Autumn At Showa Memorial Park

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

It's Autumn in Japan!

Okay, I was supposed to post this last month but I got so busy I totally didn't have time to complete the post.

In Tokyo, there are so many places to go to see the majestic Autumn scenery, and my friends and I decided to go to Showa Memorial Park.

Showa Memorial Park (国営昭和記念公園) is short for Showa Commemorative National Government Park. It opened in Oct 1983 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Emperor Showa. It's the largest park in Tokyo where you could see and enjoy a lot of things! Walking in this park may be so tiring but walking with Gingko trees all around you and yellow leaves as carpet on the path feels magical that you can't help but put a smile on your face.
source: Showa Kinen Park official website


It was a Saturday when we went to the park. My friends and I met at Ogikubo station and from there, it would take us around 29 mins to reach the park gate. That day, there was a train delay so we traveled for almost an hour. Not to mention, the train was so full you can hardly move your hands to get your phone from your pocket.

When we reached the park, there were already a lot of people but since it's so wide and spacious, there's still an area wide enough for people not to run into each other.

We entered via the Nishi Tachikawa gate and from there, we can witness the lake and the people renting swan boats and normal boats. They're freely enjoying the scenery. I even saw one painting the scene! Too bad, I was too shy to ask a photo of him painting.

There are currently so many gates to enter the park but I guess the famous one is where we entered: the Nishi Tachikawa gate found outside the Nishi Tachikawa station.

Not all trees have changed its color and since we were tired of seeing red colors from our trip the week ago before this, we decided to pay a visit to the Gingko Avenue to see a different color of Autumn. There were actually 2 but we first went to the one near Tachikawa gate.

You could also reach the park from Tachikawa station but you have to walk for around 5-10 minutes to reach the Tachikawa gate of the park.

On the way to the Gingko Avenue near the other gate

On the way, we passed by a bridge with dried up river. It's kinda weird because I couldn't remember if there was water in this bridge when I went to this park a year ago.

We reached the Gingko Avenue after around 5-10 minutes of walking. Many people were enjoying the view. I mean, it's so yellow! And I also wore yellow. LOL It was fine to wear T-shirt that day because it suddenly got warmer.

As usual, the scent of these Gingko trees was not that pleasant but they look so lovely we couldn't stop enjoying taking pictures. I even saw some people lying down the grass fields with the yellow leaves on it.

Usually I just enjoy the view, take photos of it but my friends kept insisting to take photos of ourselves so here's the photos my friends took of me.

One could choose to go along the right or left path. We went to both. 😅 There were less people on the other side so it's kinda good for some shameless pictorials.

The right and left path of gingko trees

Not all leaves have turned yellow though on the other side. Some still showed green leaves, about to turn to yellow. Still it's kinda interesting to look at them.

Oops, wasn't meant to post this but just look at that floor full of leaves. Don't mind the couple at the back LOL

At the end of the trail, there's a big fountain which some kids enjoyed. There were more kids than usual that time because there seems to be a day camp where kids get to enjoy playing and learning with some foreigners. Probably an English camp, but not sure. I've been to an English camp before but it was held overnight in some faraway town.

The big fountain

Cutie kids playing with water

And one more look at the Gingko Avenue before we left for another place.

Am I still in Japan? Ah yes!

That's me!

There were a few food trucks and we decided to grab a bite since it was already noon. It wasn't a heavy meal but just a little pikapika. I had yakisoba though, which I wouldn't recommend. I can cook a better one. There were a lot of huge mochi in sticks though, and they looked so delicious. I guess I was too busy eating that I forgot to take a photo of it!

We continued walking around the park and just exploring. We noticed there were some mini buses taking passengers. I guess those buses will take you around the park.

There were also a lot of people riding bicycles but they have their own bicycle lane so they won't bother the people walking. Actually, there's a bicycle rental shop just near the gate but we didn't bother. We're planning to walk and take photos. If you're here to visit the entire park, I suggest you rent a bicycle.

You could also ride the boats which seems therapeutic and romantic for couples. We didn't though, but I wanted to do it. While some people were busy being romantic in the water, some people were enjoying their time in the shade. I think if I'll come back here alone, I would probably do the same - read a book sitting under the trees.

IDK what my friend was up to here but looks fun. Don't tell him I posted this here. hahaha

More adventures and we came to a bridge that seems like a maze. The water was muddy but we found a very big fish (or was that a koi?) in it.

Maze-like bridge with few fishes in the muddy water

Couldn't enter but tall grasses were being cleared up

Enjoying his time?

We're not lost! I repeat, we're not lost. On the way to the other Gingko Avenue, we have seen a lot of interesting things including this herb garden but I couldn't see one herb that's alive.

Entering herb garden

Herb garden - IDK if these herbs were alive

Looks like our adventure has come to an end

We've reached the other Gingko Avenue which it's kinda famous for its illumination at night. People had to line up to take their turn using the reflection thingy that will show the beauty of the Gingko trees. It's hard to describe it so I hope you would get what I meant.

Finally here!

Looking up

There were benches everywhere so we just stayed there and chill while waiting for our other friends to come. While we were there, we were just observing a game played by the ojisans and watching people passing by and taking photos.

Some men were busy playing on the other side of this field

Closer look but still far

View from the bench

Group of strangers having pictorial

Behind the bench where we were seated was the barbeque area so we were so full from the aroma of the barbeque while sitting there. We wanted to do barbeque too but the staff told us it was only for people who had reservations. No walk-in customers. So much for an impromptu barbeque afternoon.

Passed by a group doing barbeque on the way to the 2nd Gingko Avenue

Big tree near the barbeque area

Near this area lies different areas where you could rent for doing sports. The ojisans earlier were doing some sport but there were also some kids busy enjoying their time.

When the group was complete, we decided to go around the park for a bit and looked for a place to eat. Some of my friends haven't eaten their lunch yet.

Walking around looking for some place to eat

I don't know what happened but that was it. We wanted to go to the Japanese garden but we weren't able to go because we had to leave already. I realized we spent more than an hour sitting, eating, and catching up that we had forgotten to roam around the park. It's okay though, we could go another day but the time spent with these people was more precious.

On the way home

Passed by this resting and food area where people were also lining up to wait for their turn to ride the boat

Path to the exit gate

Interesting color contrast

Here's a very short video of my autumn adventure in Showa Kinen Koen.

Hope you enjoyed the tour of Showa Kinen Park! I'll probably post more about this park in the future when I visit the place again. There are still so many areas in the park that I haven't explored.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @eunoia101 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

First time to read your post and I enjoyed it much. I love the yellow trees. I wonder if this will grow here in the Philippines ..

I don’t think it will but it would be nice if it does! 😅

omg how did i miss this post!?
i deliberately decided to skip going to showa-kinen, now i regret it, lol

There’s always next year 😉

Ga imagine nako mag bike2x diri. Waaaa 🤣
Thanks for this blog, Witz. If ever we get to visit Tokyo (hoepfully next year) we will include this on our list of places to visit! Let's meet too! Wala jd nadayon last time 😅
I think the park is still very beautiful bisan dili autumn season. Very nice to have picnic (di ba bawal? 😆)

No, not bawal! Actually this park is so big jud and there's even a Japanese garden so I think even if it's not autumn, the park is still lovely! There were so many people doing barbeque too. Maka suya actually! Nice to rent bicycles jud, we just didn't because we didn't stay til late in this park because after, we went to watch movies in the nearby mall. 😅
OMG see you soon jud sa Tokyo if ever! Wanna see baby aya! 😍

Wow! Amazing places.So Clean and fresh! For sure you enjoyed and had fun on your trip.I hope I can visit japan soon..hehe in my dreams!

Not so clean coz there are falling leaves everywhere. Aw wait, it's included in the majestic view 😅
Hope you could also enjoy this place the same as me!

Oh, I see but it's ok at least it's just leaves. It's not polluted, unlike plastic and paper which are scattered everywhere. Having that scenario is not appealing to one's eye.

People here are very careful not to give headache to other people so we bring our trash and throw it at home 😅

Thats what i want here in the Philippines.

I really hope that will happen!

These beauties of nature are priceless. I know you're busy, but you should share more places like Showa Kinen Park with us. I'm not getting to know Japan lately, I used to know it thanks to you 😂.

So nice, right?!
I should invite more Japan bloggers so if I'm absent, there's something to read 😂

That makes sense. But the pleasure of reading your posts is different 😅

Ahihihi untitled.gif thanks for the super encouraging words!

Ah, it's good to see the actual park. Every time I am Tachikawa I'm shopping, eating or exploring the city art park. There is a never ending amount places to explore in Tokyo.

Indeed!
Wait, where's the city art park? OMG I'm a little curious!
It's my second time in Tachikawa and the first time, I haven't visited a lot of places, only a little bit of the park. It seems there are a lot of good restaurants around this place so maybe next time, I'll come back. We've been to one izakaya around the station and we liked it there.

It's called Faret Art Park. Sculptures by artists from all over the world. Definitely worth a trip. https://ecency.com/hive-163772/@rt395/return-to-faret-art-park

Oh niceeee! It's near the station. Will definitely go there too when I go to the park next time.
By the way, it's so nice to see your blog showing up when you search "Faret Art Park" in google! 😄

Ah cool. Occasionally I do see other people's blogs in searches too. And somehow HIVE is still very small.

Did you planed talaga to wear yellow? uwu matching sa nature hehe. About sa herb garden, are you guys allowed to smell the plant atleast? yiee so gandaaaaaa.

No, I wasn't planning to wear this tshirt color 😂
Actually, that day became warmer so instead of wearing hoodie I went back to the house to change my shirt. I didn't have a lot of decent tshirts other than this 😅

I think we're allowed to smell it. It's just that it seems dead or idk, maybe because it's autumn so these herbs aren't alive at least in my eyes.

Walking among colorful leafy trees in autumn gives peace of mind.

Right! Stress reliever!

You look so good po :)
What a great place Japan! :) Thank you for sharing this, Japan is always been my dream place since then. I am so happy that you shared those pictures here, now I am more excited about going there if ever I have given a chance soon.

Hope you could really come and visit Japan! There are actually a lot of tourists here now, esp Filipinos. 😅

Wow! How I wish to get there. The place is so wonderful and worth visiting. Please help me get there. Ahahah. Just kidding. Very nice photos, it's alluring. Stay safe and God bless.

Thanks @amoreyl! It's so nice and very convenient to live here that's why I can just freely travel on weekends 😅

It sounds good @wittyzell .. Stay safe and God bless.

The color is so bright! I would love to walk under those yellow trees! The color yellow suits you well, Witty! U so pretty witty! 🥰

Next year you should come and we shall enjoy this together uwu

Both you and the view are stunning!
The color of autumn really radiates happiness and good vibes, I don't know if it's just me.
If I were there, I'd probably sit under the trees and read some books too or have a picnic with friends.

That's what I do when I'm alone C! I just sit under the trees and just enjoy the view until the cold will get to me. 😅
I think we're the same! I was actually so happy seeing the colors of autumn even though I lack sleep that time.

Wow ang ganda naman jan!! T_T

Super!! No filter yern 😂

My gosh the view! You know those bih posters na nabibili sa mga tiangge-an with this kind of view in there, parang ganitoooo. How lucky you are to see these beauty in flesh. Nakakainggit huehue. And your picture with the Gingko Trees are so pretty, yiehhh sana all pretty 😍😍

Hahahah! So nice talaga, magiging pretty ka na lang din kahit hindi 😅
Di ko alam yang mga posters na yan pero I can imagine 😂

Just seeing your pictures leaves me breathless 😍😍. It's sooo beautiful! ❤

Thank you! They were!

Nice shots end beautiful place 😍

Thank you! It was really a nice place!

Ganda!!!

Ahihi nice noh

Sobra! Nakakaspeechless. 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

One of my dreams is to see Autumn in Japan, and you just fulfilled 50% of my dream. 🥰Thanks for this virtual tour, Miss Wit.

By the way, you look so pretty with your full smile. Sarap kurotin ng cheeks nyo po. 🤗

Thank you for attending the virtual tour @callmesmile! You should definitely see autumn in Japan by yourself! It's really incredible seeing its beauty
Thank you! Waggg pls hahaha

ang gondo! sama mo kami dyan dali!

Ako ba maganda? hahaha kung pwede ko lang kayo ilagay sa bulsa, why not lol

Ang cute mo sa yellow 😊. Match sa autumn colors hehe... !PIZZA

Thanks jane! I was not expecting na match pala kami haha

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 4750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Amazing pictures , i love the trees and the vintage vibe that it offers !
The place looks quite interesting !

Thank you @gaurav.art! It's something you need to see for yourself~

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1723.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks @livinguktaiwan and to the whole team @pinmapple!

What a lovely adventure you had! Amazing colors and places and of course you :)
!LUV

Dear @wittyzell,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Dear @wittyzell,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!