Nurturing my HIVE: Finding 1,000 True Fans

in LeoFinance4 months ago

1000 true fans.jpg

Thrive on Hive: Tally 1000

Key Points: The focus of this blog shifted from a small part-time endeavor to earn extra money for food. When I came across this information, my perspective shifted. In fact, I found that I misunderstood the hidden power I have here. So let's look at my problems.

The Problem


This idea of "the long tail" focuses on the fact that aside from critical mass, a guy like me just won't make the big time. "Fenty Fentasia" can top charts cuz she's a superstar. It also benefits consumers and major aggregators like Amazon and Netflix. They just pump stuff out by the boatload and for numbers I can't match.

The problem is, in a world like that, I cannot compete. Determination be damned, it poses challenges for individual creators due to increased competition and downward price pressure. A 4x6" frame from Target is $4. Even printing my photos out to fit it comes out to $12 to $20. To make a sale, on a print I can't breakeven when department stores are just a step ahead.

I hadn't considered how effectively my platforms could output physical and digital goods, given the right framework.

In short, the challenges for creators involve some hurdles that have solutions. The long tail doesn't significantly boost sales for creators but adds competitive pressures. Without becoming something like a Wal-Mart for mediocre wares, creators find it hard to escape minimal sales. I sold one collection out but couldn't I do more? I'm writing a book. I could release prints more regularly, via NFT's first.

But who wants this stuff from me?

If you added one new true fan per day, it’d only take a few years to gain a thousand..png

This'll be my seventh year on HIVE!

The Solution


I was told, my endeavors might benefit from the support of 1,000 true fans. That's the solution. A creator needs just 1,000 True Fans to make a living. I'm convinced that they are here. I'm convinced it's you. Essentially, True Fans are devoted followers who buy everything the creator produces and provide direct support.

My little caveat involves the fact that an upvote, a follow, a reblog and most of all, a delegation from followers like you on HIVE could help me accomplish a slew of endeavors, much how the Decentralized Hive Fund (DHF) supports protocol-wide proposals.

For example, your support could help me:

  • publish my pulp fiction drama novel
  • print a coffee-table photobook
  • release a limited run of graphic tees
  • serialize a cultural fanzine

How could I, you ask, help you do all that? The idea behind true fans is decentralized patronage. True Fans spend significantly on the creator, attend events, buy merchandise, and eagerly await new releases. You anticipate my latest blog posts, look forward to my replies to your comments, and appreciate my visits to your posts.

The real magic comes from another step altogether. You'd be right to think, Kyle, we already do that for you. Sadly, not everyone shows the same love.


1.png

In my case, I wouldn't mind 100 HIVE instead.

2.png

For this reason, a delegation's best. You could always retain your value if you no longer wish to support me.


So, the goal is to convert Lesser Fans into True Fans.

Opponents have said: "Kyle, you can't make a living off of HIVE." @kryptik, you may have a point. I can't exactly get healthcare, vision and dental writing blog posts.

But then again, I don't have to spend a ton filling landfills either.

Assume each of you, a True Fan, spends $100 annually. Better yet, you delegate 100 HIVE. 1,000 True Fans could generate the amount of 100,000 HIVE, making a way for all that above and a living for the creator.

The question goes, do you all trust me, as a 6-year member of this community to actually accomplish those things and not run some illicit scheme instead? Ha, I don't have to answer it. I just write and take pictures. The mental heavy lifting is yours, dear reader.

I want to maintain though, that through this platform, I have a direct connection to you all. The article stresses that maintaining direct contact is crucial. Technologies like blogs, social media, and online platforms facilitate that, and what's more, with some help I could even overcommunicate. For example, my website's down for lack of the 60 bones just to maintain the domain. With HIVE super fans, I could hire a website developer for a quote or brainstorm session instead.

Think about it. If delegations allow me the value, I could set up shops for prints, T-shirts, and more. Small-scale manufacturing and digital platforms enable the good stuff: cost-effective creation, distribution, and duplication. Better yet, the proceeds from sales of an NFT might go towards printing those images onto clothing for the holders to claim.

In the end, the need for millions of fans to justify new work is eliminated, making 1,000 True Fans a feasible goal for me, and most here, on HIVE.

If you added one new true fan per day, it’d only take a few years to gain a thousand. (1).png

The Catch

This model is primarily for solo artists. Group dynamics might require more fans but it follows a linear growth. So your team grows by 50%, just increase the number of fans by the same amount.

I'm particularly interested in this model, because I want your support to be hands off. I don't need to make you complete Google surveys or write comments on every post.

Besides, not every artist may be inclined to nurture fans directly, requiring mediators. I'm crazy, so I do derive fulfillment from composing long written works for readers to read and respond.

I believe in crypto as the platform for only one reason. Direct fan support is preferable for economic viability. I just don't believe in the performance of raising an unowned audience on a platform like Instagram, to then market a line of shirts with photography on them. What happens when I get banned for a post? Where do I share the inspiration and motivation for my design?

I'm willing to admit, there might not be 1,000 of you lined up to read my stuff. Yet. Still, I'm happy to see support from a few familiar faces. Please forgive the inclination to tag you all.

@nickydee @rubencress @aloysiusmbaba @nonameslefttouse @tarazkp @acidyo @anmitsu @pxlmitsu @elliotjgardner @captainquack22 @cornerstone @soma90 @bluefinstudios @derangedvisions @chinito @canna-curate @precab @rafzat and last, but certainly not least @dhimmel my biggest super fan to date, thank you for believing in me & this model.

That's about 20 people. But tell me, did I miss you? Let me know in the comments below.


Are you a fan.jpg

If you only took one thing away after this read, consider this: the True Fan model enables micro-patronage, leveraging digital technology for diverse support structures.

People have successfully leveraged a system like this. Examples include Lawrence Watt-Evans, who used True Fans for chapter-wise financing, and Jill Sobule, who financed her album through fan contributions.

For a couple of HIVE a day, you too, could support an underfinanced creative's underdeveloped ambitions.

The Takeaways


If you wanted more practical takeaways, I've got those too:

  • Focus on True Fans: Nurture a dedicated fan base willing to provide direct support.
  • Utilize Technology: Leverage digital platforms and tools for direct engagement and cost-effective creation.
  • Diversify Support Models: Explore micro-patronage, pre-financing, and other innovative ways fans can contribute.
  • Strive for a Middle Ground: Aim for a sustainable living between obscurity and blockbuster success by cultivating a manageable number of True Fans.

Enjoy What I Do? Support My Work

by leaving a comment, an upvote or even a delegation. Delegators are eligible to receive post rewards as beneficiaries, too!

Sort:  

Hello you :)

OMGods numbers bore the hell outta me and my eyes blurred in the beginning! I did start up the laptop to read some of the essay linked. Couldn't read it on the phone.

This is an interesting concept you've come up with, however. This kids's smart!

Totally agree. Patronage has always fed artists. And it seems not much has changed in 2024.

I've been busy setting up a Patreon page for years, actually! :D I was about to move my book ofter there and do gated content actually. The only thing that's put me off is freedom. I can't bear the idea of answering to anybody. Even having to produce content for subscribers at this point :|

Perhaps when I have more content and ready, thus, less pressure.

This idea of delegating 100 HIVE. From 1000 fans. Is quite brilliant! @b0s - you're a numbers guy. What thoughts?

Hehe, thanks for the tag 🤗. I think it's a very brilliant idea, though the 1k true fans will want something in return.

!pimp

Hmmmm... with most human nature being as it is... I think you're right! :D

Thanks for your thoughts.

@thatkidsblack - you're gonna have to incentivise the patrons, somehow. B0s is pretty into finance and I'd listen to his thoughts

Appreciate you both! If you don’t mind another question: What would incentivize you? I’m fishing for ideas now… 🤔

Passive income motivates just about everybody, I reckon.

As for the rest:

I guess researching what too creators earn on platforms like Patreon might provide more information.

They give subscribers different packages etc with stuff other followers don't get.


You must be killin' it out here!
@b0s just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @nickydee.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

hmmm, didnt have 100 Hive to delegate, but I did Delegate 101 HP!
Every bit helps!
Every bit is progress!

Thank you for your support. If you don’t mind the pings, I’ll keep you in the loop on the work I complete. So far, I’ve started outlining the novel’s characters, but haven’t settled on one. Look forward to the occasional post rewards- I think I’ll just give ‘em out to my delegators til I reach a certain number.

Do me a favor, take any of the rewards you think about sending MY way, and pour it back into your own work! I am all set. OR, delegate some out to a bigger content creator and earn on THEIR posts, too!

Ah, since you put it that way, how can I say no? Still, I want some way to reward people who've done my the kindness of offering their support, so I hope you got room for a coffee table photobook or novel! Maybe you're more of a framed wall art person?

Hey @thatkidsblack, if you want your content to earn $leo tokens publish them from InLeo!

Publishing from InLeo also makes you eligible for Ad Revenue and Evergreen rewards after the 7 day payout window on Hive, give it a try!

Right now there is a challenge where you can win an InLeo Premium membership for a month!

All you have to do is make long form post using InLeo before January 31st.

Thanks for creating content on the LeoFinance community!

I’ll take a look then. Thanks for the info!

Hopefully you take the shot, it's the same process as posting from any other frontend but you get a little bit more benefits from using InLeo!

Hmm
Having true fans who enjoy what you write and can’t go a day without reading your articles will be lovely
I hope you find those 1000 fans

Thank you! Although I wouldn’t be honest if I didn’t say this. I think you’re one of my fans! How could I convince you to delegate to me?

I can always delegate to you but my HP is currently low and that’s why you hardly see me delegate to another account
With time, I’d behind to delegate more and I’d delegate to you too

Thanks friend for the mention and the recognition, they mean a lot. Of course i would say you are doing a good job on the platform with your posts and I wish you good luck on finding those 1000 true fans. Have a nice weekend.

Thank you sir. You know, maybe I assume too much, but I think you’re one of those fans, even if you’re not delegating to me. I will say, that’s not the only thing; your comments and votes keep me going too. So thank you again.

Your idea of a thousand true fans makes total sense and is quite beneficial, though I must add that in order to gain a lot of true fans one has to make them feel like they're getting their value for their support. Whether it be entertainment, knowledge, money back, and so on. That's the only thing I believe can help one garner and keep true fans, or else they'll eventually leave if they don't get value back.

Well that's my only point on this, have a great day 😁.

!PIZZA

Thank you for your point! I’m sorry, but I might have to rope you in again. What would you like as value in return for supporting me, hypothetically? Mind you, your comments and votes are already welcome patronage. Just asking as a thought experiment.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @thatkidsblack

Well I strongly think it is high time I begin to find ways I will also start adding my true fan gradually

Well, your consistent replies should at least catch some eyes. I’m a fan!