Think like a Viking: Part sixty one

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

New VQ (4).png

What is done shall be told all the same.

Thursday's are Viking quote days although I'm doing every second Thursday now and interspersing my, think like a leader, series on the alternate day. Sometimes I choose a quote randomly and sometimes based upon relevance or meaning to my life, and share some thoughts on it. These thousand year old phrases still offer value in modern society. original im src



This week's Viking quote

🔘 🔘 🔘

What is done shall be told all the same.

- Grettir's Saga -

People talk, that's a given, I guess these days though, it's not just verbal talk; the rise of social media has given people a voice that can reach millions around the globe in seconds.

Looking at it objectively, one would think the potential harm that may come of such rapid dissemination of information would lead people to be more cautious with their behaviours but it doesn't seem to be the case. People are people and they'll act as they see fit, good or bad, no matter what and despite the potential damage that could arise from those actions being observed and disseminated.

Of course, that same rapid dissemination of information could just as easily spread news of a person's good deeds and it's often the case, fortunately.

This Viking quote suggests that people will speak of what they see and perceive in others, especially the bad aspects, and that leans me to assume the Vikings were alluding to the importance of doing good, acting with honour and integrity and being humble, kind and generous with the benefit of not having to worry about being disparaged by others. Basically, living as best as one can without hurting or harming others, especially when they do not deserve it.

People will react commensurate to what they observe in others, how it makes them feel and inline with their own beliefs, code, concept of integrity, honour, concept of right and wrong or even their prejudice or lack of understanding. What's generally constant is that they will usually react in some way to bad behaviour and that often means they will talk and spread that perception. Reputation is often hard-won, but is easily lost, so it makes sense to work towards doing the right things so one's reputation has less chance of becoming tarnished by other people's perceptions.

I think this is a good lesson to remember in life but also when it comes to Hive where there are many who act poorly with the view to gain rewards for it.

These bad actors come along and plagiarise text or photos, spam post and self-vote, form circle-jerks, steal identities or simple post super-low quality and single-image content with the thought to gain a reward. Some get away with it for a time but someone is always watching they talk behind the scenes. Eventually the bad actor is addressed.

The funny thing is, their responses are often very predictable. They act surprised, try to defend themselves with poor excuses, become irate and abusive, rage-quit, then come back and get irate and abusive again and generally act like fucktards. It's a predictable cycle and that abusivness from the bad actor never seems to sway the other users' opinion of them, indeed, that behaviour simply reinforces the opinion formed in the first place.

Occasionally someone takes ownership though, seeks direction, takes advice and moves forward in better ways, but that's rare.

I believe it's important for a person to shape their own life in the way they wish to perceive it however I don't believe it can be done with impunity; we live in a community (the planet) and here on Hive also and bad behaviour will always have an effect on others, usually a negative effect. Again, referring back to how difficult it is to build a good relationship offline or here on Hive, and how easy it is to ruin it, I believe it's prudent to put some thought into how one is perceived, and act in a manner that presents oneself in the best possible way...because people will talk...and others will listen.


That's it for this week, a thousand year-old Viking quote about being a better person, acting in ways that cause people to speak well and positively of them rather than poorly.

Please feel free to disagree with my interpretation and add your own in the comments below.

Skol.

🔘 🔘 🔘


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Sort:  

This sums up most people that try to take advantage of others for their own gain

and generally act like fucktards

Well I've experienced it myself where I called out someone's bad behaviour in a work environment and exactly what you described took place - I was targeted because I was the one who had the balls to question someone in a higher level than myself. That boils down to integrity. They were lacking it and so were all the other people that were witness to what they were doing wrong and chose to be silent to simply avoid being targeted even though it was broadly discussed.

I don't like it when people would rather sponge off others because they are too lazy to actually work at something and put in the effort. So yes, it's true of Hive but it's true of the whole world. I tell you in University I came across so many who would shirk their responsibilities in team projects only to reap the benefits from the few who ended up doing the entire load. It's bullshit. I made that known. I got into shit the one day because I typed my "team" member's name so small on the project cover that the lecturer overlooked it entirely and the girl got a big fat zero. I'm evil, I know. But not without it being deserved.

There are entire cultures built on this bullshit and eventually they will all get their comeuppance through those that are sick and tired of it.

:)

I typed my "team" member's name so small on the project cover that the lecturer overlooked it entirely

Oh! I wish I had thought of that!!! You are so evil! I love it!

Thanks Denise, sometimes people just bring out the evil genius in me, it's their own fault.

😁

Totally. I decided I wasn't going to screw with you. Just saying. :)

Lol, no don't worry, you're safe, I like you and know you won't land on my shitlist 🌼

You are a little hellion. Who knew? ❤️

Ooh, that's the perfect word, I like it! Thanks Denise, I gotta admit that I am 😁

I can't disagree with anything you say, and neither do I want to. Good comment.

People love to exploit. Nobody knows me here anyway, they can't find me anyway. It doesn't matter what I share. I just take my money and move on. I doubt they even know what reputation is. But fortunately, as you mentioned, there is someone somewhere who is watching them and when the time comes, they will tell them the mistake, they will tell them to stop what they are doing. That's a very important thing because when people see something being abused and they see that it's not being punished, most of them will participate in the abuse. I've seen many times that you are one of the people who prevent that, so thank you for that.

Yes, I take it upon myself to try and rectify the behaviours of some trying to take advantage of others. I don't like people gaining for doing the wrong thing when there are so many here doing the right thing and not gaining any notice or rewards. I often get abused for it, downvoting bad actors, but I continue, as do others and I think it's the best way. Allowing it to go unchecked sends the wrong message.

Totally agreed, as I said if you let them do it and most of people try to do and farm hive.

Yep, I wish more jumped onto it though, as if the entire community did so there would far less cases. Just my opinion.

I think more people will get involved in the future. For now, let's keep as many scammers, farmer, and plagiarists away from Hive as we can.

Well said.

Well, and let's look at the real difference in behaviors today. People tend to be more polite and pleasant at the threat of a large Viking fist meeting their face than they are if their only risk is being called "offensive". Ah, if only some old ways could return!

Ah yes, the Vikings knew how to make a point, there is no doubt. The world is plagued by bad behaviour and by people who are too afraid to act against them. It's not a good thing.

Pass me my axe, shield and sword please.

Ha! Hear! Hear!

This made me laugh Kris. So dead on you are. Can't we bring back those days please? I have some people I would love to be able to publicly flog (or worse) because of their offensive behaviour!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

After reading the responses, I find that I cannot even remotely come close to some of these, but, I did enjoy them with my coffee.

I do so love the Viking, so much of it is relevant, still to this day. Thank you, Galen.

I love how people say it how it is, how they feel, on my posts, I really respect that people do so.

I do too. I wish my brain weren't on a leave of absence lately. But, I do enjoy the honesty. :)

Brains need a holiday too Swigles. Mine took a vacation about 27 years ago and...still hasn't returned. 😋

That will be scary. I will give that one a hard pass.

It sends me a postcard from time to time, the last from the Maldives, but generally it's absence leaves echoes of its former glory in my head.

I love it when you get all nostalgic. :)

Often it's easy to make a friend but definitely harder to keep them. Nice post.

Yep, I agree...and it's incredibly easy to tear down a reputation that has taken a long time to build.

Not wrong! Seems people are de- sensitived to what's happening around them too.

Thanks for this piece
I think when we start to develop this mindset of helping people regardless of their character and working on them the better for the world.

Everybody wants to be noticed, in that criticism has been the joy of the day.

I believe even constructive criticism but not to an extent of killing one ones reputation.

Helping people regardless of their character? That's not at all what I believe. If a person acts poorly they need to be punished, and I'm happy to hand down that punishment.

Man, I'm just stuck there. Remembering those awesome dialogues. Hail Vikings. Hail Ragnar.

Yep, they were more than the brutal Raiders history used to portray them as.