365 days ago I was heading to Leicester, UK (PART 1)

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Camille Forbush

Listening to some calming acoustic music on Spotify, and this sweet little melody Bahia Dream by Reynaldo Delgado comes on. It takes me back to a beautiful rendition of You're Too Good to be True, that was performed inside my waiting gate at Incheon Airport in South Korea, exactly one year ago today!
incheon 3_edited.jpg

Unusual, but I'm enjoying it immensely and thinking this is too good to be true!

My trip from Cebu to London via Seoul, not the quickest, or common route, but a great last minute deal from Asiana Airlines (and the most hassle free, smooth flights, with exceptional food that I've experienced).
_8270010_edited.jpg

Mactan-Cebu stretch was pretty straightforward and I'm happy I gave myself added time of 3 hours check-in, because I was surprised at how many passengers were already waiting for my flight in the lounge...
_8270014_edited.jpg

Incheon Airport to Heathrow Airport
flight distance_edited.jpg
Onboard screen display!


Several hours and a day later, sleepily I wrote this email to Gill, my mother-in-law:

Hello Gill,
I arrived safely this morning after long flights. Everything was super efficient with Asiana Airlines and the flight arrived early.
However, I was delayed getting to Leicester because my reserved National Express Coach for 20:15 did not show up, and the next scheduled bus for 21:30 was 20 mins late. Didn't reach to Leicester till after 01:00 AM.
My body clock is completely out of whack, but I'll be fine by tomorrow and I'm looking forward to seeing you.
Gonna get a sim card now, so I'll text you my number.
In touch with you soon!
Love,
Camille

_8300043_edited.jpg

...Affectionately called "General Gill"...who happens to love Gin!...
Always keep Gill in the loop! ALWAYS!

N.B. Gill has earned the right to live her days on cruise ships, so she is either  on a cruise, going on a cruise, or just back from a cruise. Here, she is on a short break from packing her bags to go off on a     cruise early in the morning...hence the reason she's my number 1 prior to visit.

Hooraaaaay! I'm in Leicester, one of my favourite cities in the UK, stretching and relaxing in Gill's beautiful garden.

_8300037_edited 2.jpg
_8300029_edited.jpg


Leicester is one of the oldest cities in England, located in the East Midlands of the country, close to the cities of Birmingham and Nottingham. Leicester has many notable landmarks and attractions such as The National Space Centre, Abbey Park and Abbey Pumping Station, Leicester Market, and some beautifully manicured and well kept parks. Leicester City is also known for its unpredictable winning success in football, and a history of industrial innovations, just to name a few.

Personally, what I like most about Leicester is the diversity in culture, which means that there's a wide range of imports of international foods and supplies from regions such as the Caribbean, Asia and Africa. I also like the layout of the town, and the logistics for walking and experiencing the city's contrast of country canalways and modern cityscapes in the town centre.


An Agenda of Things To Do In Leicester

With no return date finalised for my trip back to Cebu, I set off to see some of the places I'd never managed to visit during my time residing in Leicester.

I'm spending time with friends who happen to be great nature lovers like myself, as we find nature to be an amazing way to recharge batteries and reconnect with ourselves.

First off, we head for a walk along the canals across Abbey Park - one of Leicester's finest parks.
_9010227 2.JPG

_9010225.JPG

_9010170 2.JPG
_9010210.JPG

_9010180 2.JPG

_9010194_edited.jpg

_9010189.JPG
Lestafarian Warrior

_9010174 2.JPG
_9010175 2.JPG
_9010173_edited.jpg

_9010212_edited.jpg

_9010128_edited.jpg

_9010228.JPG

_9010229.JPG

_9010234.JPG

_9010232.JPG

_9010233.JPG


Still in Abbey Park

Leicester has a top notch football team, and I'm sure that when one thinks of football (soccer), Leicester City Football Club (LCFC) is foremost on their minds [Ahem].. I never made it to the Leicester stadium this trip, but at least I witnessed Leicester's newest squad member, made from recycled plastic bottles.

Leicester is big on recycling, and in an effort to help keep the canals and waterways plastic free, a group of students, volunteers, and other associations came together and with over 9000 plastic bottle tops from the rivers, streams and canals, they created a six-metre tall sculpture of a footballer, with the plastic waste found in Leicester's waterways.
_9010198_edited_edited.jpg
Leicester 1 - Plastics 0
_9010200.JPG

_9010199.JPG

_9010168_edited.jpg
Art in Nature - Creative Totem Pole
_9010182_edited.jpg

_9010166_edited.jpg
Vacant Cottage in Park


Abbey Pumping Station
As stated by www.abbeypumpingstation.org:

Abbey Pumping Station is Leicester's Museum of Science and Technology, displaying Leicester's industrial, technological and scientific heritage. Situated adjacent to the National Space Center, the two attractions tell the story of over 200 years of science and technology from the early days of steam and industry, to the space exploration of today.

Here are some photos of the immaculately protected museum.
_9010272.JPG

_9010274.JPG
_9010275.JPG

_9010279.JPG

_9010280.JPG
_9010281.JPG
_9010285.JPG

_9010284.JPG

_9010283.JPG

_9010286.JPG

_9010287.JPG

_9010288.JPG
_9010290.JPG

_9010294.JPG
_9010297.JPG
Just a short spin please, pretty please?


The Beam Engines in Abbey Pumping Station

The Beam Engines according to www.abbeypumpingstation.org

The main building on the site houses the 4 massive Gimson beam engines, which have all now been restored to full working order. At various special events throughout the year one or more of the engines are steamed for the public to observe. Originally built in Leicester in 1891 for the purpose of pumping sewage to a new treatment works at Beaumont Leys off Anstey Lane. The engines worked until 1964 when electric pumps started to take over their duties and it finally closed soon after as a pumping station on completion of the new sewage works at Wanlip.

_9010303.JPG
_9010307.JPG

_9010308.JPG

_9010316.JPG
_9010317.JPG
_9010318.JPG
_9010321.JPG


In Close Proximity

Adjacent to Abbey Pumping Station and Park is the National Space Centre, along the canalways.

_9010264.JPG

According to www.spacecentre.co.uk

The National Space Centre is a museum and educational resource covering the fields of space science and astronomy, along with a space research programme in partnership with the University of Leicester. It is located on the north side of the city in Belgrave, Leicester, England, next to the River Soar

_9010271.JPG

From National Space Centre
'The award winning National Space Centre, home to the UK’s largest planetarium, six interactive galleries, 42m high iconic Rocket Tower and over 150 hands-on elements, really is an out of this world experience for the whole family.'
_9010262.JPG


I've always loved Leicester.

When I first came to Leicester, I thought it was so different from London which was the only section of the UK that I was familiar with.

Only a few days back, and my visit to Abbey Park and National museum is just a quick walk from where I'm staying with friends on Loughborough Road.

I have so much more to tell you about my trip last year ... TO BE CONTINUED...

I have some street photography, my walk across Watermead park, City Centre, Basketball, and Leicester Market - the largest covered market in Europe.

Stick around for PART 2!

(Actually, here's the added link below:)

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@millycf1976/365-days-ago-i-was-in-leicester-uk-part-2

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna

Great travel post!
A liitle extra support from me...

@tipu curate 2

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 30/70)

Thank you very much! I'm beaming!!!

Thank you very much! I appreciate it! Big smiles!!!!!!

It's lovely to discover and learn about a part of your trip to Leicester. The Abbey Park is beautiful.

Thanks Arni!

It was an interesting trip because all these places were in my backyard and I never visited them while living there. It was all a pleasant surprise. Abbey Park is stunning and I was actually in shock to discover it. I can't wait to go back.

I can imagine how fun it must have been to discover a lovely place nearby. The walk to the park alone in cooler weather is something to look forward to on your next visit. Congrats on the top feature 😀

Indeed!

This was a special discovery... my backyard for years and I never took the time to go visit.

Congrats on your win too :)

I've only been to Leicester once, but just hanged around the centre, everything seemed to be about Richard 😅

Yes, you're right. In the recent years I noticed everything to be around Richard. In my part 2 post tomorrow, there'll be some mention close to Richard the III. However, there is so much more to Leicester than Richard III. I love that city.

Memories of cold winter days at the football stadium will always make me smile...win or lose, Leicester till I die!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #953.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Great photos!

Oh, thank you very much! 😊