Camping Chronicles: A Night to Remember at Lake Veloso

in Pinmapple8 months ago (edited)

First times are a universal part of our lives that we all go through, and as an enthusiast of novel experiences, I'm driven to embrace and amplify the excitement that comes with them. I firmly believe that these kind of moments are the most enduring, allowing me to uncover new discoveries, connect with new people, and gain valuable life insights.


And now, let me take you to my first-ever outdoor camping experience with people, half of whom I had just met.

WHERE TO GO?

During the last week of July, @mariasalve asked me and @katiemeow if we wanted to join their camping trip on the 12th and 13th of August at Lake Veloso, San Fernando. Without hesitation, we immediately said yes. Since it was our first time participating in such an activity, we had numerous questions, such as the distance, the duration of the walk to the lake, the cost of transportation, the food arrangements, what items to bring, and more. I hope she wasn't irritated. Thank you for your patience, @mariasalve . Hahahaha

Moving forward to August 12th, I had all my things ready. Our meeting place was at the South Bus Terminal at 1pm. Due to heavy rain, we got stranded for awhile. Heavy traffic added to our delay, and we finally arrived in Naga at 5pm. From there, we hopped on motorbikes and had a 20-minute hike before we reached Lake Veloso. Setting up our tents was a bit tricky as we weren't sure where to pitch because of the cow pats.

As we started preparing our food, some more of @mariasalve 's friends arrived. At first, I felt a bit shy since it was my first time meeting them, but they turned out to be welcoming and outgoing, making it easy for me to blend in. Our food preparation took quite a while and was quite amusing. We didn't have a proper knife, which resulted in my friend, Spencer, accidentally cutting his finger. The burners were broken, so we had to continue cooking over a wood fire, and the guys had to search for wood in the dark. Once everything was ready, we set up everything in the center of our tents, where the social gathering also took place.

The Socials...

Photo from Bon

We had dinner and enjoyed a few drinks with laughter in between. They asked us, the newbies, to introduce ourselves. After a while, @iamcjestrada appeared with a cake, and everyone sang a "Happy Birthday" song. I joined in singing, even though I didn't know whose birthdays we were celebrating. It turned out to be a double birthday celebration for Kuya Junji and @ybanezkim26 . We continued talking about silly things and sharing scary stories, unaware that @katiemeow was silently scared at the time. She only told me about it when we were inside the tent before going to sleep. HAHAHAHAHA

The night grew darker, and everyone decided to rest, retreating to their tents. @katiemeow and I shared a tent, so once inside, we had a chat and, you know, some 'chismis' time (chismis means gossip). I thought everyone was going to sleep, but moments later, someone started talking again behind our tent. They continued their 'chismis,' and later on, I heard them discussing some scientific explanations for certain things. Hahahahah

MORNING AT THE LAKE

As the sunrise painted the sky, two sleepy newbies remained inside their tent (that's me and @katiemeow ), while everyone else bustled outside, preparing breakfast, taking pictures, gathering firewood, and simply enjoying the morning view. I had a restful night's sleep, and I'm sure @katiemeow did too (as you can see in the picture hahaha). After freshening up, I headed to Ate Salve and Kuya James, who were busy cooking. I grabbed a cup of coffee and then returned to our tent to wake up Ate Kim. We had our breakfast a little later.


We snapped solo pictures, and I even used my empty mug as a prop, pretending to savor coffee while soaking in the view (all for the sake of Instagram hehe). We also created some TikTok videos; Gento dance and Dati-rati dance. When the motorbike drivers arrived, we kindly asked one of them to capture a group photo of us before leaving the place.

Leaving the lakeside after a night of joyful camping was a wistful moment. I will cherish the memories of laughter by the serene lake, both with the people I just met and those who were already close to me. It was a short but sweet escape, leaving us eager for future one or more-night camping adventures by the water's edge.


I'm bursting with excitement about what lies ahead! The anticipation is mounting, and I'm genuinely looking forward to sharing every moment of my next adventures with all of you.

Thank you for reading, Hiveans!

Sort:  

I had a similar experience in 2016 when I randomly met people whom I ended up camping with for the first time. That, along with the memory created by you, are some things that will always remain in our heads and soul because it's the genuine experience that will never be forgotten :)

I agree with you, @gabrielatravels . Events like this is something we would never forget because of the bond and the beautiful place🤍

Exactly 💯

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wao is beautiful lake and good company

Exactly! Thank you @osita21 ☺️

These occasions possess a unique quality that lingers in our memories, enabling us to unveil new perspectives, forge connections with unfamiliar faces, and acquire profound insights that enrich our lives.

I couldn't agree more, @ilmaffeiano78 . Such occasions truly make life more colorful.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Glad you had fun sa imong first ever camping experience. Sa sunod napod dana.

Thank you kaayo ninyo, ya @kev.incredible . Hehe Sunod napod puhon kay picturan nasad tika hahaha

Hopefully wla rka natagam sa among kabanha hahahaha

Way tagam2, usban pa Hahahaha

I enjoyed your post, I could tell you guys had massive fun. I haven't had the opportunity of going on an outdoor camping exercise, I hope I get the chance to soon, seeing as it's really a fun experience.

Yes, you should try this kind of activities @fredaa , it is so fun especially when you're with happy and outgoing people.

Cheers to more camping and hiking with you guyss! Major sad puhon! Hehe

Yes yes ate, major soon!🤞

I thoroughly enjoyed your post! The care and excitement you put into detailing your first camping experience provided readers with a magical journey. I'm eagerly looking forward to your future posts.

Thank you @larissalugo , I appreciate that. I really wanted to detail the happenings there so that the readers would really feel that they are in the place while reading, also, I can just read my blog again if I want to reminisce in the future.

AAAAHHH How I wish to go on adventures like this. This reminded me of my friends who really made their vacation worth it by camping and hiking 3 mountains while me? Hibernating in my room! HAHAHAHA!

You should try @itsmeelii . I promise you, it would be really worth it😊

I willll, soonesstt hehehe.

What a great time over there!! You are a lot! Im sure you spent an amazing camping experience! And the place is very beautiful. Thanks a lot for sharing!!

We indeed had a great time!
Thank you @belug 🤍

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honourable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1978.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for this, @pinmapple !

Congratulations @danahnatalie! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final

Thank you so much, @hivebuzz !

We're happy to recognize your achievements on Hive. Thank you for being a part of the community and for creating valuable content. Keep up the great work!

BTW, our funding proposal needs your support to continue bringing badges and entertainment to Hive. Please consider supporting it.
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Done with this @hivebuzz ..Thank you!

Thank you for your support @danahnatalie, much appreciated! ❤️

Congratulations @danahnatalie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final

Very good. Excellent.