Shades Of Men - Chapter 12 Page 13

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro3 years ago (edited)

image2.PNG

Hey there,

Guess who's back with another page? Meeee. You're Parisian pal Jrej.
My own graphic novel Shades Of Men continues...

I know it's been two weeks but covid got in the way and I had to work from home. As I usually draw in the metro commute to work I hadn't progressed much. In the end, I basically drew everything this weekend!

As you may know I'm reaching the end of the story soon.
Let's see how David's character arc concludes…

<FIRST/PREVIOUS/NEXT>


image1.PNG

<FIRST/PREVIOUS/NEXT>

Here some in-progress pics of the page:


image3.JPG


image4.JPG

I have to say I quite like this page.

The challenge was mostly the rhythm of the conversation and fitting all speech bubbles in the limited space. As you can see in the sketched page, I hadn't planned the text to be so big.

Also I made some last minute changes in the bubbles' position in panel 3 so the reading flows better.

I like the addition of red nose and cheeks for David on panel 2. This was not planned but I remembered... snow is cold, right? ;-) I added a cold breath as well.

With just those tiny details I think it brings a lot to the scene, selling the cold environment they are in. I wonder if not having that would have been shocking?

I guess we will never know...

I have to remember to do the same in the next page!

The last page!

Thanks for following along.
See you next week for the final page of this 9-year comic adventure.
It's been a crazy ride! Still can't believe it!

See you on the other side,

Jrej


Shades Of Men Archive:
Ch1 - Ch2 - Ch3 - Ch4 - Ch5 - Ch6
Ch7 - Ch8 - Ch9 - Ch10 - Ch11


Wanna support some more? You can checkout my NFT gallery on NFTShowroom.
1.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @jrej! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

It looks great. It's funny that we had a few flakes of snow here today after a warm day yesterday. Hope things are good with you.

!BEER

Hehe. No snow here in Paris but it got pretty cold. All good otherwise. Can't wait to start the next page! ;-)


Hey @jrej, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The ruddiness and the cold breath were probably good touches, they definitely added. With my lack of knowledge of cold weather (because it doesn't get that cold where I live even if I find it cold XD) I wouldn't have noticed if you'd forgotten/not put those :)

Yay he's alive! and that was a bit of a change of tone from the last page XD

Yep. Back to the lighter mood. It lacked a little in these two last chapters.
My first part of the comic was more like that I think.

Lucky you for not having any cold. It even snowed in Paris today. Briefly but still...

Does it not normally snow there? Or do you just not like the cold? :)

It's just a little weird at this time of the year. It was sunny right after.

Looks good! Word bubbles always seem to be difficult to place; you did a good job with it. You definitely also sold the winter scene. Nice!

Thanks for the compliments. Working hard on the next page. I'm thinking of splitting the next one in two, to let it breath a little more. I'll probably release them at the same time anyway. We shall see that...

This may conclude this comic but I'm sure you have more stories in you and since this one is ending it would be the perfect time to put it in book format and sell it. Whatever the future holds for you I wish you the best of luck.

Hehe, that's very true! I always have a card up my sleeves and I'm sure I'll carry on with some more exciting projects.

The first on going project is the redesign of my own comic hosting website @inkito to make Hive more accessible to comic creators like me.

Then, at work they would like me to learn Unreal and C++, a small project after that could be a video game. Not sure if I'll start another comic right away, but I'll certainly keep on drawing and posting my work here on hive!