You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #CAMPFIRE CONVERSATION: Season 2 - [Fungi Lovers Challenge]

Ahh yes I have found those as well. They are nicknamed elephant ears over here. From what I can tell its the amount that you consume that matters in toxicity. They have monomethyl hydrazine in them in trace amount that can build up in your system and potentially cause cancer or seizures and other organ damage. Maybe eating part of one a year properly cooked should be safe.

Sort:  

In our latitudes, they are less toxic. On this issue, mycologists still do not have a common opinion.
I eat very few of them))

In the state next to me (Michigan) they have little festivals where they eat them.

...they just need to be properly prepared, good heat treatment is needed.

They deep fry and batter them over here then dip them in different sauces like BBQ or hot sauce.

Yes ... I think it's very tasty, I haven't tried to cook like that :)