Hiking the Pyrenees: to Sorteny National Park

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

20220621_144829~2.jpg

After seeing the mountain pass and lake Tristaina from above, we continued our way on down the mountain to Sorteny National Park, our next destination for the day.

20220621_143333~2.jpg

We travelled over patches of snow that had been hanging on since winter,

20220621_144401~2.jpg

and rocky terrain that was slowly becoming more and more green and lush as we made our way down the mountain.

20220621_144156~2.jpg

It was still day one of our Pyrenees hike in Andorra but we covered a lot of ground each day of the trip so we were able to see many different landmark destinations along the way.

20220621_144422~2.jpg

We headed towards the opposite side of the series of lakes that we had previously been viewing the whole time from above.

20220621_145759~2.jpg

The lakes were set in a sort of bowl that was surrounded by mountains on three sides and the trail moved around it from a little ways above.

20220621_145807~2.jpg

We were still following the yellow trail markers at this point,

20220621_143933~2.jpg

but the path itself was more clearly defined, which kept us on track and really made things easier.

20220621_144952~2.jpg

20220621_144813~2.jpg

You could make it out clearly from a distance

20220621_145844~2.jpg

and see it snaking it's way around the lake and into the valley.

20220621_145535~2.jpg

Streams of glacier runoff criss-crossed the hilly rocky terrain

20220621_145138~2.jpg

and patches of pink flowers grew in clumpy strips across the landscape.

20220621_145816~2.jpg

Eventually we passed lake Tristaina.

20220621_150955~2.jpg

It was the smallest of the three mountain lakes that were connected by streams in a series.

Screenshot_20221205_184838_Maps.jpg

The landscape immediately after the lakes was very lush and green,

20220621_153435~2.jpg

which was accented by the sun that had finally decided to make an appearance in the late afternoon.

20220621_151610~2.jpg

The stream was quite large at this point and the area was particularly beautiful.

20220621_151541~2.jpg

In fact, it was my favorite spot of that particular day.

20220621_151548~2.jpg

The stream sort of rages on a little here and then drops off steeply down the mountain.

20220621_151526~2.jpg
20220621_151703~2.jpg

We were heading in that direction so we made a point of following alongside the water.

image.jpg

You might remember this next photo from my Behind the Scenes post.

PXL_20220621_152617339~2.jpg

Here's a new one of me though.

PXL_20220621_152424410~2.jpg

From this point on things sort of began to take a turn for us that day. I mentioned in my previous post that my friend had stitched two separate trails together to get us to our refuge on the mountain. Well somewhere in this area is where the first trail ended and the next one began.

20220621_161200~2.jpg

We ended up walking down a big portion of the mountain, only to discover that we had lost the trail and that it was somewhere way above us. We turned around and went back up, which for me was absolutely exhausting by that point.

20220621_145002~2.jpg

My friend was in better shape than I was so he was actually okay, but I was getting increasingly more nauseous as the day progressed.

20220621_155827~2.jpg

I thought that it was lactic acid build up, which it might have been, but I think it was also partially the altitude. We were hiking around 2200-2400 meters, not too too high really, but perhaps high enough to have an increasing effect on me the longer we stayed at it.

20220621_164218~2.jpg

I almost threw up at least twice from that point and remained feeling sick and miserable until we went to bed that evening.

20220621_163940~2.jpg

The sickness was made worse by the fact that my water was stored in a new bladder in my backpack, which I had filled up the night before at home before going on the train. Sitting in the bladder for around 24 hours had allowed the water to absorb a lot of the plastic flavor from the bladder itself. By that point it had tasted like strong plastic tea and it made me gag every time that I took a sip of it. I tried to avoid drinking altogether but I was also incredibly thirsty from the exertion of hiking up hill so I couldn't help but drink a few sips every now and again. The effect was that is only increased my nausea.

20220621_163935~2.jpg

It was getting a bit miserable for me and we were still a long way to go to our refuge.

20220621_164457~2.jpg

In hindsight I wish that I would have bought a UV water pen for the trip, which could disinfect water found in the nearby streams. I would recommend looking into such devices for any multiday hikes in the mountains. I wasn't aware of it until it was mentioned by other hikers at our refuge, but it would have been super handy to have that day.

20220621_164542~2.jpg

It was around this point that the weather began to turn on us as well. The sky grew dark and ominous and we could feel a few raindrops begin to fall. I quickly put on the rainproof poncho that I brought for just such an occasion.

20220621_164549~2.jpg

Here I am in the poncho looking like a strange dinosaur, bent over walking up a massive hill with my backpack on.

PXL_20220621_172657680~2.jpg

The rain poured on us relentlessly for the remaining hours of our hike. It was very hard to take any more photos that day because we were absolutely soaked from head to foot.

PXL_20220621_173135410~2.jpg

The poncho did help, but we hiked for about 3-4 hours in the downpour. There was really no escaping getting drenched.

PXL_20220621_171653633~2.jpg

What made the hike so brutal (for me at least) was that we were constantly going downhill for long stretches, only to turn around and head right back up another massive hill. All that while being soaked to the bone, exhausted and trying not to throw up from the nausea. The up and downs were really killer to me. We also kept losing the trail and having to re-find it. I feel bad for my friend because I doubt that I would have been pleasant company.

PXL_20220621_185025044~2.jpg

I was impressed that he managed to keep finding the trail and guide us all the way to our refuge though. He did an excellent job at that and pushing on while staying positive. I was also impressed that we had cell phone reception and even data for the entire time that we were on the mountain. I guess its because Andorra is a small country and people do a lot of hiking there. They probably only need a few well placed cell phone towers to provide coverage for the entire country.

PXL_20220621_190902207~2.jpg

Anyway, after about 8 hours of hiking up and down the mountain that day we finally made it to our refuge around 7pm or so. It truly was a sight for sore eyes for me. I walked in like I was half dead, still fighting back my nausea but ultimately relieved that we had finally made it.

PXL_20220621_191857462~2.jpg

Well thats it for now. If you are interested in hearing more about our Andorra hike in the Pyrenees then stay tuned, there's more to come. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Sounds like it was quite an adventure!😆

It could have been dehydration that made you struggle as well, but that up and down massive hills would kill me!

Yes, it's amazing that you had an internet signal.

I noticed that it's just the Welcome sign that's in dual language. So I guess an English speaker would get super excited only to start hiking and realise that they can't read any of the signs 😅

Oh, I would still be smiling with the little ponies though. I love them. I wish a had 2 of them in my backyard. I think they're so cute:)))

Yeah you're right that I might have been a bit dehydrated as well. That's a definite possibility.

Most people spoke English in the country from what we could tell. Along with French and I believe Catalan. Probably because it's mostly tourists from around the world that go there to ski and hike.

Yeah the horses were nice and very friendly. They approached us when we walked by them.

Oh, I zoomed in just now... So they are big horses!?
Well, I love cute ponies, AND I stay as far away from horses as possible. Horses do random things, and I have seen a horse kick a bride-to-be in the face, out of the blue... I think you can imagine the drama of that...
#FunnyButNotFunny 😶

Yeah they were full sized horses but they had some young ones with them that were smaller as well.
I can't imagine getting kicked in the head by a horse.

It happens man!

untitled.gif

See, horses are unpredictable! They love you and leave kick you!
untitled.gif

I think horses are a little bit crazy! Or maybe I just don't understand their language 🤣

untitled.gif

Haha yeah they are a little crazy I suppose 😆

Wow, what a gorgeous hike! The rain does sound pretty bad and for so many hours. I also liked how your friend had a nice bright jacket so you could see him on the trail in front of you.

Yes the bright colored shirt was awesome for photos. In the future I will always try and wear a bright color while hiking because it makes the photos so much better. Bright orange or pink would be best I think.

My favorite traveling jacket is bright pink so I am all set!

Nice! That's a great color for showing up in photos.

Jealous… what a stunning place @leaky20 😎🤓 the scenery… just everything. Even the rain…
Lost of climbing for sure. I can imagine you didn’t feel well. Maybe it was a combination of a few things. The height, dehydration, up and down.., very challenging.
Good you made it all safe.
Thanks for sharing with us. Beautiful photographs 😊

Yeah you're probably right about it being from several different factors all building on each other. I felt better the next day so that was good

That’s good to hear the next day was better 🤓
Have a great Thursday @leaky20

Thanks you as well 😁

Thanks 👋🏻😊

What a beautiful location and a great story! Thank you for sharing!

You're welcome. I'm glad you liked it. 👍

Hayst. This makes me want to hike with or without a buddy. I just want to see the mountain..
It's pretty up there

Mountains are so beautiful. They're my favorite

UV water pen for the trip, which could disinfect water found in the nearby streams.

I was thinking of this too. Aww, I just can feel how sick you were because of the altitude by just reading your blog. Andorra is such a beautiful country!

Yeah a UV filter would have been good to have.

The country is very beautiful. Any place with mountains tends to be.

beautiful..😍
i wana go there right now!

It is very beautiful. Worth a trip for sure

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for the support 😁👍

Amazing nature!

😁👍


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jijisaurart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear @leaky20,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1722.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

What a beautiful hike ! I never went in the Pyrénées, even I'm French, but your report makes me want to go there sometime ! What great views with those mountain peaks and those pink and purple bushes, beautiful!

Thank you for this beautiful discovery, can't wait to see what happens next 😉