A Stroll Through Tokyo's Imperial Gardens

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Good Friday, everyone!

Here is a collection of shots I took while visiting the Imperial Palace Gardens in the centre of Tokyo.

We walked from the hotel to the gardens since it wasn't too far away from where we were staying, in the district of Ginza. It took us around 20 minutes or so.

As soon as we approached the Palace, we saw a large field with incredibly beautiful trees. These perfectly trimmed trees were located just outside the murals of the gardens and separated the old world from the new modern world. Just across the street, huge buildings were standing tall!

img_3599.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

However, when you were facing the opposite side, you could easily picture yourself in a rural and mostly deserted area. How cool! 😎

img_3600.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

These trees were planted right up to one of the main gates of the structure.

img_3601.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

This was the first gate we passed by... and it was closed. It looks like this part of the grounds is off limits for regular folks and tourists. It must be reserved for the Imperial family. 🤔

img_3602.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

We had to keep on walking for a while to reach the pleb's gate. From that point, the landscape changed a bit. Instead of a field of trees, there was a lake separating the residential area from the Imperial Gardens.

img_3587.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

I found it a bit strange that the waters were really shallow. After all, these types of things were usually set up to defend the palaces from outside invaders... and they are a lot more effective when they are deep, with muddy waters and full of alligators. 🐊

Here, we had a very shallow body of water that even a 5 year old could easy pass. What's the catch? Maybe there were traps in the water? 🤔

img_3589.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

We kept going in search for the main entrance. Boy, I think it took us more time to get from the edge of the garden to the entrance as it did from the hotel to that point! 😅

img_3590.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Eventually we reach one of the corners of the lake... and turned left, following the rest of the crowd - which was obviously looking for the same thing as ourselves.

img_3592.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

To the right, another field of trees appeared... just like the one we had saw earlier on. There were already a lot of skyscrapers behind them... and more were being constructed.

img_3594.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

At a distance, we could already see the main gate...

img_3593.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

We decided to take a few more shots of the area before heading to the place. And we weren't alone, of course others had the same idea! 😊

img_3596.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

There were a few bridges which got our attention, since they were so well designed and were a perfect match for the scenery. There was obviously some thought when designing these bridges.

img_3597.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Here's another bridge. As you can see, the waters here are a lot deeper. It wasn't as easy to cross this section, for sure.

img_3598.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

After a last shot... we headed back to the main gate.

img_3603.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

As we got closer we saw a little weird cabin with a pipe coming out of it. This pipe must be used to fill up fire trucks or something like that. 🤔

img_3604.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Right after that, we saw some artists sitting on their little benches. They were enjoying the good weather while making paintings of the palace. 🤗

img_3605.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

They were pretty focused on their works and couldn't care less if I was taking a photo of them or not. No one complained so I assumed they were ok with it.

img_3607.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Here I snuck over the shoulder of a lady to get a glimpse of her work. She was quite talented, the painting was coming out beautifully. 🤩

img_3610.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Here is the object of their paintings...

This looked like the main palace. We were told it wasn't possible to be visited since only the Imperial family has permission to enter. That was a bit disappointing to hear, frankly. 😑

The building was beautiful from the outside and I bet it was pretty cool inside, as well.

img_3613.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Before you get to the main entrance, there was a security team frisking everyone who carried bags. They suspected everyone, including young women dressed in pink and with fluffy backpacks! 😆

img_3615.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Only after that checkpoint you could go and buy your ticket to access the grounds.

img_3616.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

We saw a few joggers heading inside without buying tickets... maybe there's an exception for the locals.

img_3586.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Inside it wasn't very crowded. There were a few tourists but plenty of space to move around and appreciate the surroundings.

img_3617.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Looking behind, I could see that yet another skyscraper was being built. These Japanese can't stop growing their cities. Eh eh! 😂

img_3618.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

That's when I saw a group of ladies in their cute traditional dresses. They were just behind us... So I waited a bit for them, so I could catch a better photo. 😉

img_3619.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

And here's that photo, which I had already published in my previous post, 3 days ago... I think it came out pretty well:

img_3621.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Unfortunately, the sun was not in a good spot to take a photo of the main building... this was the best I could do under the conditions. 😐

img_3623.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

There was another building ahead... a very strange one.

img_3625.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

This is a bizarre looking structure. I can't even decide if I find it cute or horrible. 🤣🤣🤣

img_3626.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

I had no idea of what this building was. Judging by its looks, I was assuming it was some kind of religious temple... but I was totally off. It's a music hall!!!

Yep, this is called Tōkagakudō (桃華楽堂) which means Peach Blossom Music Hall and it was constructed in the 1960's. I think the architect must have been drunk that day! 😅

img_3627.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Our visit was coming to an end. There was not much else to see in this area. The rest of the buildings were inaccessible to tourists, so we just wandered through the gardens a bit more.

img_3624.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

We were still in Winter, so many trees were still leafless. This lady was appreciating a small tree which seemed to think it was already Spring. 😊

This place must be absolutely stunning in the Spring and Summer...

img_3622.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

I hope you enjoyed this article and my photos. Leave me a comment down below, s'il vous plaît. 😊


LocationTokyo - Japan
CameraCanon IXUS 210
Photos32 (Edited with GIMP)


trincowski_banner.gif

Sort:  

That's wonderful photography along with description

Thank you very much!

This place looks so pretty😍

Thanks a lot, it sure was an interesting place!

It is such a great atmosphere there. Enjoy

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 94 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @trincowski.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looks very nice. I will be in Tokyo in April, so I hope to visit the gardens!

Thanks for your visit and comment.
I hope you have a great time.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1486.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

What a beautiful city. I will love to visit one day.
You have talent with capturing images.

Keep it up

Cheers!

Thanks a lot. I have been posting very little. I must try to get more active here.

Bring me good memories of my 1 month trip to Japan and the few days I passed in Tokyo.

Thanks for sharing !

Thanks a lot, I'm glad to hear that!

Saludos y bendiciones, ¡wuau! Fotografías muy hermosas, gracias por compartirlas.

Muchas gracias por tu visita y comentario! 🤗

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello, my dear friend @trinkowsky

I liked your pictures very much. Those places look so beautiful.....

For a country with so much population, they look like little-traveled roads.

You are a good photographer. I congratulate you.

Best regards

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked my photos! 🤗

Those trees are beautiful and love the lake and reflections

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks, I'm glad to hear you liked it! 🤗

👍🙂👍

I have never been there, and it's truly nice to see the place through your photos and at least that way to walk around.
Today, unfortunately, with all these current happenings, I'm wondering will I ever have a chance to visit it and see it in person.

Yeah, the world is getting very depressing. First a pandemic... now a possible world war. What else will come up? 😖

Thanks for your visit and comment.

I always wonder who those people are trimming the trees.
A nice view of your trip. The plebs entry wasn't good enough?

I would check someone with a suitcase too especially pink.

I like that music hall fits to the '60s 😄

💖🍀

Who knows? But they certainly have a lot of trouble!!!

I always wonder who those people are trimming the trees.

I would check someone with a suitcase too especially pink.

The Pinky Suspects! 🤣

Thanks for your comment!

The gardens of the Imperial Palace in the centre of Tokyo look really imperial! I especially like the combination of colours, almost yellow ground with the deep lush trees that shine so green.... great pictures! i wouldn't even have thought that the trees were pruned, although they look really perfect. the buildings really contrast with them somehow.

Thanks a lot, I'm glad to hear you liked it! 🤗

Every Shot was Beautiful!
Very well manicured grounds, just Gorgeous!
Have an Amazing Weekend!
🙋👍🏼🌄👍🏼🙋

Thank you very much!

Absolutely and Always!
👍🏼🙋👍🏼

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 74000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners

Oh my! These pictures are super lovely. Nature has so much beauty to behold. Thank you for sharing

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it.

I remember when C-19 started you have the tickets to Japan got lost.
So, you finally did it ?! My sincere congratulations. Pls can you mention me so that I dont miss your next reportages?..

Ah, no, I didn't. This was from the previous year, 2018.

Alright, I don't usually make such long posts nowadays... But I'll call you out when I do another one.

Thanks for your visit.

ah damn.... :/
and I thought your lack of posts while you are there means you are busy with sightseeing, testing the food etc - doing things far more intresting than blogging at Hive... ok, pardon me. a slice of mushroom !PIZZA - I know thats a small consolation but still
xD

ps - nowadays I dont do a single post in weeks too :/
C-19 got me right in the start of February, finally... happily the current version is light and silly, I was knocked out just for 4-5 days. This is definitely not worth all the shit we were getting with pandemia... 🤪

these Gardens are really beautiful. Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos. The Japanese are artists when it comes to creating gardens or parks.

I really hope to be able to visit or perhaps even move to Japan one day in the future. I'm just so fascinated by so much of the culture and history. Nice shots!