Nerd By Northwest #289 – “Never Mix Hiring Decisions With Dwarven Ale”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro2 years ago (edited)

Dungeon masters LOVE critical failure rolls...

Nerd By Northwest #289 – “Never Mix Hiring Decisions With Dwarven Ale”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


The long-time D&D nerds out there will surely recognize the name reference on the sign in the 3rd panel. As for the rest of you that actually have lives, "Khelben" is the name of an influential, powerful wizard who lived in the city of Waterdeep. And since I tend to picture the D&D world as a twisted reflection of our own, I think "What would an all-powerful wizard in our world do? Use their power & influence to open up a fast-food franchise to rake in the bucks!!!" 😁

As for the goblin in the 3rd panel, you're definitely gonna be seeing more of her in the future! She's based on one of my favorite D&D characters from a recent campaign, one I couldn't resist bringing into the comic strip. Remember the comment I made a couple strips ago about how you never see a D&D character with a menial, fast-food fry cook kind of background? Well, now we've got one!

(Some might say no one in their right mind would hire a goblin for food service work. But let's face it... in these trying times, fast-food employers will take anybody they can get!!!)


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

The morning after:
"Oh, man... who did I screw last night...?"
"THE PARTY!"
!LUV

I guess the question then is in addition to hiring the goblin, did he sleep with her too?

While that seems just too much, I DO remember searching for images & drawings of female goblins for design ideas and seeing an alarming number of sexily-drawn girl goblins. Got some warped artists with a lot of time on their hands out there... 😂

Ahhh, you must have found my Deviant Art page.... j/k


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Maybe goblins can be trained to be hygienic. Would you trust them to make you food? Did Terry Pratchett have them featuring a lot of rat in their diet? I need to read those books again. That's my favourite aspect of fantasy.

!PIZZA

Oh, there are ways to make goblins hygienic with their food. It just requires a couple creative magical enchantments... wait and see! 😉

!LUV this.

Nice to see your post getting some good upvotes :)

Thanks! It definitely helps keep me motivated to keep drawing. 😎

I know you were just mentioned about an account to support.
I think buildawhale and themarkymark are now upvoting you.

:)

Glad to see you appreciated.

Goblins and kobolds need more respect! Also, I do favor devious DM penalties. This should get interesting.

I'd really love to play a campaign with an "all monsters" party. I remember in the olden days there were a couple adventures like that in Dungeon magazine, and those were fun. But I have yet to come across a whole campaign with that theme. If they want another big money-making book, Wizards of the Coast should be all over that idea like white on rice...

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(4/8) tipped @northwestnomad (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Seeing that the sandwich was made by a goblin, I'm left wondering if it was more of a "Tastes Like Chicken Sandwich" (tm)