Finding The Truth In Founders' Insights

Finding Growth From The Founders.jpg

What's With Your Posts?

I started a new job a little less than two weeks ago. I believe my readers noticed when I wasn't able to produce my regular, jam-packed posts for their reading and curating pleasure. It's not entirely a problem, yet even for me, this level of content creation does not satisfy.

I forecasted for this week:

  • novel writing and research
  • book collection updates
  • updates on my personal projects like Dunbar's number or personal health progress

So far, I've only managed to discuss my music taste via the concert I attended on Tuesday and the film I watched, inspired by some knowledge I picked up during my first week of job training.

Given that I am not as productive with my personal endeavors given my new position, today I have some intelligence that could help me straighten up. Hospitality experience might be a hidden power that I wasn't aware of. In addition, I found a guide from a founder with tips on optimizing my time.


I need to clean up my act, again..jpg

What Did I Find?

One author and founder wrote an excellent hook to his article on Inc: Jeff Bezos was once a McDonald's cook. When I was 16 years old, I signed up to the fast dining restaurant chain, ShakeShack for my first job. Tommy Mello writes that hospitality gives people an edge because the perspective the work offers.

His points are as follows:

  1. He learned the importance of customer service.
  2. Tommy also learned the importance of a winning attitude.
  3. Tommy also appreciated the importance of starting your day strong.

To avoid rewriting his article, I respond with personal thoughts.

Fans of your work make the strongest advocates. Thus, a focus on experiences for your viewers, readers, or eaters leaves a real impact. The new model I hope to introduce for my platform on HIVE, 1000 True Fans , feels like the best direction for my platform to follow, especially given so many independent journalism platforms facing layoffs and suspensions of service.

The winning attitude sets people apart. You would not believe the power of an affirmation when under pressure. While some may not agree, I saw it firsthand in many places. Gamers, from their late teens to graying parents, all feel the pressure when the payload is near the last point or the overtime clock is about to run out. The difference in my eyes, more times than people want to realize, lies in the clarity in communication and emotion.

Think of a champion in something you care about. Anyone will do. Jack Herer and Tucker Carlson- it doesn't matter. It involves the mindset, emotional well-being. 'No one's going anywhere on your bad attitude, man', I put it to folks bluntly in team voice channels of games. No one said you have to grin and bear it, but if you're going to complain, get creative.

To combat a popular adage, I bring up this saying. "It's not about how you start, it's how you finish." Now, it may hold its own merit, but our language here slightly misleads. A good start does predispose one to success. Think about impressions, for example. Maybe America rom-coms created a false narrative, where an obnoxious oaf of a man could land the lady of his dreams after a moment of clarity, but we live in the real world, not a movie set. Chances are much higher starting off on the right foot makes for an afternoon walk in the park.

All that in mind, let's look at some tips from another founder about how to make those many first, last and in-between moments count.

Add a heading.jpg

But What's The Use?

Now, you might not like lists because they're impersonal and tired, but at some points, they share brief information both clearly and concisely. Let's hope you feel that way now.

I had some items from the text that I do more often than not. For example, I believe in planning the week on Sunday. If you're like 70% of working adults, according to a study by the APA, and stressed throughout the work day, maybe planning in advance could help.

In any event, a focus on the following three tactics may improve your productivity, or at least reduce work-related stress:

  1. Strategic Calendar Planning
  2. Know Your Numbers
  3. Review and Refine
  4. Keep Sight of the Big Picture

What does knowing your numbers look like? Well, for starters, how long does your process take? If I take 8 hours to write a blog post from start to finish thanks to friends, my girl, stopping for breaks, how do the different tasks like pure writing break down? Calendar planning could involve color coordination of your different activities on an interface of choice. It also involves focus, a special focus called your "zone of genius" (up to three key responsibilities only you can accomplish).

To keep sight of the big picture, take a look at your personal goals. Whether that involves family, home, finance, learning, or hobbies, depends on the individual. It might also be beneficial to look at bottlenecks in your process and strategize time for them, based in what you record- real data.

For me, inspiration comes from many places. Taking these articles and mining them for useful info to my life might be the only way I stay ahead. And that's exactly what I want- to stay ahead- especially given this chance to change my life. Transformation won't be some magical spell that's cast. Transformation is the blade of grass pushing out of the soil, unfurling and unfolding upward, reaching for the sun, one day at a time.

Sort:  

😂 just the image of bezos on fries.. it's too good.

Right? Mark Cuban said he got lucky, Jeff Bezos started out at McDonald’s… Is the universe trying to tell me I could become a billionaire?! 🫨

💪😎 u got this!

As humans, we must always be concerned about productivity as that helps to shape our life

It’s true, but I would say concern is a strong word. I think if we consider it often enough, it should become like second nature. After all, the opposite side of this equation is: wasting time and effort. Personally, I don’t have so many resources that I can afford waste! It’s unreasonable to expect that we can improve every thing, fair. Yet, it’s the goal to improve bigger items, so that we might focus on what’s really important.

Strategic Calendar Planning
Know Your Numbers
Review and Refine
Keep Sight of the Big Picture

These are the four that I will really need to take careful look into

Too true. Do we remember that each step we take makes up our journey? A shortcut today could lead to a setback tomorrow…