LIVERPOOL HUT - HIKING IN ASPIRING NATIONAL PARK - NEW ZEALAND

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

If you visit New Zealand and stay around Queenstown and Wanaka area, don't forget to check out Aspiring National park. There are plenty of stunning tracks ranging from easy to expert level.

Hiking to Liverpool hut was the highlight of my last week staying in kiwi land.

hut.jpg

But why is Liverpool not others?

The answer is I was impressed by its toilet — Yes, the toilet, ladies, and gentlemen!

Where is it?

Liverpool hut is located in Aspiring national park at a height of 1100 meters, though it is not the highest summit that I have ever been to, it holds a special place in my heart as it is my first and last solo hike before I left New Zealand.

How did I get there?

I remember the rain was in the forecast for the whole week, so instead of wasting my time hanging around, I decided to go for it.

My first task is hitchhiking to Raspberry Creek car park. It was a busy morning, a couple of cars pulled over, but they all took another route. I was waiting for an hour already, but it didn't matter since I got all day LOL. Then, my ride came along with a couple heading to Rob Roy Glacier, which is great because I didn't need another ride, they also picked up a bunch of hitchhikers along the way, the more the merrier.

Raspberry Creek Car park is 54 km west of Wanaka, but the ride usually takes over an hour because of the last 30 km of irritating unraveled road.

The hike starts from the car park is 15 km one-way track and it is listed as an advanced hike. However, I think it should be ranked as difficult based on my personal experience.

Car park → Aspiring hut

After finishing a snack bar and packing up everything, I was ready for the hike.

The first part was easy with a relaxing walk through West Matukituki valley, my first stop would be Aspiring hut and I was going to spend the night there.

They say it takes around 2.5 hours to reach the hut, there was no rush, so I took my time and enjoyed the walk.

52188141_1881427021967188_3025159265749827584_n.jpg

Then, as expected it started raining when I almost reached the hut. Even though I hated it, I had to put the rain jacket on and hoped for the best.

Luckily, it was just a shower, and I was rewarded with this stunning view if you noticed — it was a double rainbow.

aspiring hut.jpg

The aspiring hut is usually packed with hikers as it is a base for so many trails in the area. However, when I got there at around 5 p.m, and got myself a spot near the window.

People said that maybe this time was not the weekend and the weather forecast did not look good either.

The hut is well-equipped during peak season, with lots of room and gas stoves available if you need a hot meal.

My trip was at the end of January and the peak season is from December to April.

I sold all my stuff, so I only packed bread, canned food, and some snacks this time. But the girl I met on the way boiled some water and offered me a cup of tea. I was over the moon because nothing got better than that — warm and cozy after such a long day.

Aspiring hut → Liverpool hut

I have to admit that nothing puts me to sleep better than a good hike.

It was still cloudy the next morning, but I thought to myself "Great! as long as it doesn't rain".

Now heading to Pearl flat, I was alone again as the girl I met went on another route. After passing a couple of swing bridges, I finally got to Pearl Flat. Things could get a bit tricky here as it connects Liverpool hut track and French Ridge track, but everything is well-marked, so do not worry.

Now the climb begins.

From here it is 1 km to the hut, but it takes 2-3 hours according to DOC — imagines this with the elevation of over 1000 meters.

Have you ever watched the Hobbit? I felt like I was in the movie.

It was like a full workout, you need all limbs, I feel like Tarzan, swing back and forth, then grab the branches, step on the roots, find my way through the bush line — but it was so fun.

Untitled design.png

How amazing nature is! I could not pull myself through it without the forming of roots and branches.

It was slippery and steep, I almost slipped a few times as it was still wet from the rain yesterday.

And here it comes, the most challenging part of the hike.

The fun doesn't last long apparently.

It is almost straight up and the rocks are exposed — like nothing to support you, so you really need to be comfortable on your feet.

rocky.jpg

I was bracing myself and praying when I crossed this part, and I am not religious.

I was extra cautious, tried not to think of the worst — for a moment I was wondering what if I fell.

OMG, a wave of relief washed over me after passing this exposed shingle.

I got super excited when first sighted the hut, but it was still a long way to go and there was no shortcut.

51202459_1857513474358543_7139740374859251712_n.jpg

The hardest part was over.

By the time I reached the hut, the sun was shining, and guess what — no one arrived yet.

It took me around 4 hours for the climb, I was really taking my time though.
Wandering around, taking in the view and discovering ...the toilet.

toilet.jpg
It is not every day that you can do "your business" while watching this view.

hut.jpg

Look at this! I was overwhelmed by the stunning vista of the basin and mountain ranges.

A couple of Kea also paid me a visit and almost stole my socks when I put them on the deck. They are so cheeky, aren't they?

A couple of kea outside the hut.jpg

Kea — a species of large parrot found in the forested and alpine regions of the South Island of New Zealand.

Mt Aspiring and Avalanche in the background.jpg

You can see Mt. Aspiring and Avalanche in the background.

Eventually, there was one more solo hiker and 2 others joining me, we got the whole hut just for the four of us.

The morning after, I just wanted to cling to it a little longer to carve this marvelous scene into my memory, and then I burst into tears, the tears of happiness.

The descend was a piece of cake, and it was much faster because this time I got a companion, the way down was less painful because we chatted all along the way, my toes were killing me though.

51775143_1872971126146111_4034500980019036160_n.jpg

We finally parted way at Aspiring hut as she was going to another hut later.

Funny story — I was totally fine during the trip except for the time I slipped and fell over the stream when almost reached the car park.

Other than that, the hike was so worth it, I never regret doing that, it always gives me a great sense of satisfaction and self-achievement after conquering another summit.

Hope you enjoy it as I did, this post is way too long already, hive on and hike on!

Update: Because of the Covid-19, please head to the DOC website for more information if you plan to do this hike.

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 1364.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks for the info, hope more people can go on this awesome hike 😄

Oh girl, very fantastic first traveling post 💝 Good job 👍
What a shame! I missed this incredible hike while I was in New Zealand. The time we hiked to Miller hut and you wanted to call the helicopter to pick me up halfway because I was about to give up, I still remember that. We shared a lot of hiking trips together. 😁

LOL I would never forget that hike, it was quite an adventure! 🤣

Haha .. :) and another hike..(oops I forgot the name) 😃
Let's write about it 🤣

It's Ball hut 😂

Hahaha yeh 😆😆😆

Congratulations @sunnyvo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I am imagining myself with a backpack and trying to cross the most difficult part. Not so good feeling. But after that, rewarding myself with the magnificent view would be amazing.

I havent been to this track girl, so good you wrote a detailed post and I can always read it if I have a chance to do.

Btw How difficult it is to book the huts?

Please do it when you have a chance, the view is amazing! it should be fine to go with a partner or group to support each other.
It was first comes, first serves at that time, but now you can book online via https://bookings.doc.govt.nz/, there's still lots of room left.
the ticket is $20.

oh wow, that's really good to know. When we have sometimes to travel around South Island, we will do that. Thank you for your recommendation Sunny.

Great write up and photos. Makes me want to go there as soon as all these travel restrictions ease and things get a little bit back to normal.

Yeah likewise, it's a must if you're in the area, should be much faster if you're into running because the first part to Aspiring hut is mainly flat 😁

What an awesome adventure @sunnyvo! Thanks for sharing it with us and going into such detail about the terrain and how it made you feel :)

it was terrifying 'cuz I was all by myself, but looking back it was all good fun 😂