Exploring Tugu Historical Landmark of Yogyakarta

in Pinmapple3 years ago

The Special Mundane Things In Life

It was around three in the afternoon when I felt like I wanted to explore Tugu, a historical place and a landmark of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. I have been passing through this place for so many times, and a few times in a month but since I never really consider myself a tourist in this city, the idea never crossed my mind until a few days ago when I wondered if I really knew this place and this city.

IMG_20211007_191214.jpg

image.png

So, right after fetching my laptop, I went back home and told my friend to come with me exploring this area. My friend is a native of this city yet like me, she only crosses this place and never really explores it. With both of us having no expectations, we went to this place.We don’t know what is the actual appeal for this place.

Is it because this place is the City’s landmark, or is it because they know the history behind it, or is it because this place is just a nice hangout place during the night. And through this exploration, I finally understand the appeal of it and I will take you exploring it with me.

IMG_20211007_175951.jpg
Tugu, not only becomes one of a pride of this city, it is also an icon of Yogyakarta. In many tourist advertisements, this landmark is often included. Hence why, whenever there is a picture of this place, it is easy to guess which city is being advertised.

Located in the intersection of a busy road, this landmark is also a pointer for people who pass by in this city. There is a unique local culture where people like to mention, north, south, east and west to give directions. For an outsider, this might be difficult and even myself when I first arrived in this city. I am used to thinking about the road and the area but after a few years in this place, I have become used to it. The south refers to the area that will lead us to the beach, the north to the mountain, west to the Borobudur and east to the Prambanan temple.

This landmark itself was built around 1755 by the first sultan of Yogyakarta. According to local history, it was meant to be an imaginary line that connects the south ocean and the mountain. These two places are considered sacred in a city that still respects and upholds its ancient beliefs. This is another appeal of the city, where things are as magical as Bali, the most touristic place in Indonesia. And obviously, this city has its own way to captivate you.

Unfortunately, after the 1867 earthquake, this landmark was renovated by the dutch government and they gave it another shape, different from its original shape. Then, it was again renovated by the sultanate to give it a new touch with additional gold in 2012. Like many other historical landmarks in this city, this building is a witness to so many facets of life, from the lives of the people, colonialism, even the wrath of nature. Yet, after all that it has been through, this monument stood still, timeless. And perhaps why, this is part of the appeals from this landmark.

image.png

IMG_20211007_175923.jpg

Since this is located in the middle of an intersection, some part of it is secured by some traffic cones. If you like adrenaline thrills, you can get closer to the landmark and take pictures. I will not say that it is 100% safe but you can do that because there is a fine line between the road and the small area encompassing this landmark. In recent years, the old stores around the city are now turned into vintage cafes and even some cafes with the view of this place. There is also another monument next to it and some vintage stores. And just a few metres from this landmark hotel and the vibrant nightlife awaits. A railway station is only 25 minutes from this landmark too. So, this is something that you should never miss while visiting this city.

image.png

To give me a better experience of this place, I visited one of the most hyped restaurants in this area. This place is called Kebon ndalem Coffee & eatery. It is strategically located just next to Tugu and offers the view of the lively street of Tugu area and the visitors who are taking pictures just in front of the landmark.

IMG_20211007_190433.jpg

front picture of Kebon Ndalem

On the way to this place, I was warned by my grab driver, “ the place uses viral marketing. Do not expect that the food will taste good nor the service”. Earlier, I already checked the review on google and it didn’t seem like it had a good service. But hey, I wanted to see this landmark during the night, with people rushing to their home passing through something they think “mundane” yet actually is special.

As soon as we got into this eatery, my friend and I were greeted by the staff. I wanted the seat outside, where I hoped to dine in with the landmark view. Unfortunately, the seats were reserved. So, we were seated inside but I still could see the landmark from the window. We visited this place when the sky was clear. I was hoping that it would be a starry night, but well, I can settle with the lumination from the cars and the motorbikes.

IMG_20211007_185605.jpg

In this restaurant, many people were taking selfies with the landmark background. To be honest, this place is so strategic, especially if you like taking selfies.

My friend and I went outside a couple of times to take pictures. I was also taking pictures of my friend since she wanted to capture that moment. Oh yeah, after not taking a selfie, I am taking a selfie though it was rather a blurry one.

image.png

After that, we ordered our food. The food, like I was warned, was quite mediocre. It was priced quite as expensive as a gourmet restaurant in town. Be prepared to spend at least 3-4$/person in this place

IMG_20211007_181031.jpg

Obviously, there are snacks options but do not expect that the price would match up the taste in this place. My friend ordered a tuna sandwich and I ordered cordon bleu. It was nothing like a cordon bleu I know. It was something that I often made at home, stuffed chicken with cheese and a bit of beef. My friend also said the tuna sandwich tasted quite odd with the filling consisting more of the cheese than the tuna. Just to be safe while visiting the place, I would recommend only ordering smaller snacks and the drinks. At the end of this post, I will let you know a better place to hang out and actually taste a gourmet meal at a fair price.

image.png

IMG_20211007_190452.jpg

After eating out inside that place, we went to check out the nearby area from the landmark. As we crossed the avenue, there were people taking pictures in front of it. Sometimes, we have to stand aside as the car and cycle are coming into our way. And like I mentioned earlier, if you like a bit of adrenaline rush, this is the place. I was close to some cars and motorbikes when I wanted to take a picture. Interestingly, one of the cars wasn’t even slowing down!

IMG_20211007_190423.jpg
giving you a picture how close it was for me with the motorbikes and the cars *

image.png

)

After we got some pictures, we walked further south. From the start of the road to the south, it's a one way road filled with Angkringan, which is the road-side eatery that you shouldn’t miss while visiting this place. In Angkringan, you get to see the local culture and feel the warmth of the people in this city. Almost everyone in this place is welcoming. While eating, you will be entertained by street performers and even beggars. And in my previous post, I wrote a recommendation of where to eat if you want a good pizza. So, go check it out DAILY FOOD BLOG #12: Unexpected Pizza Find . And if you really like coffee, in one of these angkringan, you can also find activated charcoal coffee, where the coffee is served by putting a somewhat fiery charcoal that has its own story too. Anyhow, That pizza place and also kopi arang, as the locals call it, will complete your exploration in this Tugu. And now, I somewhat understand the appeal of this place.

image.png

If I were to put myself in the tourist shoes, this area is rather unique, vibrant, and overall has a nice vibe to spend the evening with your family and friends. Not only that, it’s obviously fitting for the next update of your social media account. Though you may not know the whole history behind this landmark, you can appreciate its timeless beauty and the one-of-a-kind night experience in this area. Even what I attempted to describe, is not enough to convey that this place has its own magnetic that pulls you there. So, the next time you’re finding yourself in this part of the world, do not forget to check out this area.

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

Isn't is funny how often we take for granted the awesomeness of the place we see every day? Nice of the cab driver to give you a heads up about the viral marketing. And now I'm craving coffee - I've never tried that activated charcoal things, but it sounds like it would be pretty amazing. Thanks for sharing your home-tourist adventure, @macchiata! 😊

Yeah and like someone could live just a few minutes away from a UNESCO world heritage and it'll become just a regular place. One of my parents live nearby such thing and for them, it is something normal but for me, and so many people who likes to travel, that place is a must visit 🤣 there are so many awesome places around us that sometimes becomes normal because, "it's there". The charcoal coffee thing is so bitter and quite peculiar, for fun, I'd definitely recommend anyone to try but maybe just once 😅

LOL! I hear that. I grew up in a tourist town (Gloucester, Massachusetts) and it wasn't until the summer after my first year of college, when I started working for a local museum, that I actually started checking out all the places I was telling tourists to visit!😂

And peculiar coffee definitely sounds like fun to try... once... 😄

Yogyakarta is a nice place! Was there many years ago to visit the majestic temples like Borobudur and Prambanan. Also went to the Jomblang cave!

Honestly, I've never been to Jomblang cave, mainly cause I have no friends going there with me :D

It was quite an adventure for me! You can find the Jomblang cave pictures on Google too! ;)

oh, I passed the road couple of times but just never got to be there. And I've seen a lot pictures of that 😄 from the banners and my colleagues who has been there.

Interesting, it seems Yogyakarta has changed a lot since my last visit. Thank you for sharing.

When was your last visit? I came back again to this city about 3 months ago as I like to spend 6 months there, 6 months somewhere else from the last 4 years. Each time I come back, there's always something new to discover!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

All the pictures you show look absolutely stunning. Thank you for sharing

3-4$, I can't even get a Coffee for that money... You really live in a different sphere of reality.

hahahahaha yes! the cheapest coffee I have tried was 0.3$ ! and even in cafe, coffee is 2-3$ at most.

Well, 3$ for a Coffee would be 2.59€ - fairly cheap for a coffee in Europe. You would expect it to be To-Go and from a discount shop. I can see how people can get coffee addicted for 0.3$ a shot, that's cheaper than water.