A word on kindness while enjoying different seasons

A couple of days ago my parents sent me a few pictures of their winter wonderland. It really looks like an ideal place to be at the moment. Peaceful, safe and relaxing. I miss having a white Christmas. Even though I don't like winters, there is just something about snow. It is so beautiful to see and makes everything look so perfect. I found a saying about snow that says "Kindness is like snow — it beautifies everything it covers".
I couldn't agree more. I mean look at this ideal place!

received_1301601760278587.jpeg

received_326512082530045.jpeg

That saying got me thinking I should write some things about kindness.
A week ago I had a very unpleasant experience when I was yelled at when I asked about my pay (didn't get paid at the new workplace for over three weeks and I just wanted an answer and solution). The lady was giving me excuses for over a week and very quickly got snappy when I asked what's going on. Soon after that, she started literally yelling, cursing and telling me off.
As that happened, I simply froze. I was completely shocked and I didn't know what just happened, how to react and what to even say. I have never in my life been spoken to in such a nasty way and it had a really big effect on me. After a week I'm still trying to fix my mental state.
So I simply left and decided I don't deserve to be treated that way. No one does!

I am a volunteer in a peer support group, where I help people, who are struggling with mental health. Normally, they struggle with anxieties, depression, low self-esteem, lack of self-love.. Many had some sort of trauma (childhood traumas, abuse, neglect ), poverty, homelessness, unemployment, social isolation, experiencing discrimination or bullying, addictions,...
There are so many reasons why people need to work so much harder to find their place in life, happiness, joy, self-love, feeling worthy,.. For some people it may be hard to understand that but it is more common than we think. Especially because people hide these things and bury them deep inside.
One of the ladies from the group, that managed to improve her state of being massively in a little over 6 months since starting with the meetings, had just one bad experience in her every day life (similar experience to mine), threw her right back to the state of feeling like she means nothing. It took her weeks to recover and she is still feeling the effect.

For me nature is the best medicine and while my parents are enjoying their winter fairy-tale, we in the aussie land, just started experiencing the joys of summer. Yesterday was the perfect day for the beach, it was hot, sunny with some clouds and peaceful (as in non windy which is rare over here in South Australia). So I spent the whole day on the beach, swimming, tanning, reading my self-development book (Becoming supernatural by Dr.Joe Dispenza) and having a laugh with my friend Helen. And yes, eating chocolates, which she brought me for my birthday which was a few days ago (thanks for your kindness Helen :D).

20211130_133528.jpg

I knew the sunset would be gorgeous, because of all the clouds. And I was right! It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I've seen in a while and it made me appreciate nature even more.

20211130_232528.jpg

20211130_200901.jpg

20211130_232443.jpg

20211130_232548.jpg

Remember, you never know what someone is going through, so always be kind. I wish people realised the effect they can have on other people. If someone treats you unfairly, the worst thing you can do, is drop down to their level. Instead, walk away and continue being a kind person and do something nice for a stranger. It will make you feel a lot better, than arguing with those who don't know any better. Treat others the way you would like to be treated and good things will keep coming to you naturally.

From the other side of the world, my parent's cuties Ying and Yang, are sending their love.

received_1388796141496068.jpeg

Lots of love, nawww :D :D

20211201_201903.jpg

Thanks for watching, see you next time hive tribe!

Kat

Sort:  

First a heart shaped reef, and now a heart shaped spot on a kitten. It seems there's a lot of love in your life, and that's a wonderful thing.

It is disconcerting to be yelled at. That's why yellers do it. When it's an employer doing it, I, like you, seek other employment without delay. I can go work for people that like me. I don't need to take abuse.

I get to help people in my work, which is why I do it. Seems you do also. It's so fulfilling to provide something folks need, and that beneficially impacts them for decades, or longer, betimes. It's what I want to be left of me, when I'm gone.

From your description of your work, you will leave many fond memories of you in your wake.

Thanks!

Such a lovely comment, thank you for that and your kind words.
Yes, I have lots of love to give and love to give it, without expecting it in return. It's what humans need most.
I'm glad you are also a person that stands up for themselves and not take abuse. I wish everyone had that power to be able to do that, but sometimes their confidence is so destroyed from the past, they aren't able to.
It is really great to read you also help people at your work, it is the most important thing each of us should be doing to create a better world. Especially now with all the crap happening (I see from your posts we are on the same level). Even small acts of kindness can make such a big difference.

Thank you for doing just that! I'm sure people around you appreciate it :)

This really looks like a peacefull place!
that really doesn't sound like a great experience, especially because you have a right to be paid... not to mention, no one should be treated like that. I think it's a good way to write about it, it gives a clearer head from time to time. I try to keep people who treat other people like that out of my life as much as possible, but unfortunately that doesn't always work. I think everyone has had such an experience in his life, some more, some less. some don't think about it the next day, others still for years (unfortunately I belong to this kind, but that just shows that you are sensitive and that is nothing bad in itself;). i hope you were able to recover well on your beach day with your friend. Great that you have converted the experience what is very negative in something positive, this post:) I wish you another beautiful day!

I used to let people even treat me that way and just stayed either at a workplace or friendship. As I got older and started doing my self-development and self-discovery, I became really good with not putting up with it anymore, not for long anyway. I definitely don't allow bullying, screaming and yelling near me, I want to be in a peaceful environment. So in this case, walking out was my only option, especially as I didn't do anything wrong, just wanted to get paid which is rightfully mine. I kinda feel bad for the lady, she seems to have some inner demons to deal with, which is what made her the way she is. But that's on her to fix it, bullying, putting others down wont get her far.
Yes, I have the overthinking brain too, it's such a curse, wish I could just forget about it the next day but oh well, I've learned to accept myself the way I am. Yes, recovering well, this week is full of sunshine over here and warm sunny days finally arrived so am spending lots of time in nature .
Thanks for the great comment, love your view on the topic! Have a great day! Peace and love x :):)

Amazing post my friend ☺🤗

Thank you my friend :)

I adore the snow. I live in Arizona, it is always hot here. Right now in December we are still having 80 degree (26 C) days. I am looking forward to visiting my family in Oregon for Christmas and hoping it will snow lots. I really like that quote about snow and kindness. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences.