Loch Raven ~ After The Snow

in Pinmapple3 years ago

I've been to Loch Raven Reservoir in Baltimore County, Maryland many times as I live not too far away from it. However, I've never been there after a snowfall so, today, I'll be showing off some photos that I took there after a snowfall that we had last week.

haveyoubeenhere21420211ok.jpg

What is also interesting is that this and a small snowfall that we had a few days prior was the first significant snowfall that we've had here in almost three years. That is not normal but the last two years we just narrowly escaped the snowy weather systems that came our way. To be honest, I'm not complaining though! 😉

haveyoubeenhere21420212okb.jpg

haveyoubeenhere21420213ok.jpg

There are two dams at Loch Raven Reservoir but the older and smaller dam which we approach first is obscured by trees and plant overgrowth and I usually can't get a very good photo of it but here is a photo that I was able to get looking back at it.

haveyoubeenhere21420214ok.jpg

This is the larger dam which has some overgrowth also but is not as obscured by it. You can also see quite a bit of ice on the water here.

haveyoubeenhere21420215ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere21420216ok.jpg

The overgrowth at the larger dam gets worse as you drive up to it but there is a window of opportunity to get a few good photos of it without having to park and walk down to it. When we don't park and walk down then at some point I'll just be clicking away with my camera just after the overgrowth and hope that I get a couple of good photos. There sure was a lot of water flowing over the dams on this visit!

haveyoubeenhere21420217ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere21420218ok.jpg

My photos are from much of the span of Loch Raven Reservoir along Loch Raven Drive and were all taken from the vehicle I was riding in (both moving and parked). This span is between Cromwell Bridge Road and Morgan Mill Road. My photos were also all taken with my phone camera as this was not a planned excursion but I'm happy with how they came out and hope you enjoy seeing them.

haveyoubeenhere21420219ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202110ok.jpg

Additionally, I had my window open for most of these and it was cold and windy so I still got snowed on a little. Totally worth it!

haveyoubeenhere214202111ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202112ok.jpg

This snow was a mixture of wet yet a fluffy consistency so it clung nicely to the branches of trees and shrubs yet the wind was able to carry it up, at times, into snowy clouds in front of us as well.

haveyoubeenhere214202113ok.jpg

One of the most awesome things that my husband and I saw, that I wasn't able to photograph, was a Bald Eagle. It was gracefully gliding over the water right over this bridge. There was just no way to stop but I was overjoyed with seeing it. One person did stop briefly on the road which is not a good idea as the road has some winding to it. It is not a safe thing to do but, luckily, there is a speed limit so other cars weren't going too fast and slowed down. We saw it on the way back and my window was on the far side so I did get to see it but, as noted above, I was unable to photograph it. I probably wouldn't have been able to get a good photo with my phone camera anyway. This was the first time that I can remember seeing a Bald Eagle here but my husband says that we have before. What can I say ... I have a worsening memory problem. I wouldn't mind quite so much if I could forget some of the "bad" memories ... lol.

haveyoubeenhere214202114ok.jpg

I put this little gif together from photos I snapped up to the bridge. It took me a lot of time yesterday to put it together in a nice looking way and I even added music to it just to find out that I couldn't find a way to upload it. So, I made a giphy account today and put it together again minus the music.

Hope you liked it even without the music?! Here are a couple of photos where the wind was blowing the snow and making big clouds of white misty snow. It was also looking even more cloudy in the skies as another weather system was coming in that night.

haveyoubeenhere214202115ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202116ok.jpg

I could've gotten out here but I didn't. Not only because it was cold and windy but the day before I did go on a walk and it was also in some snow and ice. I was pretty worn out and sore from that so I was not up for another trek in the snow so soon.

haveyoubeenhere214202117ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202118ok.jpg

It was just as pretty to see from a warm vehicle even if I did, occasionally, get some snow in my face from my open window.

haveyoubeenhere214202119ok.jpg

The trees looked especially pretty with snow on them!

haveyoubeenhere214202120ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202121ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202122ok.jpg

In this next photo you can see the little island in the background. I wasn't trying to get it in my photo but I'm glad I did. It also looked like the water was a little higher than usual.

haveyoubeenhere214202123ok.jpg

I only snapped a few more photos before we headed back over the bridge again to leave.

haveyoubeenhere214202124ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202125ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202126ok.jpg

All of the following photos were taken on the way out and while the truck was moving. We couldn't go too slow as there was a car behind us but we didn't go too fast either. Once the car that had practically stopped to see the Bald Eagle saw us coming up on him he sped up and continued on. We saw him stopped and knew why so my husband had already slowed down as did the car in back of us.

haveyoubeenhere214202127aok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202127bok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202128ok.jpg

So, you might see a bit more blur in the last few photos but don't worry I discarded the worst of them. Here, it doesn't look like much snow on the ground but I think that is because there are a lot of trees that kept it from hitting the ground. The snow didn't stay long on the streets either which is a good thing.

haveyoubeenhere214202129ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202130ok.jpg

This brings me to the end of my post and last photos. Hope you enjoyed seeing Loch Raven after the snow! ❄️

haveyoubeenhere214202131ok.jpg

haveyoubeenhere214202132ok.jpg

Thank you to everyone @haveyoubeenhere!!
Thank you @c0ff33a for #sublimesunday!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 44 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11

Nature is unusually beautiful in winter. A real winter fairy tale! We too have had snowfalls and frosts for three weeks now.

Thank you @cryptoaeneas! Yes, I think so too. This snowfall was just enough to make a pretty scenery but not cause too many problems with traffic. We are suppose to get some ice soon but I'm hoping we get lucky and miss that one. 😏

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple!! 🙂

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1115.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much @ybanezkim26 and @pinmapple Team!! 💖

You're welcome! I'm in awe by those snowy photos! 🤩

Congratulations @deerjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

Thanks @hivebuzz!! 😊

Your photos are great. I love snow landscapes. Looks fabulous!

Thanks so much @ssygmr!! 💖

You’re welcome! ☺️

Dang nothing like a nice fresh coat of snow it's always so beautiful.

Thank you very much @bitcoinflood!! I totally agree and I was happy to make that excursion before it was completely gone. Usually we get a lot of snow here in Maryland but the last two years we just narrowly escaped it where I live in Baltimore County. 🙂

Nice photos

Thank you very much @stefano-massari!! 💖

All i am seeing this afternoon is snow scene posts, making me jealous. It is almost like the grass is greener on the other side - here i am in hot sunny thailand which for snow and cold weather but i know after a weekend of the bitter cold i would want the sun again lol

Hi @thinkit and thank you!! I know exactly how you feel. We usually experience all the seasons here. My favorites are Spring and Autumn (both too short) since I don't care for extreme cold or hot. I would probably miss Summer and Winter after a while though..lol. 💖

what a great photos what a beautiful place!!

Thanks so much @formulaccs!! 💖

Wow! Cool shots!

Thank you very much @domgreg!! 🙂

Wow Dee that’s quite a snowfall in the Loch Raven Reservoir. It looks like what we have right now. Snow does make the landscape look magical.

These are great shots and love the gif.

Tip

Thanks so much Jo!! I'm glad I was able to visit one of the parks while there was still some snow there. 🙂💞

Brave out there in this nasty

Thanks! On this trip I took all photos from the vehicle. The day before I walked the trail at Conwingo..that pretty much wore me out. 🙂

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks so much @kohsamui99!! Guess what? They did come out looking like I did them in b&w but it was just from the lack of color available..lol. I'm happy I got out there when I did though as I've always wanted to visit when there was some snow on the ground. It has since gotten too cold to even think about going outside..brrr 😊

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment