#SpringInJapan: The Iconic Hakone Jinja

in Pinmapple2 years ago

It’s still spring in Japan!
And what’s more, it’s Golden Week!
That means it’s vacation time!

Oh wait, I think this was my intro from my previous blog. 😅

After enjoying the beautiful pinkish Fuji Shibazakura Festival, my feet led me to Hakone Shrine.

Hakone Shrine


When going to Hakone, you should not miss Hakone Shrine or Hakone Jinja (in kanji: 箱根神社). It is located a few meters walk from Moto Hakone Pier (元箱根), so it is along Lake Ashi (芦ノ湖, read as Ashinoko), and at the foot of Mount Hakone.

Hakone Shrine is a Shinto shrine. It is quite famous because the red gates look like it's floating on water and on clear days, you can see Mount Fuji (富士山 read as Fujisan) on the background.

Photo by Sravan V
Source: Unsplash

Entering the shrine requires you to cleanse yourself with the hand water, located just near the entrance. I don't really practice Shintoism but I still did it because it's also a good manner. Japanese people really cares about manners (マナー).

Entrance to the shrine

Pathway

Going up to the main shrine was tiring because of the long stairs (I lack exercise huhuhehe). But shrine goers don't really mind it. Actually, the stairs aren't that long compared to the shrine in Enoshima (I'll have another post about Enoshima).

Stairs to the main shrine

Found halfway going up

Halfway there

I didn't offer my prayers but there was a long line to be able to pray. I have however tried to get my fortune (おみくじ read as Omikuji). When I visit shrines, I always get Omikuji though I believe or don't believe it - I'm neutral. I just like the feeling of drawing something from the box, like it's some kind of lottery/raffle. Anyways, it was bad luck so I tied it. 😑

When the prediction is bad, it is a custom to fold up the strip of paper and attach it to a pine tree or a wall of metal wires alongside other bad fortunes in the temple or shrine grounds. A purported reason for this custom is a pun on the word for pine tree (松, matsu) and the verb 'to wait' (待つ, matsu), the idea being that the bad luck will wait by the tree rather than attach itself to the bearer. In the event of the fortune being good, the bearer has two options: they can also tie it to the tree or wires so that the fortune has a greater effect or they can keep it for luck.

src: Wikipedia

Main shrine

Beside the main shrine

Tie your bad luck omikuji here

Main shrine

Inside the main hall

Omikuji corner

Next to the main hall lies Kuzuryu Shrine (九頭龍神社 read as Kuzuryu Jinja). This sub shrine is dedicated to the protective spirit of the dragon that lives in the lake.

Little kanji lesson:

九頭龍 read as Kuzuryu

九 = nine
頭 = head
龍 = dragon

九頭龍 means 9-headed dragon

Before being subdued by the legendary hero, Kuzuryu was feared by the people living on the shores of Lake Ashi, who would sacrifice their daughters to the venomous creature to escape its wrath. Determined to put an end to Kuzuryu’s reign of terror, the priest Mangan placed a stone slab in the water of Lake Ashi—at the place where a small torii gate now stands just off the shore near the shrine—and sat down to pray for three days and three nights. Faced with such a formidable adversary, the dragon gave up, and eventually promised to guard the region as long as the people would honor him every year with a prayer.

src: Hakone-Japan

Kuzuryu Shrine

I saw some people bought a container so they can fill it from the shrine's water. Not sure for what reason but maybe it has some healing effects? Who knows?

Sorry, bad angle!

After visiting the main shrine at the top, my friends and I went down, not through the stairs but through an alternative ramp (it looks like a ramp 😅) but need to be careful because it looks slippery when wet. At the end, you'll find a restaurant (or maybe food hall?) where you can have donburi while enjoying nature's best.

"ramp"

View after the descend

Lots of koi

Going down near the lake, you'll find the red gate. This is known as the Red Gate of Peace (or 平和の鳥居, read as Heiwa No Torii). Be careful going down because there's a road separating the main shrine and the torii.

Red Gate of Peace

Lining up for our turn at the torii

The line wasn't that long but we waited for maybe 10-15 minutes for our turn. While waiting, I was busy being captivated by the view.

Trees near the lake

Galleon in Lake Ashi

Sightseeing boat sailing in Lake Ashi

Finally, it's our turn. Few snaps and tadannn!

We ended our Hakone Shrine visit here. It was a great tour (with lots of exercise involved: walking, climbing, descending). By the way, the exit was interesting because it looks like some sort of adventure.

Exiting Hakone Shrine, going back to Moto-Hakone boat pier

There is actually another shrine called Hakone Mototsumiya (箱根本宮) aka Shrine in the Sky that stands at the top of the Komagatake (駒ケ岳), one of the peaks in Hakone. You can reach it by the ropeway from Hakone-en (箱根園 or Hakone Park). It is said that the mountains of Hakone are an object of faith for Shinto because this is the place between humans and gods. We did not go to Mototsumiya though but you can see a glimpse of it in the cover photo of this post.

Thank you for reading!
See you next time! じゃあ、またね!


Next, I'll be sharing our itinerary for this trip: Fuji Shibazakura, Hakone and Gotemba Premium Outlets.


To know more about Hakone Shrine, you can visit their official website, but it is in Japanese only.


All photos in this post are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

As I read your post, I kept Googling for the terms and looking if there had been anime references to the Hakone shrine haha. But there was none specific to Hakone, though the shrine setting gets used a lot.

Interesting read and scenery. I liked the tidbit about Omikuji. I probably wouldn't want to draw because I flop at lotteries and wouldn't want to get 凶 haha. Even there's the pine tree thing lol.

Great shots and poses at the end. 🤞

Hakone... The roads are used in some Initial D races =)

Thanks for the trivia. I was so focused on Googling about the familiar-looking shrine. Cheers!

Cheers in return! The Torii gates are quite common in Anime, and it might not be very location specific. Understandable as that is very unique if one were to see it in anime.

@pix21 Didn't know about the reference in Initial D. Actually, I haven't watched the anime even when it's popular, and in some arcades' racing game features this anime.

I guess it's more of a boy's anime :D

Yeah, I guess so.. But maybe I just need time to watch it 😂

As I read your post, I kept Googling for the terms and looking if there had been anime references to the Hakone shrine haha.

Hahaha! I'm also not sure if there are anime references to this shrine. But I know Yowamushi Pedal (弱虫ペダル) has some references that are in the roads/mountains of Hakone.

Re: Omikuji, I think you should try it even when you'll get bad luck. They have phases of luck here though, it's not all the time bad.

Great shots and poses at the end. 🤞

Oooops, aweee 😝 Thanks!

Ehhhh. When I get the chance to go to Japan in the future, I'll try the luck lottery because of your encouragement. And I better get used to a lot of walking too. I see so many steps and paths to trek XD

Yeah, Japanese people loves to walk.
And glad you'll consider the luck lottery. 😅

I enjoyed looking at the photos. I miss Japan. Natsukashi desu..

Thank you @pix21! You should come back to Japan soon and not just enjoy looking at the photos, but see it in real life.

I wish, I spent almost 2 years on and off in Japan in the past. Maybe will try to have a vacation there someday but I guess few days at most.

@pix21 Oh, that's nice! So you know a little bit nihongo.
Hopefully you can have your vacation here soon!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day

I love nature. And this just gives me a sweet feeling. Thank you fit showing us around this beautiful place.

Thank you for being here!
I really love nature too!

Awe😍😍
I just mentally tied all my badluck if any at omikuji

😅
Beautiful Place, thank you for the virtual tour Darling🤗❤️

All good luck will be coming your way @queenstarr 😍

Thank you for attending the virtual tour!

Ang ganda sa Japan! It is actually one of the countries that I want to visit (soon). I just want to see how the people are disciplined on everything hahaha also the places.

Hopefully you can visit!
Super disciplined yes, they actually are taught from a very young age not to be a bother to others.

I'll visit soon!—hopefully haha

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1549.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow! I love posts about nature. This place is really iconic. Thanks for sharing.

Nature at its best! Thanks for being here!

wow that's a beautiful and majestic place. In my opinion, cleaning ourselves at the entrance or drinking water from the shrine is just a small action but it actually has a big effect in term of spirit.

Yes, it’s to cleanse the impurities. We may not see it with our naked eye but it’s faith.

Congratulations @wittyzell! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day

beautiful countryside

yes, it is! thanks for being here!

Beautiful tour indeed

Thank you for the appreciation!

I really love to see more spring photos of Japan 🥰. I want to look for that shinto shrine they are talking about here in HK. not sure though if it has here. But we saw photos on FB..

Nice, @wittyzell! What a coincidence! Just yesterday I was looking at my photos of my trip to Japan. Now seeing your photos and reading your story made me miss those wonderful experiences even more. Maybe it's time to visit again. Beautiful Country!

It’s really a beautiful country! You can really see that it’s rich in culture!
Please visit again!
Hopefully the borders are going to be opened for tourists soon!

Yes, beautiful! I have only good memories. And the food - oh I loved the food!!!

Hopefully the borders are going to be opened for tourists soon!

What? 😯 I thought they were open? Nobody can enter Japan right now?

Good to know you have good memories here!
And the food - it's really one of a kind! I'm getting fatter and fatter each day here.

Nobody can enter Japan right now?

Tourists are not allowed to enter right now. Actually, since covid started they aren't allowed to enter. Only special types of visa are allowed.
I think it will change soon. There are rumors going around that Japan will start accepting tourists again maybe next month or very soon.

Wow! I can't imagine Japan without tourists all this time! I hope things change soon, fingers crossed! 😀🤞

@acgalarza It's pretty nice and peaceful without tourists but store owners are struggling..

Yes, I can imagine! What a dilemma!

Yes, I can imagine! What a dilemma!

The place looks beautiful.😎👍

@baby.magic It is!

Shintoism is a japanese religion, right?

Shintoism is one, there's also Buddhism.
Shintoism originated in Japan, and has spread to other parts of the world.

And it focuses on nature, yes?

Yeah, can also be objects :)

I like this post. I'm learning something about Japan.👍😎