Learning Opportunities

in Self Improvement2 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about learning opportunities and how they present themselves

image.png

Pixabay

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Learning Opportunities

One of the really great things sometimes is when you have access to a great amount of learning opportunities!

With my new job and company, one of the things I've been trying to get better at is getting used to the different things I have access to now. A lot of companies will have different things you can access for free or discounted prices. I was happy that I got access to a bunch of really great stuff for me to take and learn!

image.png

Pixabay

I took advantage of the time in the beginning, where I didn't have many assignments to do, to spend most of my available time to learning something new that might help me in the long run. I took a course for introduction to Azure cloud computing. I'm not a huge fan of this "cloud" stuff since it's nothing except someone else's computer and not inherently much different or better but I digress.. Thankfully it was related to things I will be doing related to work so it was kosher to spend time doing educational opportunities.

I have taken advantage of this type of thing at my previous employers and it's been good because it leads to different things. What avenues could it lead to in the future? I'm not specifically sure but it's good to at least have cursory knowledge of things and have the piece of paper that says you did the work, so that you can diversify yourself.

image.png

Pixabay

I think gone are the days of working for one company, doing one particular thing for years and decades. Don't get me wrong, I would like to be able to focus on my core skillset and be able to maximize what I do for the people I work with. Things change though and we aren't forced to work in an environment like that and we also don't live in a period of time where there is the need for something like that, for the most part.

I'm not looking for more money specifically. It wouldn't hurt of course, but what I'm just looking to do is have security in the market. I'm always, and have been for many years it seems, keeping my ear to the ground for things so that if needed, I can be poised and ready to jump if some train comes hauling ass my way and I want to get out of the way instead of getting railed by it. This has helped me in the past and it will hopefully help me in the future. We are working our way towards being able to survive if we have to. I'm just glad that I've got a bit of a headstart on that journey versus some of my other friends who haven't done anything in that regard.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,540 PRE tokens, with a market value of $613.28. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Nice! Such an awesome thing to learn, opportunities are truly everywhere, we just need to learn where to look.

Thanks, yeah I agree! I've tried to make it a point to learn new things as often as I can. It doesn't mean that I don't enjoy things I already know but I'm always trying to see if there is something I can learn to benefit me somehow or other.

That's amazing! Keep on learning man! Wishing you a great week ahead as well!

I've been using LinkedIn learning, myself, because my company gives me free access. It's also a great resource. Now I need to learn Java so I can program something for the blockchain...

Yeah man, programming is great! I was doing it for a bit and it’s awesome to learn. I was doing Python and I’ll get back there but had to do a sidetrack for a bit. I learned 2 new computer softwares in the past few weeks for some personal projects, I’ll get into Python in the new year I think. The next few weeks I’m going to focus on PosGres SQL since it’s free, I’ve only used Microsoft SQL but need to learn the other one to stay competitive.

Great that you’re using LinkedIn learning! I did it a little bit for Python and didn’t go back to it just yet but there’s so many awesome resources out there!

Our core skillsets are changing. Flexibility is key to our futures.

Flexibility is definitely critical for the future. Sadly gone are the days where we can work 40 years at one company doing something and becoming an expert at it. I think having many different skills is more important now, things get shaken up quite a bit and pretty often lately!

I am learning about flexibility very quickly. I am starting a marketing division for my son in law's brand new online shop. I am doing a bit of marketing for a Car Watch business. I am designing and marketing for my own online shop. I think I am doing too much.

Your article and deep research is very helpful for us.
Absolutely fabulous work dear friend @cmplxty . God bless you.

Thanks, trying to keep the learning going that's for sure!