Hope for a Better Future

in Self Improvement2 years ago

It has been a while, but here we are again - the children's hospital. The fever has persisted and there is some pain in a shoulder, which could indicate inflammation. Smallsteps is generally pretty resilient to these kinds of pains, but she is complaining a lot more than with normal illness, so we have to check it out to make sure.

Obviously, this isn't ideal for anyone and throws the entire week into further disarray.

IMG_20220928_172738.jpg

Better safe, than sorry though. Since we have the possibility for healthcare, we should use it. When I was a young kid, the only time I was at a hospital was when I required stitches. And this parental aversion to hospitals is part of the reason my own illness went undiagnosed for 9 months, pushing it from severe to chronic - something manageable to something very hard to control. It has affected me for almost 30 years now.

sliding doors.

It is impossible to predict what life would have been like having had lived in the body of a healthy person, but I assume that on any ways, things would be for the better, even though there are positives to facing health challenges too. One thing I am pretty certain of however, that career-wise, I would be better off, which would probably have translated into a better financial position.

health is wealth

Obviously, this is not how people usually frame this statement, but health is wealth because it expands opportunity to earn in so many ways. Whether it is simply taking less sick days, or the opportunity lost by taking too many. It also determines the potential to travel and which kinds of jobs are available. The pool of job opportunity for a healthy person is far larger than for an unhealthy person, but often it takes being unhealthy to realize how lucky the healthy have it.

This is the "don't know what you've got til it's gone" effect, as loss is a good motivator for reflection. Once gone, some things are unrecoverable and potential unattainable. But one aspect of this becomes that loss of future potential is always present also, but it isn't necessarily quantifiable or even noticed, because we never knew we had the chance to begin with. This might mean we aren't emotionally affected by the loss, but we are still impacted by the loss of it.

I have often tried imagining what it might be like to have lived to the hypothetical of full potential, but it is unimaginable. There are so many interdependencies involved that move one part, and everything else changes, possibly quit drastically.

Life is far simpler not thinking of these things.

Life is easy. Just live, and what will be, will be. Accept it as it comes, strive for nothing and be happy with whatever outcomes arrive, no matter how painful or joyous. The trick is, to not care about anything at all.

does that sound humane?

Or is on the extreme end of the psychopathy spectrum?

Hard to say.

I am relatively stoic in much of my thinking and behavior, but I am a long way away from total disconnection from all care. Also, closer than most.

What would a family be, without care?

I don't plan on testing the behaviors necessary to find out - but I might run some mental simulations at some point to see if I can get close and justify a position for it.

With a sick child though, it is hard to imagine a world in which I don't care about her or the outcomes of her health. I have imagines the worst case scenarios of many things surrounding this to prepare, especially when she was young, but the imagination can never fully reflect reality, it is always just a limited depiction, like a cartoon character can be recognizable as a person, but the reality of a person is far more complex and takes into consideration many more variable that affect it.

I hope my daughter will be back to healthy soon, because as a parent, I am looking to maximize her pool of potential, so that she can have more options to explore and hopefully, find the parts of experience she loves - and do more of it.

Right now, it is just sitting and waiting for tests and results, and doing what we can to make her feel as if the future is going to be better than the present.

There's always hope.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

This is written on a phone, so might have a few more typos than normal.

Sort:  

I hope you and smnallsteps get good news and that it will be something easy to solve for her.

Health can lead to wealth, there is no doubt in my mind about that at all. A healthy person has many more job opportunities than a person who is not so healthy. Prior to my getting real sick, I looked at my job as something if needed I could walk away from, because there was always a need for people to do manual labor. While I was healthy that was a choice I could have, when my health started to fail, that pretty much went out the door. I could no longer afford to lose my job, and go dig ditches or any other manual labor.

I was fortunate in that I was able to keep my job until retirement, even with my illness, it was a struggle, but all those saved up sick days helped a lot.

I hope you and smallsteps get good news and that it will be something easy to solve for her.

Unfortunately not yet. Is staying in hospital likely the next few days.

While I was healthy that was a choice I could have, when my health started to fail, that pretty much went out the door. I could no longer afford to lose my job, and go dig ditches or any other manual labor.

This is the problem - at some point, flipping burgers is impossible. And, that is generally when even that kind of money matters.

Gads, I feel for smallsteps. I hate it when I have to stay in the hospital even if it is just an overnight "we need to watch you", type stay.

O my, I was just reading your previous article about not getting your bonuses due to Smallsteps being unwell and was not expecting it to get worse. Seems like work would be the last thing on your mind now....

Having a little girl myself, I totally feel for you and understand what you are going through. No parent wants to see their child in any sort of discomfort.

All the best and remember to look out for the rest of the family as well as yourself.

Work is definitely last on mind, but there is also only so much I can do in other areas, so I will do what I can with work and stuff - keep my mind on tasks until I can do something more practical to help.

Health is the big wealth, but we understand that when lost it. I hope she has not an inflammatory disease and will get well soon.

I hope she has not an inflammatory disease and will get well soon.

More tests tomorrow - she will be in hospital for a few days at least, by the looks.

health is wealth because it expands opportunity to earn in so many ways.

Health is wealth which we don't really need to argue about because a healthy body is determined to achieve a desire goal when strong and hearty.

Wealth isn't health, but it does help with all the things that can help improve health.

Nothing more worrying than a sick child. I hope she's ok. I am always surprised about strong they are for the size of them.

Cheers. Will know in a few days - was in emergency tonight and she will likely be in hospital for the next three or four.

Get well guys!

Cheers - hopefully it doesn't take too long.

Get well and speedy recovery.

Cheers :)

Sir @tarazkp do not lose faith and hope, this test will strengthen you as parents, even if it hurts in the soul, this waiting to know how is the girl's health. All will be well.

Let me tell you and I know from my life experience, a grateful heart is a magnet for miracles, the miracle of life and health.

The joy of life is the greatest treasure, it is enough to be grateful for the life we have been given and make it the best it can be.

May all be well in your family, strength and faith.

Let's see how magnetic my heart is then :)

The magnetic one is made by the love of her loving father and mother who with their faith and hope, courage attracts life, health and well-being for the child.... This is called family, united in Love, and in this way it will never be defeated.
Let go and trust.

Everything will be fine, science and spirituality always in communion, sir @tarazkp

greetings @tarazkp _
No doubt that going through medical care in many cases is very rewarding, however in life the first thing is to be thankful for one more day of life and if you have to go through these hard times I'm sure you will have the strength and determination to overcome them.
life is only one and in spite of the bad moments you have to enjoy it.
I wish you the best and that you get through this very soon.

hard times define us - the saving grace is that we all die one way or another and don't have to live through it all

Get well soon!❤️

hope the tests are ok and she gets well soon and it's hard for kids if they are sick it effects their mood and body

All of my best wishes to smallsteps I hope she is well

Sending our love and prayers from half a world away.

untitled.gif

Annabelle

This comment probably came a bit late, but hope everything is alright by now! :)