most of them were just as confused as I was, and the ones who I thought knew how to solve the exam project were stingy in explaining it to others.

To not bore you with everything I've explained in the first few paragraphs, all I've been trying to drive home is that being a TECH BRO isn't just by word of mouth because I can imagine what most of these developers would have gone through before being called developers.

In reality, becoming a developer or eventually entering TECH, particularly those involving any form of programming, means embarking on a journey of frustration. A journey that many people begin, with only a small percentage remaining on the journey while the majority drops out.

If you haven't noticed, I haven't been able to write on my blog because it is difficult to think when your mind is clouded by what could be wrong with your code; that was my situation. I now understand why there aren't as many developers writing on Hive.

Writing technical articles is also not the easiest task. They require a significant amount of time to complete and should not be rushed. This is why the majority of these techies would rather share their articles with some tech companies that pay up to $250 per article.

Now that the exam is over, and I was unable to finish my project, I'm wondering how things will end. I'm hoping to be able to start the next semester without being kicked out, but even if that doesn't happen, learning never stops.


WHO IS STARSTRINGS01


image.png
Designed by @ grisvisa

Starstrings01, also known as Giftedhands, attends the Federal University of Agriculture in Abeokuta to study Mechatronics Engineering. He is a lover of the hive, a guitarist from Nigeria, and a student.

His ambition on Hive is to be more than just an ordinary blogger; he wants to be someone with a purpose. That's why he started the newbies initiative @newbies-hive to help guide and support newbies. Please follow the @newbies-hive curation trail by clicking here.

He tries to juggle education with being active on the chain, but his love and passion for Hive keep him on track..


All images are mine except indicated otherwise
All gifs included are powered by Tenor


54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT IT WITH YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG πŸ˜‡πŸ’•

Sort: Β 

It is not easy at all. Most people can’t even deal with it. Even with the few courses I have taken, I know how hard it can be, tech people deserve a whole different respect.

It is a pity that you were not able to finish your project.You won’t get kicked out by God’s grace. Because your effort and consistency is a lot.

Yeah. I noticed you have not been writing but take your time to relax. Your fans are always here with you.

Kudos.. to all tech bro! I wish you successful outcome.

I remember that I was good at programming in high school, but when I finished it, I didn't do it like a job for exactly those reasons that you have listed... I know that I can do it, but I also know myself, which means that when I would hit that "coding wall", I couldn't sleep, talk, or take a break until I solve it! And that is a huge problem... Personal life suffers, and family, friends, and you...
Being a coder is a hard job and you have to create a mentality to disconnect immediately when you get up from that computer chair... :)


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Unlike you though, that "coding wall" is my favoriteπŸ˜‚ I would say, I am adrenaline junkie and I think that those thing really gets me. I don't have that many friends and family also most of them also understand when I am going days without sleeping/talking/being social so that's why I want to get back into that scene again. Since now, I feel like I am lack of some thrills and adrenaline in my life. I am currently getting back to python and it took me hours to solve simple stuff but I am so happy when I did it.

hehehehe... Don't get me wrong, I like challenges... :) They can be a great source of motivation and I like to dare myself with some huge ones... But, programming would be a constant challenge, changing from task to task, and that creates great stress (at least, for me)... Also, that moves the focus from one thing to another, very fast, which is again one of the things that aren't in my "vocabulary"... πŸ˜‚

I have a couple of good (childhood) friends who are programmers and I truly admire them for their discipline and skills... But, after 15-20 years in coding, they have learned to disconnect, which is the only way you can keep your sanity... lol... I suppose that that comes with getting older and getting older sucks... 😜

Good luck with Python!

I agree on getting older sucks, suddenly there are more responsibilities and sometimes time just goes by quickly. I think it's why I see a lot of older programmers and dev who work remotely too because again, it's really nice when they can code during the day and have some fun on the weekend at the beach or the clubs. But starting out, I guess, a better environment would be needed than the beach side co-working space. Cheers!

Shit, I thought I had replied you.. The message didn't send then.

That coding wall is like a point when you hit a particular problem or bug you are trying to solve which needs thinking and research. The thrill is nice but gets frustrating when it gets too difficult to solve. It gets detrimental to one's personal health if not careful.

As a result of their illustrious name, Tech Bro, people usually treat them with respect.
Because of stress and workloads that interfere with getting enough sleep, a career in technology can provide health risks if you're not careful.

Most tech men work excessive hours and don't have time for their loved ones. Their leisure time is limited.
Being a tech bro is an excellent job; it's similar to being a soldier on the front lines of battle.

Congratulations on the completion of your exam bro and I wish you the strength and courage to finish the course successfully!!!

Most tech men work excessive hours and don't have time for their loved ones. Their leisure time is limited.

Funny thing is that one of the reasons why I went into tech is to have time for my future family, since I would be working remotely. I know I may be busy but having my presence around them is better than being far away from them. (That's what I think)...

a career in technology can provide health risks if you're not careful.

Bro this is very true.. If one is not careful and not taking enough rest, the person can break down oh. I can relate.

You are very right bro, without tech guys we shall be suffering from analogue stuff πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

I can picture what's going on with you on this project. I have known that all these programming course isn't an easy peasy task, but you are doing your best. I hope you scale through in all these πŸ‘. Just as you stated, learning never ends... keep pushing, it will definitely worth it at the end.
Grace!!!

Yeah. it would definitely be worth it in the end, by God's grace. Thanks for helping make things easy for me...

It's a pleasure 😘

I have always loved anything programming-related right from secondary school. I wanted to learn programming even if it was MBBS I applied for in Jamb. I used to opportunity I had during the strike to start with C++. I had a super hard time until someone recommend I start with Java. Although it was relatively easier than c++ it wasn't as I expected. I spent about three month learning Java but it felt like I haven't done anything in those three months before the calling off despite putting my all into it.
No be beans at all. Hats off to all developers out there!

Omoor guy! hats off to all developers out there because the journey on its own is not easy. They must have gone through a challenging learning phase to have known all they know.

So what is your plan towards those languages you are learning?... Do you have any field in particular you want to venture into.

It is indeed very challenging. They deserve every good thing they get from their skills.

I started programming actually just for the fun of it and because a friend, who was in a healthy competition with started.
Right now I have front-end developing on my mind.

You just spoke my mind bro. I don't know if I read it correctly... as a digital creator, I'm often tagged as slow because am always thinking; How will they feel when they read this, or what would happen if it looks this way, or something is missing here I don't know what it is; and I spend so much time trying to make something at least close to perfect.
And then when people see it they appreciate it and still think you probably did it at the snap of a finger.
Only a fellow tech bro would understand the demons you fight in your head to get something done.

Congratulations @starstrings01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record